We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money. Excellent breakfast”
Review of Barcelo San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo San Jose
Ranked #13 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great value for the money. Excellent breakfast”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The have a parking lot on their property, which is a plus when you have some valuables in the car. The rooms are clean and the water pressure in the shower is amazing. They provide you with all the toiletries you might need even a shower cap, sponge, tooth brush, toothpaste and a comb! The breakfast has the widest selection of any hotel I've been to. They had a cook preparing your eggs in front of you and there were many toppings to choose from. There was a selection of quadrilles, hash browns, cheeses, deli meats, cold and hot cereals, yogurts, fruits, juices, etc. Very nice place to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAHE4EK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Receive greetings from Barceló San José Palacio and the guest service department. We do appreciate that you spend your days in Costa Rica in our hotel. We were very proud to be your host and thank you so much for let us your comment.

It’s amazing for us that you enjoyed our rooms and food services, like the free shuttle service and internet. The complete satisfaction of our guests is our primary goal here at the hotel.

We hope see you soon, and be your host again. If you will visit Costa Rica, and prefer get the best moments, San Jose Palacio is the right place.


Best regards,
Adriana Duran
Guests Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    474
    239
    73
    67
See reviews for
202
408
101
312
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The rooms are really nice and the buffet restaurant is adequate with reasonable attentive staff. The grounds, garden and pool are beautiful, and the service at the poolside grill is excellent. Check-in is a nightmare for a tour group. For that reason, we'd recommend that tour groups find a more accommodating hotel. With a bus load of 45 people, you still had to fill out a hotel card. There were only two clerks on duty and they were not efficient. For those who wanted to run a bar tab, the credit card procedure was painfully slow, and, they did not have a separate line for those folks, so it held up every one else. Terrible service!!! Not all of the restaurant wait staff spoke or understood English -- inexcusable since most of the tourism is American. The location is surrounded by highways so there is no shopping you can walk to. The gift shop is very limited.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arkansastraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest:

Has been a great experience for us get your comments. The most important benefit of your suggestion makes necessary actions in order to improve all of our services.

Please accept our most sincere apologize from all our staff, we take clients seriously and your comments. Every recommendation that you gave us makes bigger our desire to grow. We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future to improve the stay.

Thank you again, we are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.


Best regards,
Adriana Duran
Guests Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Lovely hotel. Reminds me of times past when places were elegant. Food was good. People were pleasant. Great views and a beautiful garden. Would stay again. Do not leave key card in holder in room the staff will come inside your room and remove it.

Room Tip: All rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deenapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guest,

The staff at the Barceló San José Palacio appreciates all of your fine comments about your stay at our hotel. All of our team members work very hard to make our guests feel like home.

We also remove the key card to help the environment because we are part of an awareness program to help with the recovery of natural resources.

Thank you again to let your comment in our tripAdvisor´s web page. We hope to serve you again in the near future and hope your stay will be better each time.


Best regards,
Adriana Duran
Guests Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Having just returned from a business trip in San Jose and a 4 day stay at this hotel, I would not hesitate to stay there again. I had an issue with my safe and i reported the problem to Adriana Lazo at the front desk and it was resolved immediately. She was the go to person if you had a problem. Very friendly and helpful. If you needed help with directions, a taxi or your luggage you could depend on Pablo. Both of these people work the day shift. The room was clean and everything worked to my satisfaction. I enjoyed the pool, the bar and its weekend entertainment. The hotel casino brought me some luck too. Every morning breakfast buffet was provided.
I'm a travel agent consultant and at $80 a night at low season, this was a very good deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MooreTravel4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest:

The Hotel Barceló San José Palacio would like to thank you for your visit. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We feel very pleased that the hotel and services were to your liking, we are so lucky to exceed your expectations. Please come back because we would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest.

We are looking forward to your next visit to provide you an amazing experience like just Barcelo knows.


Best regards,
Adriana Duran
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Having just returned from a stay in CR and stayed at this hotel due to business reasons- rooms were nice enough- not elaborate but clean- and everything worked properly ( A/C- TV- Shower )- the grounds are nice and the pool area is also nice- spent time in the bar- it is fine and had some very good entertainment- although I think it did have some " shady activity " small slot style casino- food in restaurant- another story- YUK! Buffett- just stick to fruit and eggs - the pasta bar not so good- food in the bar - another menu and a little better- The front desk staff are extremely helpful and will help you in any way possible and I thank them for that! Most of the staff also very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the street side- lots of traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaynenunnery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest:

The Hotel Barceló San José Palacio would like to thank you for your visit. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We feel very pleased that our accommodations and services were to your liking, as complete satisfaction of our guests is our primary goal here at the hotel. We are sorry that you didn’t enjoy our food service at all; we already talk with the kitchen managers to improve some of ours menus.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.


Best regards,
Adriana Duran
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, West Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed on the Club Level in a suite 2 nights. Food and room service was good. Service was very good and the hotel was nice and clean. Great beds. Nice garden and pool. Very pleased with the Barcelo chain and have stayed with them in Guatemala City. Airport shuttles on the hour and a short commute to airport. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauleywog113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guest:

On behalf of the Hotel Barceló San José Palacio we are pleased to hear that your stay with us was gratifying. We put our best effort on this daily because our guests are our priority.

We thank you for your comments and thank you for choosing Barceló San José Palacio. We hope that you continue to use our Hotel for your lodging needs in the near future. We look forward to serving you again in your next trip.


Best regards,
Adriana Duran
Guest service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
154 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed for a week. The internet connection was spotty. Sometimes it worked great but most of the time it was very slow or sporadic. Had to logoff computer to log phone on. Couldn't use internet connection on phone and computer at the same time. Rooms were average. Breakfast had a lot of selections but was average quality. The restaurants in the hotel were very expensive. Complimentary airport shuttle was nice. Need a taxi to go anywhere which is at least $10 each way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Brian

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Barceló San José hotel for your holidays in Costa Rica, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience among us.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
0.5 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Jose

Property: Barcelo San Jose
Address: Residencial El Robledal | La Uruca, San Jose 458-1150, Costa Rica (Formerly Barcelo San Jose Palacio)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#16 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Barcelo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Barcelo San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel San Jose
San Jose Barcelo
Barcelo Palacio Hotel Costa Rica
Barcelo San Jose Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing