We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelo San Jose
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Autentico Hotel(San Jose)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,648)
Filter reviews
1,648 results
Traveler rating
587
585
306
87
83
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
587
585
306
87
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaravan tourjapanese restaurantcosta ricaroom servicetennis courtspool areabreakfast buffettour desktour groupfree airport shuttlevery nice hotelnice poolclose to the airportpura vidapollopalaciohammocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
634 - 639 of 1,648 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Having just returned from a business trip in San Jose and a 4 day stay at this hotel, I would not hesitate to stay there again. I had an issue with my safe and i reported the problem to Adriana Lazo at the front desk and it was resolved immediately. She was the go to person if you had a problem. Very friendly and helpful. If you needed help with directions, a taxi or your luggage you could depend on Pablo. Both of these people work the day shift. The room was clean and everything worked to my satisfaction. I enjoyed the pool, the bar and its weekend entertainment. The hotel casino brought me some luck too. Every morning breakfast buffet was provided.
I'm a travel agent consultant and at $80 a night at low season, this was a very good deal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MooreTravel4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest:

The Hotel Barceló San José Palacio would like to thank you for your visit. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We feel very pleased that the hotel and services were to your liking, we are so lucky to exceed your expectations. Please come back because we would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest.

We are looking forward to your next visit to provide you an amazing experience like just Barcelo knows.


Best regards,
Adriana Duran
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Having just returned from a stay in CR and stayed at this hotel due to business reasons- rooms were nice enough- not elaborate but clean- and everything worked properly ( A/C- TV- Shower )- the grounds are nice and the pool area is also nice- spent time in the bar- it is fine and had some very good entertainment- although I think it did have some " shady activity " small slot style casino- food in restaurant- another story- YUK! Buffett- just stick to fruit and eggs - the pasta bar not so good- food in the bar - another menu and a little better- The front desk staff are extremely helpful and will help you in any way possible and I thank them for that! Most of the staff also very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the street side- lots of traffic noise
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shaynenunnery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest:

The Hotel Barceló San José Palacio would like to thank you for your visit. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We feel very pleased that our accommodations and services were to your liking, as complete satisfaction of our guests is our primary goal here at the hotel. We are sorry that you didn’t enjoy our food service at all; we already talk with the kitchen managers to improve some of ours menus.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.


Best regards,
Adriana Duran
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed on the Club Level in a suite 2 nights. Food and room service was good. Service was very good and the hotel was nice and clean. Great beds. Nice garden and pool. Very pleased with the Barcelo chain and have stayed with them in Guatemala City. Airport shuttles on the hour and a short commute to airport. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pauleywog113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear guest:

On behalf of the Hotel Barceló San José Palacio we are pleased to hear that your stay with us was gratifying. We put our best effort on this daily because our guests are our priority.

We thank you for your comments and thank you for choosing Barceló San José Palacio. We hope that you continue to use our Hotel for your lodging needs in the near future. We look forward to serving you again in your next trip.


Best regards,
Adriana Duran
Guest service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed for a week. The internet connection was spotty. Sometimes it worked great but most of the time it was very slow or sporadic. Had to logoff computer to log phone on. Couldn't use internet connection on phone and computer at the same time. Rooms were average. Breakfast had a lot of selections but was average quality. The restaurants in the hotel were very expensive. Complimentary airport shuttle was nice. Need a taxi to go anywhere which is at least $10 each way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2017

Dear Mr. Brian

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Barceló San José hotel for your holidays in Costa Rica, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience among us.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Breakfast buffet at Ánfora Restaurant was excellent!
Hotel staff was corteous and friendly.
Food prices are very good. I really appreciated the daily free bottle of water in the room.
Miyako Restaurant food was very good and the staff was very pleasing.
Rancho Bar & Grill serves great Ceviche.
Cleanliness of the room was excellent.
Ana and Jenny from the Spa and Beauty Salon are great! Excellent pedicure and hair drying. Good price also.
Swimming pool area is nice and very clean.
Location is isolated; however, there is always transportation available (expensive). On the other hand, it is close to the airport and it is very accesible by car from the Pan-American Highway.

Room Tip: It is a great choice at a great price.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2017

Dear traveler

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews