We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great family Hotel and Staff. Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great family Hotel and Staff. Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Having just returned from a business trip in San Jose and a 4 day stay at this hotel, I would not hesitate to stay there again. I had an issue with my safe and i reported the problem to Adriana Lazo at the front desk and it was resolved immediately. She was the go to person if you had a problem. Very friendly and helpful. If you needed help with directions, a taxi or your luggage you could depend on Pablo. Both of these people work the day shift. The room was clean and everything worked to my satisfaction. I enjoyed the pool, the bar and its weekend entertainment. The hotel casino brought me some luck too. Every morning breakfast buffet was provided.
I'm a travel agent consultant and at $80 a night at low season, this was a very good deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MooreTravel4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest:

The Hotel Barceló San José Palacio would like to thank you for your visit. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We feel very pleased that the hotel and services were to your liking, we are so lucky to exceed your expectations. Please come back because we would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest.

We are looking forward to your next visit to provide you an amazing experience like just Barcelo knows.


Best regards,
Adriana Duran
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    381
    183
    59
    58
See reviews for
144
319
75
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Having just returned from a stay in CR and stayed at this hotel due to business reasons- rooms were nice enough- not elaborate but clean- and everything worked properly ( A/C- TV- Shower )- the grounds are nice and the pool area is also nice- spent time in the bar- it is fine and had some very good entertainment- although I think it did have some " shady activity " small slot style casino- food in restaurant- another story- YUK! Buffett- just stick to fruit and eggs - the pasta bar not so good- food in the bar - another menu and a little better- The front desk staff are extremely helpful and will help you in any way possible and I thank them for that! Most of the staff also very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the street side- lots of traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaynenunnery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest:

The Hotel Barceló San José Palacio would like to thank you for your visit. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We feel very pleased that our accommodations and services were to your liking, as complete satisfaction of our guests is our primary goal here at the hotel. We are sorry that you didn’t enjoy our food service at all; we already talk with the kitchen managers to improve some of ours menus.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.


Best regards,
Adriana Duran
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, West Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed on the Club Level in a suite 2 nights. Food and room service was good. Service was very good and the hotel was nice and clean. Great beds. Nice garden and pool. Very pleased with the Barcelo chain and have stayed with them in Guatemala City. Airport shuttles on the hour and a short commute to airport. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauleywog113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guest:

On behalf of the Hotel Barceló San José Palacio we are pleased to hear that your stay with us was gratifying. We put our best effort on this daily because our guests are our priority.

We thank you for your comments and thank you for choosing Barceló San José Palacio. We hope that you continue to use our Hotel for your lodging needs in the near future. We look forward to serving you again in your next trip.


Best regards,
Adriana Duran
Guest service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed for a week. The internet connection was spotty. Sometimes it worked great but most of the time it was very slow or sporadic. Had to logoff computer to log phone on. Couldn't use internet connection on phone and computer at the same time. Rooms were average. Breakfast had a lot of selections but was average quality. The restaurants in the hotel were very expensive. Complimentary airport shuttle was nice. Need a taxi to go anywhere which is at least $10 each way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Breakfast buffet at Ánfora Restaurant was excellent!
Hotel staff was corteous and friendly.
Food prices are very good. I really appreciated the daily free bottle of water in the room.
Miyako Restaurant food was very good and the staff was very pleasing.
Rancho Bar & Grill serves great Ceviche.
Cleanliness of the room was excellent.
Ana and Jenny from the Spa and Beauty Salon are great! Excellent pedicure and hair drying. Good price also.
Swimming pool area is nice and very clean.
Location is isolated; however, there is always transportation available (expensive). On the other hand, it is close to the airport and it is very accesible by car from the Pan-American Highway.

Room Tip: It is a great choice at a great price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constant Traveller
Level Contributor
363 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Well, dear reader, this was a disappointment. I had high hopes for this hotel because my local customer arranged the reservation and spoke highly of the place. But instead "Alex B" and "Antonio M" have it exactly right -- it is merely an OK place to stay,and but it has a lot of work to do before it even gets close to being a top choice.

I can confirm the hotel is 20 minutes or so from the airport, maybe US$25 without a lot of traffic, and Antonio M is dead-on about the bad service offered by the shuttle. The hotel is relatively isolated, on a hill without any shops or other facilities near-by. So be ready to pay some big $$$ for taxi rides or rental cars, to go anywhere. Walking simply is not an option.

The building is an odd structure, with yellow panels creating a "saw-tooth" exterior (see photo). But the result are large and interestingly-shaped guest rooms with big windows and excellent views. The lobby also is very large, with a big bar and casino on one end, and a massive casual dining room and a Japanese restaurant on the other end. In the middle is the check-in counter and a piano, which is played every evening by a talented older gent. So -- in terms of physical structure, I was very pleased and optimistic.

Ah, but then it goes down hill -- so fast, and so sad!

My room was barely clean enough to be acceptable. While the bed was comfy and the pillows very nice, the bathroom is old-fashioned and cramped. There was mold in the shower. I was given one tiny bar of soap for the whole week. The noise of trucks on the highway blasts through the windows all day and night. The carpets were not vacuumed daily -- I spilled some ground coffee one morning, and it was two days before it was vacuumed up. Some days I was missing some of the towels. And the glasses and coffee cups were not cleaned/replaced every day.

This hotel also suffers from a lack of staff. My card key stopped working one day, and I waited 20 minutes for the one over-worked desk clerk to work through the line of people to burn me a new card key. Service in the restaurants is sporadic and uneven -- nice enough people; they just don't ever come around with more coffee or the check. The bar on a busy night has just two servers, when they should have 4-5. So be prepared to wait.

As for the restaurants themselves, in the casual dining room the food was only mediocre. At breakfast, you will find the fruit is fresh and local; but the rice & beans are cooked hard; the scrambled eggs are mealy-looking and even cooked-to-order eggs were runny and not tasty. After five days of bad breakfasts, I was desperate to find a McDonald's or something! I did have lunch with a customer in the restaurant, and we ordered pizzas and they were very tasty, but they took almost 40 minutes to arrive. **sigh**

Other key elements also were lacking. I would have preferred a better, high-def TV with more channel choices -- no CNN? No BBC? That's the basics! Plus, a faster and more reliable WIFI, that permits more than one device to be logged in at a time -- it is incredibly annoying to have one's email disconnected on your laptop, lets say, because you want to read CNN on your iPad or check the weather on your smart phone. Come on, guys -- most hotels permit 3-4 devices on one log-in. It's the 21st century, for god's sake!

One night, for some variety, I ate in the Japanese restaurant and it was very good, but dinner for four nearly hit US$200, so it should have been top-drawer.

The bar is adequate and fine, but the same lack of staff makes service there a real struggle when the crowds move in after 5 pm.

So all in all, I will not be back... there are better places to spend $100 a night, more conveniently located and more dedicated to keeping me happy; and I'm going to find them for you (and me!).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
273 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located about 25 minutes from the main airport. It is on a hill so no walking from this place. What ever you decide to do, you will need a taxi.
Breakfast and food service is not the best. Selection of food is not really good for international tourists.
Japanese restaurant in the hotel is very good although it opens only for dinner. Service at that restaurant is very good.
Rooms are spacious and clean.
Service in general is very good at the front desk and at restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
3.7 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 2,130 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
1.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo San Jose Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Jose Palacio

Property: Barcelo San Jose Palacio
Address: Residencial El Robledal | La Uruca, San Jose 458-1150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#16 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Jose Palacio 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Barcelo San Jose Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel San Jose
San Jose Barcelo
Barcelo Palacio Hotel Costa Rica
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing