We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased”
Review of Barcelo San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo San Jose
Ranked #12 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very pleased”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel. My package included Wi-Fi and free breakfast. The wifi worked fine for me I had no issues with it and the breakfast was awesome. My room was clean and cleaned every day. Loved my view of the city. They offered robes for you to use and I got two free bottles of water and the staff allowed me to use their mini bar as a fried. I wish they had TV station that had English sub titles at least, but I didn’t come to stay in the hotel. The hotel has a bar where happy hour is everyday, 2 for 1 drinks and live music. They gift shops are ok, the pool I never used but it’s really nice. The hotel looks like it’s situated in a garden. It is right off the highway so you will need to take a taxi but I suggest going with other guests who are going you way so you can pay less. It’s about 10$ to go downtown and the same cost me the same coming back in a red taxi. Front desk has very few English speaking people but I managed and the guy who helped me book my awesome tours spoke great English. Ask the hotel staff for the shuttle times prior so you do not sit there looking dumb when you get from the airport, they only run every hour. I have no problems with this hotel. It didn't seem outdated to me and it is pretty safe, the elevator will not allow you on juts any floor if you do not have a room there

I blogged about it also if your interested at YoungEqualsForever.blogspot.com

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4everyoungmsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, April 4, 2017
Dear traveler

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    483
    242
    74
    68
See reviews for
213
415
104
314
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mal Pais
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I go to San Jose about 2-3 times a month for Business. I have been to a lot of Hotels in San Jose and this one is the best by far for the price.Very good Hotel for doing Business in San Jose. Also very safe the best breakfast buffet in San Jose. Very friendly employes and very helpful with any questions that you have. Most all staff speaks English. Will be back at Hotel very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DodgerMalPais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

The Hotel Barceló San José Palacio would like to thank you for your visit. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We feel very pleased that the accommodations and services were to your liking, as complete satisfaction of our guests is our primary goal here at the hotel.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest. We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.



Best regards,
Adriana Duran
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have stayed in San Jose many times, and suprisingly always in a different hotel for various circumstances. I found the hotel itself pretty good, but the fact that it is located far from basically anything made me end up either totally isolated or restricted to eating what was available in the hotel. If I would have known this, I wouldn't have stayed there.

However, the hotel had good internet (working in almost every corner), though it wasn't included in my rate. The breakfast was very good but wasn't included in my rate either.

Next time I'll probably stay in a hotel nearer to / at the city center, because coming and going was really a hassle / expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlosfpardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guest.

Receive a warm greeting from San Jose Palacio. Is one of the main parts of our job know what the clients thinks about us, which is your desire here in Barcelo and try to arrange whole the details to get the better experience for you. In that way make sure that we are doing an extra effort to get the tasks seriously and glad to serve each customer.

We know about location, is not our best point, so we are near from San Jose downtown, just 10 minutes by car.

Again, thank you very much to let us know your opinion, we do appreciate all your comments, is so important for our company. We hope that you come back soon, for another good stay.

Best regards,

Adriana Duran
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Beware of the smoking floors ... The hotel was not willing to move me to a non smoking floor. The rooms are wood paneling and are very outdated. The sink would not drain correctly and the tub had the same issue. The maid service did not clean very good. We could see water stains/ marks on the tables. The general areas need to be cleaned and hosed down. No free WIFI in any area of the hotel. The breakfast was very good and the food for dinner was fine. Make sure to bring everything you need no hotel store to sell you basic items .... Toothpaste, mouthwash, etc. Nowhere to walk to from this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dec2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest:

The staff of Barcelo San Jose Palacio was glad to attend your needs, know your opinion about us is an incredible way to get better every day and learn how to serve each guest personally.

If you come back, please make sure to request non smoking floor, actually, we can preview this for you. The maintain team of the hotel have the skills to fix everything in the rooms, so when you get problems with something should let us know to help you immediately. About the food service, is good to know that you enjoyed it. And about the cleaning standard of the room, we will send the suggestions to housekeeping department, so they shall talk about it, and execute the necessary changes to improve. We are also remodeling some areas, so the guests could be more comfortable and enjoy our beautiful place.

Again, thank you very much to let us know your opinion, we do appreciate all your comments, is so important for our company. We´ll be on your service if you make another reservation with us, to give you an amazing stay.

Best regards,

Adriana Duran
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Nice rooms (but we got stuck on a smoking floor) and restaurants. Could not walk to any stores for water or anything else as the hotel is sandwiched between major roads. We don't speak Spanish so struggled communicating a bit with staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Client:

Is such a great option for Barcelo San José Palacio gets your comment about the hotel and try to improve while we start working on the suggestions. We have highways nearby the hotel, so could be difficult walk there, but our cab service works 24/7 to give the guests as good service as we can. Also the location of the hotel is just to 10 minutes to San Jose downtown.

Actually the hotel asks for English spoken staff, so we know that is an important part to show up the costumer service skills and avoid the bad experiences to our guests.
We look forward have you in the hotel again pretty soon, and provide you another good stay.


Best regards,

Adriana Duran
Guest services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver WA USA
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

A very nice mid priced hotel. We stayed there as part of our Caravan Tours program of Costa Rica. The Hotel appears very clean. Rooms large with really comfortable beds. Great out door pool area. Staff were very friendly. Included breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timtam49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest :

The Barceló San José Palacio staff appreciates all of your comments about your stay with us it’s our joy to know that your experience in our hotel was of your satisfaction. We know the pool area is such a relaxing place, to share with family and friends.

Thank you for let us know what you think about the Hotel, That’s always the best way to grow as a company. We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so mucho for share with us a moment that mean so much for you.

We hope that you come back to our country soon and consider Barceló San José Palacio for your stay.


Best regards,
Luana Sanchez Gonzales.
Guests Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The company i work for sends us to Costa Rica almost every 2 months.
We've visited several Hotels on the way, never to find such a warm welcoming feeling as you get when u stay at this awesome Hotel, we stay at the executive level and we always get great treatment here.

Best regards to the Barcelo San Jose Palacio team and much success in your business.

Room Tip: Get the executive level and you wont regret it...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest:

The Barceló San José Palacio staff thanks you for all your amazing comments for us is the best experience to be in contact with our guests;

For us is wonderful know that each stay get better and our compromise improves, so were being working harder to get our goal, satisfy every costumer and give them as much as we can.

Thank you very much again to let us know your comments. We want to receive you again, hope see you soon. we are very glad that your stay was so warm and welcoming and that you were able to enjoy the benefits of our executive floor best regards to you and we hope to have you back in our hotel many times!

Best regards,

Adriana Duran
Guest’s service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,433 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 77 in San Jose
943 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Jose

Property: Barcelo San Jose
Address: Residencial El Robledal | La Uruca, San Jose 458-1150, Costa Rica (Formerly Barcelo San Jose Palacio)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#16 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Barcelo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel San Jose
San Jose Barcelo
Barcelo Palacio Hotel Costa Rica
Barcelo San Jose Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing