We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Hotel Exceeded Our Expectations. Incredible Hotel Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barcelo San Jose
Ranked #15 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Hotel Exceeded Our Expectations. Incredible Hotel Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hotel Services were excellent, breakfast was incredible, as well as the food in general, cleanliness was remarkable, change of towels and bed sheets daily, but the best of all was how the hotel employees treat the guests, I would like to name one by one because they deserve a special recognition: at the Anfora Restaurant Yorleny, pasta girl,Emil waiter, Jose waiter, Martin and Heiner captains, Joanna, cleaning lady, Andrey, front desk , Daniel Cavada, Ricardo, with the Tourism Bureau,very kind and helpful. These people along with the hotel services, made possible that our vacation were marvelous! I sincere recommend this hotel for your vacations. CONGRATULATIONS TO SR. ALEJANDRO, General Manager, YOU HAVE A WONDERFUL WORKING TEAM AT THIS BEAUTIFUL HOTEL BARCELO SAN JOSE.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zenaida h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Client:

Receive greetings from Barceló San José Palacio and the guest service department. We do appreciate that you spend your days in Costa Rica in our hotel. We were very proud to be your host and thank you so much for let us your comment.

It’s wonderful for us; know that you enjoyed your time. Thank you very much to remember our staff members, all Barceló team work try to improve and be better each day, just for our guests. All of you are the main reason to make everything as better as we can. We are really happy to exceed your expectations.

We hope see you soon, and be your host again. If you will visit Costa Rica, remember that San José Palacio is the best place.

Best regards,



Adriana Duran
Guest Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    445
    216
    70
    64
See reviews for
179
379
91
290
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We spent five nights, three on our own and two through a tour company. Free shuttle from airport was arranged via e-mail. We were allowed to check in before 10 AM. Its an older hotel with lots of dark rich wood in lobby and in room. Lots of closet space, small bath, windows can be opened if desired. Internet works OK but is $7-$12 per day extra. Hotel is isolated, must take a taxi to go any where. Food is good and staff is pleasant and helpful. Now the bad. We had lots of freeway noise from trucks very close. The worst problem was Saturday afternoon and evening there was a party with loud, and I mean LOUD, music. It felt the music was in the next room - but it wasn't. Housekeeping service is inconsistent. Sometimes good, sometimes bad.

Room Tip: Location is OK if you have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Client:

Greetings from The Barceló San José Palacio and the guest service department. We do appreciate you spent your days in Costa Rica in our hotel. We were very proud to be your host and thank you so much for let us your comment.

It’s amazing for us that you enjoyed our rooms and services, like the free shuttle service and internet, neither less We want to apologize for the inconvenience your experienced with the noise due to a live band as well as the lack of quick response from the housekeeping service department. We brought your comment to the upper management to take an immediate action in order to avoid such problems. Your comments help us to grow as a company.

We hope to see you soon, and be your host again and show you our commitment.

Best regards,



Adriana Duran
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I just came back from Costa Rica a few days ago (beginning of may)

Shuttle service is provided with their timings so we would of had to wait 45mins so we took a taxi to the hotel which charge $20.00. The hotel is located close to the airport (20-30min away) which was nice, it's also close to the downtown area (20-30mins away) however the biggest down point is that u can't really just walk out to any local places as the hotel is situated on a highway! So u have no other choice but to get a taxi to go anywhere. The hotel taxi drivers charge alot more than the local taxi drivers.. The hotel taxis also offer to do a two way trip (take u to the destination and back) I wouldn't recommend it because u can get a cheaper price coming home in the local red taxis with yellow triangles.. They base their charge in colones and work it out on their meter.

Breakfast at the hotel is a average mix, although the staff are very friendly and attentive.

The rooms are cleaned well everyday, they change all the bed covers and pillow cases daily which was nice.. And yes u have new towels everyday too.

It was my husbands bday so they left a bday cake for us which was a lovely gesture.

Water in the pool is cold however the pool area and garden is beautiful.

Room service (the food!) disgusting! Don't waste ur money on it.. I would really recommend a restaurant called Tin Jo which is situated in downtown San Jose and has amazing food!

The rooms are big and spacious which was nice, the bed is the best ever hotel bed I have layed on in my life! So comfy u just fall asleep instantly! The bathroom is quiet small and we had a problem with the bath coz it kept filling up and wasnt draining properly.

I would also recommend buy tours from the tourist information guide "Ricardo" - defiantly do the white water rafting and the canopy adventure. Also u must visit arenal volcano and tabacon grand spa!! Prices at the hotel for the tours are gd deals.

Overall it was a pleasant stay.. Receptionists were helpful. Don't bother buying souvenirs from the souvenir shop in the hotel - it's way over priced!

If your going Costa Rica - enjoy =)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xd3vili5hx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Your comment is the best opportunity to receive a feedback and get better. thanks to let us know how important is learn about mistakes, and grow up with our guests and their expectations.

We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future to improve the inconvenience that you had on your last stay.

Is nice to know that your husband receive some surprise to get another nice moment with us. We always think first is being good with the people like you, who show us our fail and made us improve.

It is our best interest to secure your loyalty to our hotel and regain back your confidence. My apologize if something was wrong, we send all the suggestions to fix the inconvenience.

About the location, it’s something that we really can’t change, for that reason, the hotel have an select group of taxi drivers to make easier your visit in Costa Rica.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so mucho for share with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Best regards,



Adriana Duran
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
162 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This was a pleasant surprise. We booked a package tour in Costa Rica. But we wanted to stay a few days before the tour started. So we stayed here and loved it. The property is beautiful. The lobby has a wonderful piano. The service
and concierge service was in peccable.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelnheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment. With regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San José Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations. Thanks for show us, that all things that we try to do for our guests are important to them.

You are the best example from a satisfied person, and we improve ourselves, is the best idea to keep the nice feeling with our customers.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you very much for that comment. A person like you brings a positive atmosphere to us.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Adriana Duran
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night so we could be closer to the airport.

Cons:
-The Japanese restaurant in the lobby was 1. empty and 2. terrible. GAG. AVOID.

- $12 for WiFi??? Cmon now! I called from the room and whoever picked up quoted me at $10. I said okay please charge my room he said Oh let me transfer you to Mario. I got Mario on the phone and he told me to come downstairs I said no problem. When I got downstairs Mario told me $12. I tried arguing but it seems like Barcelo needs the extra $2 more than I do. Also, his name is pronounced MAH-rio, not Mareo.

Pro:

- Beautiful view from my hotel window!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweatinginNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking time to answered Trip Advisor’s survey, it is a great opportunity to receive important feedback from our guests and take the necessary actions in order to improve all of our services.

Please accept our most sincere apologize from all our staff for the inconvenience during you is stayed at the Hotel. We really understand your disappointment and we take all comments from our clients seriously.

I’m glad that you enjoy the amazing views we have in our country. We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future to improve the inconvenience that you had on your last stay.

It’s our idea get better from all guests, like your comments and find nice ways to improve ourselves and learn about mistakes.

Thank you again and I hope that we can serve you again soon at the Barceló San Jose Palacio or at any Barceló Hotels & Resorts.

Sincerely,



Adriana Duran
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We enjoyed the room and the pool. The staff are friendly and helpful. But the food in the poolside bar and the restaurant was so bad that we seriously considered not eating at all. The bar food was akin to frozen food microwaved partially. The food in the restaurant was so salty and chewy that we didn't even bother trying to finish it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PigNubbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for let me know your inconvenience it is a great opportunity to receive important feedback from our guests and know necessary actions to grow as company.

We are always trying to get better food service, serve with best smile, to help the people find a delicious dish to eat, and enjoy the time on Barceló. And we understand that you were disappointed with the dishes execution, well we will send the information, because is important for us. We inform our employ about all suggestions we should improve for our clients.

We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future to improve the inconvenience that you had on your last stay…

Thank you again and I hope that we can serve you again soon at the Barceló San Jose Palacio or at any Barceló Hotels & Resorts.

Best regards,



Adriana Duran
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great location. Dated but Comfortable rooms. Absolutely Terrible House Keeping; practically non existent unless you ask and when you do only the bare minimum is done.
Good included breakfast but skip the dinner buffet. At $30 per person there are other options such as the very good Japanese Restaurant on the lobby level or other (within driving distance) off site restaurants.
The Spa was very good and functional. The pool area was equally nice.
The noise level is a bit high when they have DJ or live entertainment.
Barcelo San Jose Palacio lacks a good lobby level coffee shop and better service in the lobby lounging area. The staff of the bar in the lobby, El- Bosque, are NOT happy to see you walk in and especially not to order an espresso or such for the lobby ... unlike other hotel staff, El-Bosque staff was rude and highly inattentive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San José Palacio, for us is very important to know every observation of our clients so we can improve our services.

We want to apologize for the inconvenience that you had at our facilities, this comments are going to be send it to every Department so they can have knowledge of the situation and they can take the corrective measures.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.5 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Jose

Property: Barcelo San Jose
Address: Residencial El Robledal | La Uruca, San Jose 458-1150, Costa Rica (Formerly Barcelo San Jose Palacio)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#16 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Barcelo, BookIt.com and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel San Jose
San Jose Barcelo
Barcelo Palacio Hotel Costa Rica
Barcelo San Jose Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing