We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but odd location!”
Review of Barcelo San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo San Jose
Ranked #12 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean but odd location!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I just came back from Costa Rica a few days ago (beginning of may)

Shuttle service is provided with their timings so we would of had to wait 45mins so we took a taxi to the hotel which charge $20.00. The hotel is located close to the airport (20-30min away) which was nice, it's also close to the downtown area (20-30mins away) however the biggest down point is that u can't really just walk out to any local places as the hotel is situated on a highway! So u have no other choice but to get a taxi to go anywhere. The hotel taxi drivers charge alot more than the local taxi drivers.. The hotel taxis also offer to do a two way trip (take u to the destination and back) I wouldn't recommend it because u can get a cheaper price coming home in the local red taxis with yellow triangles.. They base their charge in colones and work it out on their meter.

Breakfast at the hotel is a average mix, although the staff are very friendly and attentive.

The rooms are cleaned well everyday, they change all the bed covers and pillow cases daily which was nice.. And yes u have new towels everyday too.

It was my husbands bday so they left a bday cake for us which was a lovely gesture.

Water in the pool is cold however the pool area and garden is beautiful.

Room service (the food!) disgusting! Don't waste ur money on it.. I would really recommend a restaurant called Tin Jo which is situated in downtown San Jose and has amazing food!

The rooms are big and spacious which was nice, the bed is the best ever hotel bed I have layed on in my life! So comfy u just fall asleep instantly! The bathroom is quiet small and we had a problem with the bath coz it kept filling up and wasnt draining properly.

I would also recommend buy tours from the tourist information guide "Ricardo" - defiantly do the white water rafting and the canopy adventure. Also u must visit arenal volcano and tabacon grand spa!! Prices at the hotel for the tours are gd deals.

Overall it was a pleasant stay.. Receptionists were helpful. Don't bother buying souvenirs from the souvenir shop in the hotel - it's way over priced!

If your going Costa Rica - enjoy =)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xd3vili5hx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Your comment is the best opportunity to receive a feedback and get better. thanks to let us know how important is learn about mistakes, and grow up with our guests and their expectations.

We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future to improve the inconvenience that you had on your last stay.

Is nice to know that your husband receive some surprise to get another nice moment with us. We always think first is being good with the people like you, who show us our fail and made us improve.

It is our best interest to secure your loyalty to our hotel and regain back your confidence. My apologize if something was wrong, we send all the suggestions to fix the inconvenience.

About the location, it’s something that we really can’t change, for that reason, the hotel have an select group of taxi drivers to make easier your visit in Costa Rica.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so mucho for share with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Best regards,



Adriana Duran
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    487
    244
    74
    68
See reviews for
216
418
105
315
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This was a pleasant surprise. We booked a package tour in Costa Rica. But we wanted to stay a few days before the tour started. So we stayed here and loved it. The property is beautiful. The lobby has a wonderful piano. The service
and concierge service was in peccable.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelnheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment. With regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San José Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations. Thanks for show us, that all things that we try to do for our guests are important to them.

You are the best example from a satisfied person, and we improve ourselves, is the best idea to keep the nice feeling with our customers.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you very much for that comment. A person like you brings a positive atmosphere to us.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Adriana Duran
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night so we could be closer to the airport.

Cons:
-The Japanese restaurant in the lobby was 1. empty and 2. terrible. GAG. AVOID.

- $12 for WiFi??? Cmon now! I called from the room and whoever picked up quoted me at $10. I said okay please charge my room he said Oh let me transfer you to Mario. I got Mario on the phone and he told me to come downstairs I said no problem. When I got downstairs Mario told me $12. I tried arguing but it seems like Barcelo needs the extra $2 more than I do. Also, his name is pronounced MAH-rio, not Mareo.

Pro:

- Beautiful view from my hotel window!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweatinginNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking time to answered Trip Advisor’s survey, it is a great opportunity to receive important feedback from our guests and take the necessary actions in order to improve all of our services.

Please accept our most sincere apologize from all our staff for the inconvenience during you is stayed at the Hotel. We really understand your disappointment and we take all comments from our clients seriously.

I’m glad that you enjoy the amazing views we have in our country. We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future to improve the inconvenience that you had on your last stay.

It’s our idea get better from all guests, like your comments and find nice ways to improve ourselves and learn about mistakes.

Thank you again and I hope that we can serve you again soon at the Barceló San Jose Palacio or at any Barceló Hotels & Resorts.

Sincerely,



Adriana Duran
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We enjoyed the room and the pool. The staff are friendly and helpful. But the food in the poolside bar and the restaurant was so bad that we seriously considered not eating at all. The bar food was akin to frozen food microwaved partially. The food in the restaurant was so salty and chewy that we didn't even bother trying to finish it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PigNubbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for let me know your inconvenience it is a great opportunity to receive important feedback from our guests and know necessary actions to grow as company.

We are always trying to get better food service, serve with best smile, to help the people find a delicious dish to eat, and enjoy the time on Barceló. And we understand that you were disappointed with the dishes execution, well we will send the information, because is important for us. We inform our employ about all suggestions we should improve for our clients.

We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future to improve the inconvenience that you had on your last stay…

Thank you again and I hope that we can serve you again soon at the Barceló San Jose Palacio or at any Barceló Hotels & Resorts.

Best regards,



Adriana Duran
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great location. Dated but Comfortable rooms. Absolutely Terrible House Keeping; practically non existent unless you ask and when you do only the bare minimum is done.
Good included breakfast but skip the dinner buffet. At $30 per person there are other options such as the very good Japanese Restaurant on the lobby level or other (within driving distance) off site restaurants.
The Spa was very good and functional. The pool area was equally nice.
The noise level is a bit high when they have DJ or live entertainment.
Barcelo San Jose Palacio lacks a good lobby level coffee shop and better service in the lobby lounging area. The staff of the bar in the lobby, El- Bosque, are NOT happy to see you walk in and especially not to order an espresso or such for the lobby ... unlike other hotel staff, El-Bosque staff was rude and highly inattentive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San José Palacio, for us is very important to know every observation of our clients so we can improve our services.

We want to apologize for the inconvenience that you had at our facilities, this comments are going to be send it to every Department so they can have knowledge of the situation and they can take the corrective measures.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel upon arrival into San Jose Costa Rica. After a long day of travel the hotel and the grounds was a welcome sight. At first glance the hotel looks quite nice, and in many respects it is. We had booked a suite on Expedia prior to our trip and the price was excellent. The room was very nice, it had a separate living area and bedroom. Overall the room was very nice, but the air conditioner was not adequate for the size of the room. We called the front desk and they tried to fix it, but alas it was just an older unit in an over-sized room. Honestly, this was the only thing that I can complain about other then a few maintenance issues. The grounds were beautiful, the staff friendly, the price excellent, I would stay here again for a night or two at the front or back end of a Costa Rica trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranhar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San José Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations, except with the inconvenience that you had with the air conditioning.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience. It’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services and these comments are important for us, so we can improve our services in the proper way.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Costa Rica was a wonderful experience for my family of three. We enjoyed the scenery, the adventures, and the great service provided by the staff. The staff was very attentive and catered to our need. It made us feel like family. Room service was equally satisfying. We had a very small defect with a hair dryer, and as soon as we called the main desk, not ten minutes later the problem was fixed. While the experience was great, the food was abysmal. There was little variety and there were no international plates being offered. Breakfast was the same for the seven days we stayed there. We had to look for alternative choices everyday. Besides this flaw, we enjoyed our stay and the staff was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San José Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services and that your family enjoy every moment in our facilities.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you and your family.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,439 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
944 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Jose

Property: Barcelo San Jose
Address: Residencial El Robledal | La Uruca, San Jose 458-1150, Costa Rica (Formerly Barcelo San Jose Palacio)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#16 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barcelo San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel San Jose
San Jose Barcelo
Barcelo Palacio Hotel Costa Rica
Barcelo San Jose Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing