We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep your expectations low and you won't be disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Barcelo San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo San Jose
Ranked #14 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Keep your expectations low and you won't be disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel two nights prior to a cruise departure. While I realize every country has differing practices and expectations, there were some points I thought this hotel could improve upon.

First, the positives for this hotel:
1. a pristine pool
2. beautiful grounds
3. very comfortable bed
4. ceviche offered at the restaurant by the pool

Second, the challenges this hotel faced during our two night stay:
1. upon checking in to the room, we discovered no towels in either of the bathrooms of our suite; upon returning to our room in the afternoon the second day, even though the beds had been made and the used towels removed, still no towels whatsoever in either of the bathrooms...not even a hand towel
2. room key cards issued at check in immediately did not work (and were needed in order to allow the elevator to take you only to your floor); key card on the second day again did not work, after taking special care to make sure it was not next to my phone that might have demagnetized it
3. Wi-Fi that came with the room rate only allowed one device to be used at a time
4. somewhat inattentive service (which I'm still convinced has to be a learning curve) as when ordering drinks at the pool, we had to explain to the server that we were going to order multiple drinks during the afternoon and didn't want to settle our tab after just one drink; also the next morning at breakfast in ordering a simple espresso from one server, 15 minutes later I had to ask another server what happened to it, to which he then brought it over stating "oh, we didn't know who ordered it"
5. and while clean, the hotel furnishings in the rooms and in the common areas need updating
6. coffee maker in the room did not produce hot water

Room Tip: Upon check in, request a room that does not face the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brinktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to answered Trip Advisor’s survey and comment about your stay at the Hotel Barcelo San Jose Palacio, it is a great opportunity to receive important feedback from our guests and take the necessary actions in order to improve all of our services.

Please accept our most sincere apology from all our staff for the inconvenience occurred during your stayed at the Hotel. We really understand your disappointment and I we will be taking action with each Department of the hotel to avoid this type of situation.

It is our best interest to secure your loyalty to our hotel and regain back your confidence.

Thank you again and I hope that we can serve you again soon at the Barceló San Jose Palacio or at any Barcelo Hotels & Resorts.

Sincerely,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    453
    226
    70
    64
See reviews for
188
385
92
292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at the Barceló Palacio upon arriving into Costa Rica. It is a clean hotel and the staff is very helpful. The hotel is a bit dated, however, it is well maintained. The breakfast was nice and had a large selection, including an omelet bar. The coffee is great !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations and that you enjoy our breakfast buffet.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were staying here after arriving from the US and before our cruise from the west coast of Costa Rica. The hotel was very nice and very clean and the beds were comfortable. We arrived early, which I'm sure is why the rooms were not all ready. Some had to have towels delivered later. Still not an issue, because we hung out by the pool, which was lovely and had a nice lunch. The only problem i had was trying to work the A/C unit in the room. I had to ask the front desk for instructions, since none were provided in the room. I did appreciate the comfort kit and toiletry items in the bathroom.. that was a nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AU046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very happy to know your enjoyed your stay with us, however please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience encountered with the A/C. Please be advice the Engineering department has taken action to avoid this problem to occured in the future.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice room. It was somewhat outdated with a trouser press and crappy hair dryer. Stayed there to play poker in the No Limit Club. I would definitely stay there again. We used the tourist desk to set up a zip lining tour. The food at Anfora was disappointing. We got sandwiches and they were not even close to the description on the menu. We also at the Breakfast buffet, which was nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations except with some disappointments that you had in our facilities.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drake
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed there for 3 nigths on a business trip; Check in was friendly and easy with a big smiled staff welcome, I booked last minute and they gave me an upgrade to a suite! So that was very nice, this suite its actually perfect for a business trip (office, living room, balcony, closet, minibar,etc.) pretty good equiped and lots of ammenties, room service was great every nigth and breakfast too...the only thing I will say it's the size of the bathroom it's a bit too little, but clean and nice so it's ok; Rate (besides the upgrade) it's fair and friendly, just don't forget to carry some cash, because you will use a lot of taxi rides if you don't have a car (charge them to the room it's a little overprice) since is not located in downtown.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this property as part of a pre-cruise package. Fairly large building, quite dated. Rooms are adequate. Not centrally located. Breakfast was great. Someone in our group experienced an ipad theft at the restaurant but with quick action was able to recuperate it. Not a 4 star in my opinion.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AMoyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations.

Please accept our most sincere apologize from all our staff for the inconvenience during your stay at the Hotel, every comment is important so we can improve our services and our facilities.

We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future to improve the inconvenience that you had on your last stay.

It is our best interest to secure your loyalty to our hotel and regain back your confidence.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a nice time staying here for a week. The rooms are spacious and clean. We had a nice view as well. Only problem in the room was that the cleaning staff forgot to put clean towels in our room almost every day, We had to ask for towels ourself a lot of days, and sometimes it took several hours before they gave us clean ones. A bit irritating.. By the way the bed in our room was very comfortable! I slept like a baby!

The hotel is about a 10 minutes drive to the centre of San Jose, taxi is inexpensive. The hotel offers tourist taxis, but they charge almost double of what you pay if you use one of the red registered taxis.

The service of the restaurant staff in the hotel was not very impressive, we felt like we were ignored actually. At brekfast everyone else was offered coffee or tee, during our week there we were only offered this ones..

There is a pretty garden outside the hotel, with a lot of parrots and other birds, this is a nice touch since the hotel is situated between two large roads. It helps make the hotel feel a bit more exotic in a way. It also gives a nice backdrop for the pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bimbonemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations except with some inconvenience that you had with some of our services, we want to apologize for this.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing every word that help us to improve our services every day.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Jose

Property: Barcelo San Jose
Address: Residencial El Robledal | La Uruca, San Jose 458-1150, Costa Rica (Formerly Barcelo San Jose Palacio)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#16 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Barcelo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barcelo San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel San Jose
San Jose Barcelo
Barcelo Palacio Hotel Costa Rica
Barcelo San Jose Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing