We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelo San Jose
Nearby Hotels
$85
$75
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Fleur de Lys(San Jose)(Great Value!)
$53
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colours Oasis Resort(San Jose)(Great Value!)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocoon Hotel(San Jose)(Great Value!)
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$85
$72
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$170
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,647)
Filter reviews
1,647 results
Traveler rating
586
585
306
87
83
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
585
306
87
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaravan tourjapanese restaurantcosta ricaroom servicetennis courtspool areabreakfast buffettour desktour groupfree airport shuttlevery nice hotelnice poolclose to the airportpura vidapollopalaciohammocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
677 - 682 of 1,647 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were staying here after arriving from the US and before our cruise from the west coast of Costa Rica. The hotel was very nice and very clean and the beds were comfortable. We arrived early, which I'm sure is why the rooms were not all ready. Some had to have towels delivered later. Still not an issue, because we hung out by the pool, which was lovely and had a nice lunch. The only problem i had was trying to work the A/C unit in the room. I had to ask the front desk for instructions, since none were provided in the room. I did appreciate the comfort kit and toiletry items in the bathroom.. that was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AU046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very happy to know your enjoyed your stay with us, however please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience encountered with the A/C. Please be advice the Engineering department has taken action to avoid this problem to occured in the future.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice room. It was somewhat outdated with a trouser press and crappy hair dryer. Stayed there to play poker in the No Limit Club. I would definitely stay there again. We used the tourist desk to set up a zip lining tour. The food at Anfora was disappointing. We got sandwiches and they were not even close to the description on the menu. We also at the Breakfast buffet, which was nothing special.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations except with some disappointments that you had in our facilities.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed there for 3 nigths on a business trip; Check in was friendly and easy with a big smiled staff welcome, I booked last minute and they gave me an upgrade to a suite! So that was very nice, this suite its actually perfect for a business trip (office, living room, balcony, closet, minibar,etc.) pretty good equiped and lots of ammenties, room service was great every nigth and breakfast too...the only thing I will say it's the size of the bathroom it's a bit too little, but clean and nice so it's ok; Rate (besides the upgrade) it's fair and friendly, just don't forget to carry some cash, because you will use a lot of taxi rides if you don't have a car (charge them to the room it's a little overprice) since is not located in downtown.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed at this property as part of a pre-cruise package. Fairly large building, quite dated. Rooms are adequate. Not centrally located. Breakfast was great. Someone in our group experienced an ipad theft at the restaurant but with quick action was able to recuperate it. Not a 4 star in my opinion.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank AMoyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations.

Please accept our most sincere apologize from all our staff for the inconvenience during your stay at the Hotel, every comment is important so we can improve our services and our facilities.

We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future to improve the inconvenience that you had on your last stay.

It is our best interest to secure your loyalty to our hotel and regain back your confidence.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a nice time staying here for a week. The rooms are spacious and clean. We had a nice view as well. Only problem in the room was that the cleaning staff forgot to put clean towels in our room almost every day, We had to ask for towels ourself a lot of days, and sometimes it took several hours before they gave us clean ones. A bit irritating.. By the way the bed in our room was very comfortable! I slept like a baby!

The hotel is about a 10 minutes drive to the centre of San Jose, taxi is inexpensive. The hotel offers tourist taxis, but they charge almost double of what you pay if you use one of the red registered taxis.

The service of the restaurant staff in the hotel was not very impressive, we felt like we were ignored actually. At brekfast everyone else was offered coffee or tee, during our week there we were only offered this ones..

There is a pretty garden outside the hotel, with a lot of parrots and other birds, this is a nice touch since the hotel is situated between two large roads. It helps make the hotel feel a bit more exotic in a way. It also gives a nice backdrop for the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bimbonemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations except with some inconvenience that you had with some of our services, we want to apologize for this.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing every word that help us to improve our services every day.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews