We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vesuvio average standard not too expensive”
Review of Vesuvio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vesuvio Hotel
Ranked #49 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 23, 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vesuviocr, Director General at Vesuvio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 91 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2008

We stayed at Vesuvio at the beginning and end of our trip to Costa Rica. I must say the rooms are small but immaculate. The management is awesome. I have stayed in places ranging from hostels to the Ritz Carlton, etc. The staff at Hotel Vesuvio tries very hard to please their guests. I highly recommend Hotel Vesuvio for short stays.

(Also, they recommended a nearby restaurant - across the street and through the parking lot - where you could order a pizza - which looked great - to a full meal - Cafe something was its name.

We had an excellent experience. Free internet too!

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank pitapam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2008

The Hotel Vesuvio has an attractive exterior, friendly staff and an excellent location to downtown San Jose. It also has an very good restaurant that serves breakfast (perhaps lunch) and dinner. Ask for Manuel if you dine at the restaurant. He's terrific. Unfortunately, the accommodations resemble more of a rooming house than a hotel. There are two floors along parallel straight hallways. The walls are thin enough that you can hear people walking down the hallways on both levels. I stayed in a room on both floors and neither was very comfortable by an American standard, but they were good enough for my purposes. It seemed that the lower level rooms were nicer, more spacious with a better bathroom. The battleship gray paint job in the rooms was depressing and there is no view to speak of out of the windows. There is no air conditioning, but at night it really cools off so you don't need. The rooms do have ceiling fans as well as tv's with cable. The showers are lukewarm, which was rather disappointing. The beds are not very comfortable. There is one computer with internet access by the registration desk for guests to use for free; however, it is often being used. Best to try later at night. If you are not concerned about fancy amenities, it is an economical choice for San Jose, although certainly not the romantic spot that their website suggests. The desk staff told me that few American stay there, and I can see why. Many Americans are used to a certain standard in hotels, so if that is you, you will not be happy here. If you only have a few days in San Jose and want to stay on the cheap side, this hotel is good enough.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank Tinsworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed in Hotel Vesuvio for our first day in San Jose and had an awful time there. First, we had arranged for an airport pickup, but had to wait about an hour and a half before he showed up, and that was only after we called the hotel several times to find out what was going on. You should be aware the driver was not a hotel shuttle, but basically just a cabbie the hotel hired to come get us.

Then our room wasn't ready when we arrived. This wouldn't have been so terrible, but the front desk guy told us it would be ready in an hour, so we grabbed some lunch first, but then it still wasn't ready when we returned. Then after waiting nearly another hour longer, we were given a room, only to walk in and find out that it STILL wasn't ready (beds were sheetless, no towels, etc).

Finally, the walls were paper thin and we could hear quite loudly the construction going on in one of the bathrooms downstairs, which is miserable when you're trying to get some sleep after a long flight.

So anyway, even though the front desk guy was extremely nice and seemed to be genuinely sorry about everything that was going wrong, I woudn't recommend this hotel. There are plenty of better places around. For example, Hotel Don Carlos was much fancier and more comfortable, and was only $10 more per night. Take a pass on Vesuvio, they don't have their act together.

Stayed: April 2007
6  Thank SalamanderJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Vesuvio for the first three nights when we arrived in Costa Rica. It is clean, but the rooms are small. There is no AC so windows must be left open. It was noisey late into the night and early in the morning. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was meager, but was fairly good. I would not recommend this hotel for more than one nights stay. Good for the night of arrival or the night of departure.

Stayed: October 2005
5  Thank newjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vesuviocr, Director General at Vesuvio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aaron1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaps Place
Hotel Kaps Place
#26 of 78 in San Jose
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#16 of 78 in San Jose
423 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes
Hotel Arrecifes
#62 of 78 in San Jose
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Apartotel  La Perla
Apartotel La Perla
#43 of 78 in San Jose
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#40 of 78 in San Jose
162 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
#33 of 78 in San Jose
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vesuvio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vesuvio Hotel

Address: Avenida 11, Calle 13-15 | Barrio Otoya, San Jose 10106, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: $49 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vesuvio Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vesuvio Hotel is located in the historical downtown, walking distance from the most important attractions of San Jose city, such as The National Theater, The Cultural Plaza, The National Library, Museums, Shops, Restaurants, Banks, Nightlife and beautiful exotic parks. The hotel is located in Barrio Otoya, one of the oldest districts in the area and is away from the noise and traffic of downtown, yet close enough to be able to walk the central business district within a few minutes. The management makes it a priority to give their guests the fullest attention to every detail. Personalized service is the key to this owner management hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vesuvio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vesuvio Hotel San Jose
Vesuvio Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing