We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$92
Fully refundable before Thu, Apr 25
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
$67
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$56
Fully refundable before Wed, Apr 24
Breakfast included
No booking fees
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Christina Lynch
Tallahassee, Florida
Charming, Affordable Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 15, 2019via mobile
This hotel has a bed and breakfast feel. It is locally owned, and the hotel was once a home built over a decade ago. It is conveniently located downtown to walk to all of the museums and restaurants. The rooms are cozy and clean. Your stay comes with a made to order breakfast. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We only stayed for one night, but was very pleased with tithe service provided.
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$171
$152
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $152
  • Hotels.com
    $152
  • Algotels
    $171
0.2 miles from Santo Tomas Hotel & Wellness Center
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$160
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $160
  • ZenHotels.com
    $145
  • Hotels.com
    $160
0.3 miles from Santo Tomas Hotel & Wellness Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$192
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $192
  • Agoda.com
    $175
  • Expedia.com
    $192
1.2 miles from Santo Tomas Hotel & Wellness Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$93
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $93
  • ZenHotels.com
    $67
  • Hotels.com
    $93
0.1 miles from Santo Tomas Hotel & Wellness Center
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$118
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Choice Hotels
    $139
  • StayForLong
    $104
  • Expedia.com
    $118
1.1 miles from Santo Tomas Hotel & Wellness Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$136
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $136
  • Barcelo.com
    $122
  • travelup.com
    $131
2.0 miles from Santo Tomas Hotel & Wellness Center
Free parking
Pool
Exterior
Choice Hotels
$138
Fully refundable
Save with Choice Privileges
  • Booking.com
    $138
  • Algotels
    $79
  • Hotels.com
    $138
0.4 miles from Santo Tomas Hotel & Wellness Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$98
$93
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $98
  • Hotels.com
    $98
  • Vio.com
2.3 miles from Santo Tomas Hotel & Wellness Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$134
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $134
  • Hotels.com
    $134
  • Tripadvisor
    $134
2.4 miles from Santo Tomas Hotel & Wellness Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $50
  • Hotels.com
    $50
  • Priceline
    $50
0.7 miles from Santo Tomas Hotel & Wellness Center
Free Wifi
View more hotels in San Jose
Reviews (1,214)
Filter reviews
1,214 results
Traveler rating
665
398
111
25
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
665
398
111
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica hot tub old house ceiling fan few blocks charming hotel heart of san jose rental car secure parking national theatre downtown area rice and beans thomas santa tours country oasis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 1,214 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2019

Lovely hotel in a good location. You can walk to many restaurants, shops and museums. Each room is different, some are big, some are small but the hotel is unique and comfortable. The pool and hot tub are a plus. Breakfast is poolside, cooked to order and quite good. Stayed there twice, so far!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AdvisorHST, General Manager at Santo Tomas Hotel & Wellness Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Hi Lisa ! We do offer five different room types to fit your budget and requirements. Lovely you have already stayed twice with us. Many of our clients use us for their home base while here. Normally they arrive, stay several days to relax, recharge and gather some up to date travel information and allow us to assist .
It's our pleasure to have had you and looking forward to your return.
Thank you so much for the highest score available!
Thomas. Heidy and All of our Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2019

We could not find this hotel at night even with GPS, the small sign on the awning can be easy to miss. They have their own parking, so we did not use the car for 2 days, as we did not know if the places we wanted to go to had parking. We were advised by staff to just walk, which is ok for the Teatro Nacional and the Jade museum, but Escalante is a good 30 min walk. The room size is just ok, and the atmosphere feels like an old mansion. The wifi is not too strong. Breakfast is limited and starts at 7:00, we wished it were earlier, as leaving San Jose to go north put us in 30 min of bad traffic.

Date of stay: February 2019
1  Thank Sport5639
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AdvisorHST, General Manager at Santo Tomas Hotel & Wellness Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2019

Hi Sport, there is a really large sign on top of the restaurant in front of the parking lot. Next time, just need to look up to see it, sorry. We gave you free parking and Urber is a great option here. We strongly advise that you Urber in from the hotel and then allow us to assist you with your rental car and to have it delivered the morning you wish to travel to the hotels parking lot. This saves, time, stress and money and the agency we use provides our client with the use of a Great Free GPS. Delivery and pickup here is free also .
Cheers
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2019

I booked online based on location and price. The hotel is within a short walk of central attractions in San Jose. The staff accommodated my daughter, who unexpectedly needed to stay a night with me, including 4 a.m. departure for her changed flight. Having someone at the desk 24/7 was helpful. The breakfast is good though smaller fruit portions than the amount I had come to appreciate in other parts of Costa Rica. We took an Uber to Escalante for one dinner, and I walked 4 blocks downhill to an Italian place for another. I'm told one of the best restaurants in Costa Rica is also nearby but I didn't try it.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AdvisorHST, General Manager at Santo Tomas Hotel & Wellness Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2019

Hi Melissa, wonderful that we were able to assist your daughter. Our bilingual staff fully trained to assist 24/7 and we have been now in operation for over 29 years!
Original home built in 1908 and and you pegged it, location and price, with thousands of fine reviews!
Very nice review, thank you
Thomas. Heidy and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2019

I was not sure what to expect after I booked this hotel. I have been to Costa Rica many time, but usually stay at some chain nearer to the airport. I am glad I selected this property. The resurrected 1908 building is lovingly cared for. The staff and owner are pleasant and extremely helpful. Downtown San Jose is a short Uber ride or walk away. Within minutes you can be walking along the pedestrian only shopping mall looking for the best deals. Dining choices nearby are limited, but there is a Vietnamese restaurant nearby that serves a natural cuisine that is spectacular. The hotel offers a free breakfast cooked fresh. There are 3 options and each of them is delicious. I would recommend a room with a balcony as it offers a place to sit on a temperate summer day overlooking the pool.

Date of stay: February 2019
2  Thank diverdave73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AdvisorHST, General Manager at Santo Tomas Hotel & Wellness Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2019

Hola DiverDave, Great you gave us a chance, next time we can recommend lots of restaurant for you with in an easy walk. This is a nice review and I am sure potential travelers will find it informative and useful. Thank you so much for the highest rating .
Thomas. Heidy and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2019 via mobile

My sisters and I just returned from San José. This hotel is in a good location with easy walking distance to plazas, museums, shopping and restaurants. The staff is super friendly and the hotel is spotless. The free breakfasts are also great with eggs, delicious fresh fruits, coffee, juices, freshly made breads and some of the most delicious jams I have ever eaten. The owners wife, Heidi, makes them all. My favorites were the pineapple and the mango jams. The men at the front desk were very helpful with recommendations. And the owner will do anything for you. You can’t go wrong by staying here.
3 Sisters

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank wvJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AdvisorHST, General Manager at Santo Tomas Hotel & Wellness Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2019

Hi Joanne, love having those three sisters stay with us ! Many families do just that, enjoying the nice pool areas during the Free Hot Cooked Breakfast and then chilling out in the Jacuzzi. Thank you so much for such a nice review and the highest score we could receive.
All our best
Happy Trails
Thomas, Heidy and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews