We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Santo Tomas
Nearby Hotels
$112
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adventure Inn(San Jose)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
$87
$73
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,027)
Filter reviews
1,027 results
Traveler rating
540
352
98
23
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
540
352
98
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricahot tubbalcony roomtile floorssmall poolhotel ownerwithin easy walking distancean oasisceiling fanfew blocksold mansioncentral marketheart of san josefelt safehome basesecure parkingbreakfast included
Filter
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 1,027 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed 7 nights in Hotel Santo Tomas on our visit to Costa Rica.
Although Hotel Santo Tomas is not located in the most scenic part of San Jose, we felt safe walking around the area.
The location is in walking distance to San Jose City center.

Our upstair room was specious and clean with a TV, sitting area and a "safe" which was a night stand with a lock. The bathroom was nice with a very good shower with plenty of hot water; there is also a hair dryer and soap but no shampoo etc.

There are several very nice sitting areas, a small pool and Jacuzzi. The hotel is much nicer inside as you might think from looking at the ourside.

The hotel restaurant is in our opinion the only place which needs improvement including breakfast, we also found the choice of restaurants around Santo Tomas (not counting fast food) very limited and most close early around 8 - 8.30 pm. A mini refrigerator in the room would have been perfect!!

The front desk staff was very nice and helpful, we booked several tours through Santo Tomas and all were very good with timely pick up from the hotel.

Compared with other capitols, San Jose is not a pretty city, it lacks character but the people are very friendly. Costa Rica however is beautiful and there is much to see and explore.

ATM's are at the airport near the bagage claim, so is money exchange. A taxi from the airport to hotel Santo Tomas will cost $28-30 and can be paid in US Dollars, use the orange airport taxis.

Don't forget to pay the airport tax when you depart, $29 per person.
We also used "Costa Rican Trails" as our tour company, they were very proffesional and on time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyingdutchmanblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Hola Flyingdutchmanblue, Thank you for the very nice review, We were happy to have assisted you and family with some of your tour planning while here in Costa Rica. Many visitors stay in the hotel for several nights and do just what you did , taking some of the many day tours we offer. Pickup and drop off is right at the hotels front door, very convenient. The companies we work with all do a very good job. Again Thank You , Warmest Regards Thoma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed here from 4/24/14 to 4/29/14 I had a great time the owner Thomas is very nice and helpful he lend me his personal cell phone so I can make a long distance phone call. Miguel was helpful and nice he told me about the city. Ricardo, Jose Mauricio and Eliomar were good people to talk to. The maid kept my room clean everyday with new towels and sheets. The bartender was friendly he wasn't loud when I was there I am going back probably in October

Room Tip: room 32 is a good balcony view room
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 625emmanuelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Hola Emmanuel, Great meeting you and I really enjoyed our conversation about Boston, your home town! I will make sure my staff sees you comments, it's always nice when they are remembered by name. Looking forward to seeing you in Oct. Thank You so much for the excellent review, Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here one night at the end of our week long trip to La Fortuna so we would be much closer to the airport.
So yes, this place is difficult to find. There is a clearly marked sign but if you have your own car you will drive past the parking entrance gate and will have to loop around. It is always shut so you have to block traffic and wait for them to open it.
The hotel is super charming and the front desk is very helpful and very nice.
There is no air conditioning but the nights are nice and cool so all you really need is the sliding door open....and ear plugs.
Beware of a pool side room! The other guests during our stay were very loud and very obnoxious. Jumping in and out of the pool, yelling, laughing, and carrying on. Then I looked later and it was the BARTENDER trying to pick up two young women. He was the one being loud! We couldn't shut the slider because it would be too hot.
I literally needed to put in ear plugs to fall asleep.
The architecture is very beautiful and is kept very clean. The locked gates for both the hotel and parking is very assuring. I just wish I could've gotten sleep before our long trip home back to the states.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank nhanson521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Hi nhanson, Thank you for your review. We have clear instructions on our reservations from about the parking and how it works, sorry you missed it. Great to know you found the property super charming, very clean and the front desk staff helpful and nice, very important qualities. The pool and restaurant area closes at 10 pm, not so late, sorry there was noise and I will be speaking with my bartender today about his behavior, thank you for that input. By the way, I always travel with ear plugs, just a good item to carry when you travel! Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a lot but this time I was told I was given an upgrade and received a room far away in the corner. Traveling with my wife and baby I wonder if this was why? There was only one bed and I asked for two so we wouldn't be so crowded. This is my first bad experience. I hope it isn't the norm now.
This has always been a pleasant great place to stay.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Estoywilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Hi William, Thanks for being a regular guest, you having a baby has nothing to do with where we placed you . It sounds like you reserved the economy room and we gave you a free upgrade, something nice. As we have five different room types your best bet is to reserve the deluxe twin downstairs the next time. A few dollars more than the economy room, but hey the same thing happened to me when I had children and then again when they turned 12 and can't stay for free! Ouch , it does cost to raise children! Warmest regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were extremely happy with Hotel Santo Tomas and found it a great way to begin our time in Costa Rica. Mostly because the hotel staff and owner were so welcoming and really made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. The location is great if you're looking to be near the city center - a few blocks walk to all the downtown attractions, but on a quiet street so you can enjoy the nice courtyard with pool, hot tub, gym, and bar, and of course get a peaceful night's sleep. This isn't a Marriott - it's small, feels a little vintage, and our room did have a bit of a mildew smell (though our friend's room did not), but the place was clean and comfortable to us. The owner built the place himself using locally sourced vintage materials and it just has a great character. He takes a lot of pride in his hotel and the service. We really appreciate this kind of personal experience. We stayed at another, more expensive local hotel on our last night in San Jose before departing the country (as we had already booked the room in advance), and we wished we had returned to Santo Tomas instead.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarrieandJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Hola Carrieandjake, Wow very nice review , Thank You ! You have described the place nicely and next time we will try to place you in the new annex upstairs , great rooms and sitting areas. Again thank you for the wonderful review. Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews