We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair price for clean place.”
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Fair price for clean place.”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Very clean place. Rooms were clean and the water was hot. Gets nice and cold at night despite the lack of a/c. I ate a chx club sammich at the house restaurant. Maybe a little heavier on the papas? It was better than I expected. Met the owner on the way out very willing to accommodate travelers.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank google_Building7_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Hi Google_Building7_, Very nice review, thank you, Clean rooms and hot water pretty important to a traveler ! Safe Journey: Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    330
    91
    21
    11
See reviews for
157
392
171
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel is unique.From the outside it doesn't look like much, just a house on a San Jose street. Inside, it resembles a hotel-there is a desk and a friendly staff person sits behind it. There are also deep couches, hidden corners and a large number fo places in which to curl up and get comfortable or to just hang out-by the pool, at the bar or in your very nice, well lit, comfortable room. It's like coming to stay at your benevolent uncle's rambling house.
That uncle is Thomas, whose personal involvment in the day to day running of the hotel is apparent everwhere.He cares deeply about the comfort and well being of his guests and his staff. He does have his rules, tho, and if they are clear, everything is fine. It was not clear to us that breakfast is a set menu, so we were suprised when asking for more than two slices of thin toast turned into a potential problem. Thomas turned up very shortly and diplomatically smoothed everyone's ruffled feathers by explaining his rules. So we never got our extra toast, but he was a charming and helpful host during our three night stay and our time in San Jose was much more enjoyable because we stayed here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Hi HannaB, Very well written and cool review. Thank You , I am happy you called me uncle and not grandfather, I at least have that going for me still ! Gotta have some fun in this life and I enjoy being with the guests in the morning . Again great review thank you. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I would stay here again. The building is very unique and the location is as safe as you can expect for San Jose. There are several other hotels nearby that charge almost twice as much for the same quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi Jason, Great review, Thank You ! You pegged it on the nose, that is what I have been trying to get out to my potential new clients. You are correct we are on Avenue 7 , just before it goes steeply downhill, but away from the hustle and bustle. Only four blocks walk to central avenue! Wonderful you appreciated the free hot cooked breakfast and the uniqueness of the property, that is what makes for a fine Costa Rica travel experience! Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The hotel was very clean. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was yummy, but the same every day...scrambled eggs, toast, fruit. Would be nice to change it up a bit. The location is excellent...right downtown and walking distance to all restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kehlw00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hola KehlwOO, Very nice review, Very clean is really important! And yes the location is great for taking the many day tours we can assist with at any time. All of my staff is trained to do this 24/7, tours , rental cars, bus schedules and any thing a travelers requires at any time. We really pride ourselfs on fine service! Safe travels and thank you for the most excellent review. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel two nights in mid April. The location was very good and the reception area, garden and common areas are very nice. We stayed in one of the cheapest rooms and although very clean, we thought it very dark, and the bathroom smelled a little. The pool area was beautiful but the pool itself- way to cold and the jacuzzi to hot. The breakfast was a bit tiny, and our baby daughter could not get milk to drink instead of juice/water/coffee. Even thought I ask to pay for it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi Maria, The pool is ambient temperature and well, geez, I have never had anyone complain about the jacuzzi being too hot. Some other client may have messed with the temperature adjustment, you won't believe what some people will do. Yes it is a FREE Breakfast and nice to know you appreciated it . The room the three of you stayed in was $57.00 per night and included the three free breakfasts, fast, reliable wifi, gym, pool, jacuzzi ,ect, something other San Jose hotels don't offer. , all in all not a bad deal. Thanks for the review. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Santo Tomas five nights. It is an old hotel with a lot of character. The location is great and I could walk to almost everyting I wanted to see in San Jose. I stayed one night, than took a tour, which they recommended. I was able to leave my luggage in a secure room while I took the overnight tour. The tour picked me up and dropped me off at the hotel entrance. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. There is a nice courtyard with a small pool, which I didn't get to use. I thought the food in the restaurant was a little overpriced. I ate there twice and it was very good. Breakfast is minimal but sufficient. The street looks rundown when the shops are closed; however there was never a time when I felt unsafe, and I was there alone. The hotel has a very secure/locked front gate. The hotel is located on a heavily traveled street, so there is street noise, which didn't bother me but may bother some people. If you are looking for a new, luxurious hotel than this is probably not the place for you. If you are looking for an old hotel with a lot of character, good beds, friendly staff, great location and a great price, than I would recommend this hotel to you. I would also recommend the public bus system. It costs less than $1 and will take you to any part of the city you want to go to.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi Joy, What a truly wonderful, concise and accurate review! I hope new perspective clients really read it, as you have just stated exactly what you receive at the hotel. No need for me to say any more except a Big Thank You !! Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room, though a bit dated, was good and clean. It a bit annoying that you are constantly asked for tips with separate envelopes for reception staff and cleaners in the room, a breakfast place tip jar and signs up asking you to tip those carrying bags (though noone did carry ours). We always tip but feel that one tip jar at reception would be better. The area is a bit sketchy but otherwise quite centrally located. Breakfast overcooked and not good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Hola Natlie Z, Good inexpensive hotel, that works, we have imporved on the pinto, yes one of my new staff members was not up to speed on his eggs, I apologize for that. Thank you for the review. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
872 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 76 in San Jose
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
5.7 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 76 in San Jose
2,385 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Property: Hotel Santo Tomas
Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
#11 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 20 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing