We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel downtown San Jose”
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed there for three nights during our visit in Costa Rica. It was a very pleasant stay. The location was quite noisy mostly due to the street traffic and other guests and children having fun in the pool and lounging areas. I understand that and don't hold that against them but it is something that guests should be aware of. That becomes more of a challenge because the rooms are cooled by air blowing from outside through the open windows so any outside sounds are delivered very handily inside. The location however being close to downtown was very handy. We were a very convenient walk away from Avenida Central and the walking Boulevard. We loved the great access to downtown San Jose, great restaurants, the bank, and a grocery store, and Mercado Central. The pool and spa is beautiful. The exercise room is attractive but most of the exercise equipment is very deficient and disappointing. We bought a tour through them and had a great experience. We met the owner and enjoyed his warm and friendly style. The room was clean, very comfortable and attractive. Wifi was a consistent challenge though it did work in he lobby. There is very ample and attractive covered lobby areas for groups to gather and enjoy the unusually attractive San Jose weather. The owner has done some very attractive iron fences around all the walk and lobby areas. Breakfast was good. There is 24 hour service at the desk. The afternoon receptionist and staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bridgebuilder61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Hi WallaWalla, Thank You for taking the time to write such a nice review. I have the WiFi problem resolved and am working on the gym equipment and room. Sometimes we have children and sometimes we don't you may have just been here when we had some hypers !!!
Yes , we have full , bilingual, 24 hours front desk service , for everything from car rental to booking tours and lobby beverage sales, ect.. We assist many clients with all of their tour and travel planing. The hotel has been doing it for the past 24 years, so we have most of the kinks worked out. Wonderful review and again thank you . Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 961 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here one night, before flying home the next morning. There's a nice gym if you were to stay there longer, the pool and hot tub are clean. breakfast is simple yet good for the price of the hotel. the owner made the rounds at breakfast answering travel questions and just being generally friendly. Our room did not have air conditioning but the way the hall ways are set up there's a nice breeze if you leave your windows open. I would stay here again if I ever return to Costa Rica. Wifi worked around the property but not strong in the bedroom.

Room Tip: the safe in our room was actually a very light weight wooden dresser with a key. if i were to stay l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julien p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Hi Julien, Very nice to have you stay and to chat with in the morning over breakfast. I really appreciate it when clients enjoy the FREE breakfast. The 15 foot tall ceilings make for a nice feeling and keep everything cool. Wonderful to know you will return, thank you for the fine review! Safe travels Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel was a great place to unwind from the plane trip. Good sized rooms with high ceilings. The small pool was a nice touch. The hotel staff was very helpful. If I ever find myself in San Jose again I'll be sure to give this hotel a call.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NapaDavid_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Hi NapaDavid B, Nice Review ! Thank You ! We have many clients that start and finish their Costa Rica Adventure here with us. Lots of time clients will stay three or more days, adjusting and taking some of the many days tours we have from San Jose. Especially Europeans, that have such a time difference or travelers that the airlines have done a number on , by sending them thru three or more stops just to arrive here from the US. I find this is happing much more . Yes, the ceiling are high ( 15 feet) amazing , it keeps the place so cool. Again Thank You NappaDavid for the fine review! Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for just one day, it was a beautiful hotel. The floors, tiles, rooms, pool area, sitting room on the second floor overlooking the pool--all were wonderful. The staff were so nice, especially the gentleman at the front desk greeting us, I believe his name is Ricardo, and the gentleman in the restaurant in the evening, Adrian. I only wish we could have stayed longer. The buffet breakfast was great, with the food made fresh for you. The owner, Thomas, came around and chatted with, that was very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Hi Barb G, Love your title ( Beautiful Hotel) Nice Thank You! It's so wonderful that you mentioned some of my staff by their name. I will make sure they see your review. It's really rewarding to have clients that really see and appreciate what a good job my staff does, again thank you . Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This a duplicate review as I am consolidating two reviewer accounts.
"We stayed at Hotel Santo Tomas on Feb. 22nd, 2013. It was a great point to walk to the downtown area or relax in their pool and hot tub. Our second floor room was spacious, clean and had a very nice bath and tiled shower. The breakfast was tasty and filling with several options from which to choose. Thomas, the owner was present at breakfast and was very helpful answering questions about the area. They have a tour operations desk in their lobby to help set up day tours and travel. We didn't use their help, but wish we had as our week in other parts of the country progressed. We really enjoyed our stay. It was like an oasis in the city. We parked our car in their guarded lot next door for $11 a day. Daytime walking around town was good. It is not advisable to walk anywhere in San Jose after the crowds thin out in the evening. We recommend this hotel. If we return to San Jose we will stay there again."read less

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janaroonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Hi Janaronnie, Thank You for the wonderful review. I think your really describes in a nice, concise manner , what it is we offer here at the Hotel Santo Tomas. We have been doing it now for the past 24 years and continue to strive to make it better. For our future clients , it really is a good idea to use our knowledge base to help fine tune your travels or just do it all from scratch. Directly contact my hotel thru our email or skype and let use help. Most outstanding review , Thank You ! Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My partner and I stumbled across this hotel after a very tiring overnight flight. Despite our early arrival the owner and front desk staff were incredibly kind and accommodating!!! The room was spacious, overlooking the pool and it was a comfortable bed. Breakfast was good and in the evening we had some nice ceviche in the hotel's restaurant. The owner - Tom, was very friendly - with some great suggestions regarding tours and our itinerary. We would stay here again.
Jennifer and Trish

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Hi Trish, I have many travelers and their partners stay with us, I have been doing this for over 24 years and it's always great to meet and greet new clients. Great to know we got you off to a wonderful start here in Costa Rica . Looking forward to having you stay again! Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

If you really, really want to stay in San Jose, then this hotel isn't a bad option, with some reservations. A sign requesting tips for help with baggage greets one on the way up to the rooms, and envelopes left on the dresser for tips for both room and desk staff are not good introductions to the hotel. I understand that tipping is the norm in some countries, but San Jose was our last stop in Costa Rica and we hadn't met such blatant requests for tips until then. That said, we stayed in this wonderful old building for two nights in a room upstairs. Getting to the room was a little difficult, for the stairs were steep and dragging suitcases up was not a pushover. We had help on the way up, but no one was around to help us on the way out at 5 in the morning. The room was large with two large comfortable, double beds. There was space for storage and the water was hot. Breakfast was ordinary - a small plate of fruit, a small serve of eggs and a two pieces of toast. For $US100 a night I would have at least expected fresh milk for coffee. Some nice outdoor areas in which to relax. Of the three desk staff with whom we dealt, only one was courteous and efficient. Jocularity is no substitute for either of those attributes. We we're able to refrigerate our wine purchase in the hotel fridge until we needed it. Overall, a comfortable stay, but not a good vibe in the place, particularly not for that price.

Room Tip: There are a lot of rooms, check before you accept; there is variation in size and quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank In60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Hi In60s, Yes, I have signs requesting that you tip for baggage service. I don't know of any small three star or four start hotel in the world, that provides baggage service now, let alone free. Many times, clients think just because they are in a Latin country, they are superior and won't tip. NO ONE has to tip, if this made you feel uncomfortable, I apologize. A good travel tip is to pack your bag and then take out half. You booked your room thru Expedia, if you had used the hotels direct website you would have saved $$$. The FREE breakfast consists of a small fruit plate, two fresh made juices,toast, eggs cooked to order, gallo pinto ( Costa Rica dish) fresh made spices to liven it up, toast , jam, tea, and Fresh Brewed coffee, about an 8 dollar value across the street. With respect to the front desk staff, Costa Ricans are a pretty sensitive bunch and I have trained my staff that if they have an angry, disgruntled or grumpy client to just try to keep the conservation short. The descriptive word you used in your review was (Jocularity) which one of the dictionary definitions is ( a jocular man who could make the most serious people smile ) I have spoken to my staff and they will be more serious in the future. I apologize if his attempt at humor insulted you . As most other reviews show my staff does a a pretty good job. Thanks for the review. Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,487 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
909 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,423 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
#11 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $63 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 20 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing