We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service!”
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We came to Costa Rica for our honeymoon and stayed with Tomas and his crew for two days on the front end of our trip. We liked it so much we booked another night for our last night in Costa Rica! Very well maintained rooms and common areas and an amazing pool with hot tub. Tomas makes it a point to introduce himself to all his guests and has a great team of employees too. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor the first time and then one our last night we stayed in room 13 which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Hola, Creaume, What a wonderful place to have in your memories as your honeymoon hotel for your trip to Costa Rica. Thank You ! Yep , we have 5 different room types and prices to fit a variety of needs. We also assist with lots of day tours, car rentals and travel planning , just email mail us ahead of time and me staff is happy to make it happen. Looking forward to the future when you return with your children! I have seen it happen now that we have been open over 24 years. How cool is that ?? Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 975 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

We spent three nights here the first week of February. We stayed in a room in the second floor of the hotel; it was attractive but the outside view a bit shabby. The staff was highly responsive to all of our questions and/or requests. The owner came around from time to time and visited with customers, both in the lobby and in the restaurant -- a nice touch. The attached restaurant is okay and lunch and dinner is quite expensive, nothing to write home about. The hotel is in a decent part of town, within easy walking distance of central San Jose, museums, the theater, good restaurants. We certainly would stay here again because of the value stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor away from the road side is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suchismita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Hola Suchismita, Value Stay is good, Thank You for that ! Yes we have a very good location for walking to everything and also for the day tour pickup and drop-offs. You might have our restaurant confused, we are only open for dinner with Happy Hours from 3 to 7 pm with Adrian our bartender! We don't offer lunch. There are just too many sodas around offering cheap meals prepared with pork fat and salt to compete . That pork fat rules when it comes to taste. We don't use it in our restaurant and are very careful when adding salt to meals. Wonderful to know you would stay here again, Thank You for such a fine review . Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our 9th visit to Costa Rica, and our first stay at the HST. From the minute we met Mauricio at the front desk, the staff and owner could not do enough. The hotel itself is a historical monument, and although the neighborhood may not be inviting to the novice traveler, it met all of our expectations, the beds were very comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. I would recommend it over the 5-star properties in the suburban areas.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Olhacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Hola Olhacker ! Hey that is a great line “A hidden gem at a reasonable price” . Fantastic that you appreciated what it is we are striving to do here at the Hotel Santo Tomas. I will make sure Mauricio sees your comments . Thank You , he is also great at assisting with those last minute tour reservations at night before 10 pm. As most of the day tours leave at 6 am or a little later it's important to be on top of it ! Safe travels Olhacker and again Thank You : Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I was there this January of 2014. The street its on is dirty and not in a very safe area. You have to walk too far. I do not suggest this hotel for your vacation. There are much better there! The rooms are OK but the food is average.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Hi John, From time to time , all streets have some trash or flying debris, especially as this is the summer windy months. Maybe we had an off day. For first time travelers and non Spanish speaking travelers , Latin American can be different, that's what's called a cultural experience! We are located four blocks from central avenue, not even 400 yards, not very far. I don't know where you were walking to. If clients have a physical handicap because of a medical condition and or, are over weight , then by all means select a hotel very close to what you are interested in and especially one located no further north of Avenue 7, as the street steeply goes downhill.
Safe Travels
Sorry you did not enjoy your visit. Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel is the best place to stay in San Jose. Period. The rooms are quiet and you sleep like you are staying in the country--- important when you are downtown. The pool and spa are beautiful, like being at the beach. The mansion feels like you are a retired millionaire, which you are living like when you stay with Thomas--- the American owner is there to advise you on where to travel, and how and where the local bargains are!

It is reasonable and the free breakfast is great. The bar/ restaurant is hard to best.

Room Tip: They are all good and I have tried most of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickeyDesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

HI Mickey, Always a pleasure to have you stay and it is never boring in the hotel , when you are around. You are one of the many wonderful repeat clients the hotel has had for the past 24 years. My staff loves to see everyone come back and I urge them to interact with our clients, which helps to create that at home feel. Fantastic review and looking forward to your next visit and great stories you share. Thank You ! Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We spent four nights here the last week of January. We stayed in a room in the old part of the hotel; it was attractive, if just a teensy bit shabby. The staff was highly responsive to all of our questions and/or requests. The owner, a former Alaska fisherman, came around from time to time and visited with customers, both in the lobby and in the restaurant -- a nice touch. The attached restaurant is okay, nothing to write home about. The hotel is in a decent part of town, within easy walking distance of central San Jose, museums, the theater, good restaurants. We certainly would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTnative46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Hi MTnative46, Wonderful having you both stay . I am in the process of updating some rooms and other areas of the hotel. I appreciate your comments and we will continue to strive to improve. You are correct our location is very good for enjoying the town, taking day tours and a great spot to start and finish off your vacation. We have many clients that taxi or public in from the airport ( Less Stress & Cost ) and have their rental car delivered the next morning here in the hotel parking lot and off they go, after the Free Hot Cooked Breakfast. My staff can assist with this as well as the day tours. Outstanding to know you would ( Certainly stay again ) .Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in 2 different rooms.

Pros:
-Good price.
-Location is good once you walk 2 blocks away.
-Great hospitality from owner.

Cons:
-Second room shower curtain had a bunch of black mold and dirt on it (liner and outside). How much would that cost to change? (see pic)
-WiFi is spotty.
-Safe didn't lock properly and wasn't very secure if you have lots of valuables.
-Hospitality was just average until we met the owner.

Pro tip:
-negotiate cab rides to/from airport yourself. $20-$25 easy and safe- no meter. Hotel charges $30.
-find the supermarket a few blocks away and load up on bavaria, imperial, and snacks.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveny914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Hi Steve, thanks for you review. A dirty shower curtain is unacceptable, I apologize for that and I will be on top of that this morning ASAP. The hotel has 4 different routers that all use the same password , so if you logged on to one and then moved to a different distant location, you may have had a weak signal. Always log on to the strongest signal. The property is big, that is why I have so many routers, most hotels don't do this. I will have the room lock boxes checked to make sure they are all working well. You listed good price to value , so hey that is something !! Safe Travels Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 78 in San Jose
1,525 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
925 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#5 Family Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#11 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $63 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 20 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing