We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OVER NIGHT STAY IN SAN JOSE”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OVER NIGHT STAY IN SAN JOSE”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Convenient location close to downtown but not so nice for walking at night. Would not recommend for families with small children.. Pool was dirty. Small breakfast compared to other hotels we stayed at. Beds were comfortable. Did not like all the steps . Staff pleasant, Only recommendation for restaurants was their own at the hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms in the anex were very nice but the 24 steps up metal stairs not so nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joycear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Hi Joycear, Thanks for the review, yes we have a great location for seeing all the sights and all day tours pick up and drop off right here at the hotels front door. Yes, as in most big cities you have to be attentive while walking at night. I have stayed in many hotels in the US and others parts of the world where I had to use common sense during my stay. I do apologize for the pool being cloudy, we had worked two days on the filtration system changing the sand and it caused the pool to become cloudy. It is now sparkling clear, just like the jacuzzi. Many families with children do stay here and enjoy the facilities , especially the water slide. The breakfast you had is FREE and is an 8 dollar value across the street. I don't advertise it as a buffet. With economy rooms at $52.00 including the FREE Hot Cooked Breakfast, ( you won't get that at a Marriott), which consists of two fresh made juices, small fresh fruit plate, toast, jam, eggs cooked to order, gallo pinto( local dish, cultural experience we offer) with spices to liven it up and fresh brewed Costa Rica coffee. This is a typical Costa Rican breakfast and many clients appreciate that it is free. There are two stories in the hotel and yes there are stairs. I have never counted them , so thank you for that number. If a client has a physical problem or just to over weight to climb the stairs , we will happily change their room reserved if possible. Again Thank You for the Review Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    324
    89
    21
    11
See reviews for
156
389
166
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Hotel Santo Tomas is a great hotel in central San Jose with an ideal location. Large, comfortable rooms are a pleasant surprise. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. Fast, reliable wifi is available throughout the hotel. We were able to store our luggage while on a tour with no difficulty. Reliable taxi service was arranged for us at the front desk. The sitting areas are great for enjoying a drink or a snack. Although the breakfast was minimal and plain, it was available at an appropriate time and was prepared quickly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCL5021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Hola DCL5021, Great review , thanks for that . We have five different room types to fit a broad range of clients , I am happy you found your large and comfortable. there is free luggage storage , while you go off to Tortuguerro and other parts of the country. Also fast, RELIABLE WI-Fi is really important and there are five different routers in the hotel to log on to so that no matter where you are in the property you have a strong, fast signal. Again Thank you so much for the outstanding review . Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed here on the first night and the last two nights of our two week vacation. It was our first time to costa rica so aren't too sure what to expect. We really enjoyed our experience at the hotel and city.

Check in was quick and easy. Price was as quoted on the internet based on currency exchange rate which was an excellent price when comparing amenities, location and reviews. They helped us to the room with our bags and answered any questions we had. We decided to stay in a balcony room and agree with all the comments about the size, quality of furnishings, comfort of the bed, shower (need new shower heads), cleanliness and central location. We've traveled around to a few central america countries and thought the neighborhood safe, had cool architectural buildings, amazing parks and didn't have any concerns....of course you always want to be aware of your surroundings regardless of what country you are in. We walked around on the pedestrian strip mall at night and went out looking for a place to eat for dinner two of the nights we where there.

We ate at the bar/lounge and had drinks which we enjoyed. We didn't get a chance to eat breakfast since we left early for a location, tour and then flight. My wife did bump into the owner briefly one morning and said he seemed nice. Wished we could have officially met him in person since everyone there was great and several others said he was helpful.

A couple of things stood out at Santo Tomas. One was the emails we received from them. Prior to arriving, they sent tips about getting a licensed taxi or taking the bus from the airport and the typical cost. When we checked out we got another email thanking us for our business and asked if we had any issues or problems to let them know. Which we found very classy and a nice touch. The other item was the "HOT" tub. Most of the hot tubs in costa rica are cold. We did a lot of activities and soaking our muscles each night sure felt good at the end of the night;) After, three class 4 white water trips, two zipline courses, two atv tours, ultra-light flying, rainforest hike, four volcanoes, six national parks and countless towns it sure was divine.

I highly recommend staying in a balcony room anytime you're in San Jose. We'll for sure be back to check out the museums since we didn't get a chance this trip with them closing early at 5pm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcclain072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hola Senor McClain072, What a wonderful review and I personally than you for taking your time and energy to present something so informative and well written. This has already been a great help to other clients , just by seeing the votes received as helpful in such a short time period. Great also you took the time to read the tips and suggestions we send when someone books on the hotels website directly , as you stated you also get the BEST PRICE ! Many clients stay 4 or more nights to enjoy the day tours we arrange and also to just sit in that HOT tub and relax, recharge and refresh with a cold drink by the pool area. In reference to the shower heads, we have a bi weekly inspection on those that I have now to changed to weekly, gotta keep those energy efficient heads in order. Thank you for that comment. In closing again I Thank You for your kind words and comments. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Hotel Santo Tomas was a lovely, quiet hotel in San Jose - it was actually quite empty in the low tourist season. Spacious clean rooms and great outdoor seating areas for hanging out with your friends in the evenings. The front desk staff and bartender were always very nice and helpful - giving us recommendations for tours and restaurants around town. Breakfast was made-to-order eggs, delicious pinto gallo and fresh cut fruit.

Only downside is that driving in downtown San Jose is a pain! Just take taxis and tours that will pick you up from the hotel to avoid a lot of headaches!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laureno650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Lauren O, Outstanding review, Thank You! Yes we highly recommend that everyone either taxi or bus in to San Jose and let us assist them with a car rental for the next morning , delivered right here to the hotel after their free breakfast and off they go or we assist them with the many day tours that are available. Love meeting and chatting with the guests in the morning over coffee. Safe Travels Thoma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

$35 cab from airport. Accommodated a very early 7:30 am check in. Attentive front desk. Met Thomas the owner who was very helpful suggesting food stops, things to do and currency. Room is large, clean and comfortable. Wifi works great. Excellent covered and raised patio, perfect for relaxing after wandering Central Ave. Lots of cozy seating on property. Restaurant attached has really good food and casually professional service. Excellent location and close to museums, bakeries and the myriad of things to do downtown. Stay here! It's awesome and very reasonably priced.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi TommyP. Very nicely written, short, concise and a very informative review. Thank You ! Free, reliable fast Wi-Fi is something that is really important to guests and in the hotel I have installed 5 different routers for the guests use , so no matter where you are on the property there is great high speed ! Love your statement ( Stay here! It's awesome and very reasonably priced ) doesn't get any better than that, again a sincere than you .Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My sister and I spent two days at Hotel Santo Tomas, and we really enjoyed the hotel and felt that the staff provided excellent service. Two individuals in particular being Adrian Alexander (the cook), and Ricardo. They both took time to chat with us after our dinner where we had the opportunity to swap food recipes, culture, and learn about each others lives. My favorite part of traveling is the opportunity to meet and interact with different people, and Ricardo and Adrian Alexander definetely contributed much to our trip and our perspective on Costa Rican life.

The owner was very nice. The hotel was beautiful, and exquisitely designed. I would recommend this hotel to anybody without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhagerty11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hola Mhagerty, Most outstanding comments about the staff: Thank You , they both have seen what you wrote and send a Big Hearty Smile! I There are lots of terraces, gardens and niche spaces designed in to the property for clients to do exactly what you said. Lots of great information gets traded and travel tips are spread around. We also assist many clients with their tour and rental car needs. Great Review - Than You from Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townshend, Vermont
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This review may seem a bit odd, as I didn't actually get to stay there. As it turned out it was a bit too far away from my dentist and that is what I'm in CR for. However, the hotel is really nice and you can tell it's the owners heart and soul. Which brings me to my next point. Thomas the owner is a good guy. He held me a room for a two week stay and when I arrived and realized how far from my dentist the hotel was, he graciously cancelled the reservation for me with no charge. If I come back for just vacation, I will def go back and stay. Enough said.

Room Tip: I would go for a balcony room overlooking the beautiful pool/courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimNDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi Tim, Thanks so much for the kind words, I fully understood your situation and was glad to help. Sometimes we can make exceptions to policy and this was one of them. We have many clients use the hotel for dental work for extended periods of time and we usually assist them in booking tours and taking short trips in their between time with the dentist. I am sure your new dental procedure will be fantastic , I have seen many many clients leave with a big new radiant smile ! Again thank you so much for the kind words and looking forward to seeing you again! Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
1,375 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
844 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 85 in San Jose
279 reviews
2.0 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#15 of 85 in San Jose
1,206 reviews
3.6 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#11 of 85 in San Jose
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Property: Hotel Santo Tomas
Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
#11 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 20 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing