We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely haven in the capital”
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Attentive, well-informed and helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms, great food and fun pool; what else could you ask for? Great for English-speaking travelers looking for a place to stay in the city, or a jumping-off point for tours around the country. Close to the central market, zoo, children's museum. The street it is on looks sketchy, but it perfectly fine. We traveled with our six-year-old daughter and never felt nervous.

Room Tip: Try a room off of the main second-floor lounge; it can get noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericelshtain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hi Eric, wonderful having you and your family here and I am happy everyone enjoyed the pool, jacuzzi and other areas we offer. Avenue 7 does look sketchy at first to persons not used to Latin American , but as you said it is fine. Great review thank you so much! Thomas Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (956)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santo Tomas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 957 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed here twice during my trip, once in a larger room with my daughter and once in a smaller room alone. Both rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The location is good--central and close to sights. I would definitely stay there again. The Colombian restaurant across the street is a plus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NW106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Howdy N W , Thanks for staying twice , that's a good sign. Next time I hope you will give my restaurant a try , The Oasis, located by the pool. We serve healthy , nice sized portions at a fair price. Low in salt and nothing fried unless you order it. We also prepare special plates for our clients having dental work done. That is not what sodas serve most of the time. They use pork lard and lots of salt , taste great. but bad for the ticker. You also missed our happy hours with Carlos in the restaurant, next time maybe. Cheers Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed two nights in Santo Tomas hotel. I enjoyed the beautiful historical building with the nice tiles, furniture, antique aspect. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The hotel is making a good use of its space .The staff is friendly. I had dinner once and the food was good. (The restaurant is unfortunately closed on Mondays ). The location enables to walk easily to the various museums, shopping streets,...However, walking at night is not recommended around the hotel.
I was able to leave my backpack for several days at the hotel while traveling to another region of Costa Rica. I appreciated very much that service.
Good experience overall.

Room Tip: Ask for the Handicapped room: it is more spacious than the others.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klaire2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hi Anne, Lovely review you have written , Thank You so much for it. Your descriptions are spot on and I am glad you found a place to unwind and relax at the start of your trip. We offer free secure, baggage storage for our guests and many use the service. There are many different types of rooms to fit many budgets , I suggest don't be cheap and do like you and go for a nice room, it's only a few bucks more and worth it ! I hope you can come again please: Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I was there July 23/13. It was clean, safe and in a good location. However, the WiFi doesn't work in all areas, which is frustrating. I noticed right away that it kept struggling to connect in my room and couldn't stay connected for more than a few seconds when it did connect. I went to reception and was told that WiFi has had issues there for a while. I managed to get it to work near the pool (as per reception's advice) but as I informed him...I needed privacy. Anyways, that and a bit of a smaller breakfast portion made for an 'ok' review vs. a good review.
The owner came by the next day and I informed him of this concern, and he said he wasn't aware of it but that he'd look into it.
If you're not in need of guaranteed WiFi in your room or a completely filling breakfast, then no worries.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hi H B, The Wi-Fi was troublesome for three days. I apologize you were there at that time. After you told me about it, I set right away to find the problem and it took me that long to solve the issue. I have four different routers in the property and a 10 mega speed. One of my routers was not entirely bad , so it was difficult to pin point . It has been changed and everything is back up to speed. Everyone else did just fine with the other three access points. The Free hot cooked breakfast is not advertised as a buffet. It consist of fresh coffee, tea, two fresh made juices, toast, jam, eggs cooked to order , gallo pinto ( local Costa Rican dish ) a small fruit plate along with sauces and spices to season. NOT TOO BAD FOR FREE !! Toss in a room for $52.00 and it's a great deal. Thanks a lot for the review. Tomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I booked this Hotel due to good reviews. I was very pleased with this choice. There was a misunderstanding on the reservation for the first night but they were able to accomodate us for one night. We left to tour the country and came back to depart from San Jose. The second time the room was downstairs, room #1, which was too noisy, our first room was upstairs and it was wonderful!! The staff is welcoming and very nice. I must say that Thomas the owner has this place running like a Hotel should be run, everything is so welcoming and very clean; the ambience is like being in grandmom's home, relaxing and peaceful. One nice note is that the owner, Thomas, greeds hs guest in the morning and afternoon, which is very refreshing. This Hotel won my heart.

Room Tip: Email Hotel after online reservation. Make sure you choose the right type of accomodations. This Hot...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoustonBuyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Shout out to Houston ! Won your heart, nice that makes it all worth while. Who doesn't like grandma's home. Your review is fantastic and I genuinely thank you . We'll just keep on trying to make it happen. Please come back to visit again. Safe Travels Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My friend and I were really impressed, we were made to feel really welcome by Mauricio on the front desk as soon we walked in and he then helped us over the 2 days we stayed there, with a tour booking and with general information. The hotel is in a good, central location, minutes walk from the city centre but it's very safe as the building has security gates and is a peaceful little haven amongst the hustle of SJ.
Our room had 2 huge queen beds, lots of space and a big bathroom with large walk in shower. Its was excellent value for money and located on the first floor. The little garden and the breakfast/restaurant area was a great place to get fresh air whilst eating the delicious breakfast. All of the staff were friendly and the place was spotless.
You would be very happy staying here compared to a corporate, chain hotel with no personal touches.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hi Louise, Very nice review and I am happy we could help you relax and recharge at the start of your trip. Clean is something many clients mention. Lots of guests, especially Europeans stay three days or more at the beginning , just to adjust, take a day tour or two and use our information services for planning and arranging travels for the rest of their trip. All of the info overload on the Internet can be over whelming and a person may only need a little bit of guidance to make a big different in their travel experience, something we love to help do, just ask. Your description is outstanding and very pleasant. Thank You very much for the kind words. Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had to make a fast hotel reservation on a Saturday night for a Sunday night stay. We had no knowledge of the area. But, what luck we had to choose Hotel Santo Tomas.
The decor was welcoming. And everything from floor to ceiling was spic and span. We still have no idea how they keep the ceilings so white.
The staff was attentive and helpful. The drinks and food were excellent.
This is a fine oasis in the middle of an interesting part of San Jose.
I would have no reservations recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hola Mike, Love your title, speaks volumes about the hotel . Thank You ! Spic and span, I got the genie in the bottle hidden in a closed and he comes out at night to clean. I will be extra sure my cleaning staff sees your comments. Fantastic we could please you , please come again. Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,470 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
900 reviews
2.0 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 77 in San Jose
1,012 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
#11 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $63 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 20 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing