We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2013”
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Vallejo, California
1 review
“July 2013”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We pretty much love everything about this hotel. The old world charm, location, friendliness / helpfulness of staff, food...You do need to remember, however, that it is located in the heart of a city with all the positives and negatives that go with that. If I were to nitpick, I would like to see the shower heads upgraded, and depending on when you stay, AC might be a nice addition (although we've stayed in June, July, and October and never needed AC).

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms with balconies are wonderful and airy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Byland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hola Bob, Thanks so much for the great comments. Yes, San Jose is a vibrant , bustling city and the hotel offers a nice refuge from that just by walking in the door, this is what many of the other reviews have stated. So you can have it both ways ! The shower-heads are energy efficient, as we are trying to stay as green as possible, but I will have my maintenance crew recheck all of them to make sure everything is operating properly. As the hotel has 15 foot high ceiling and the temperature is so mild here in San Jose ( 4100 foot elevation) AC is not required and it's much healthier as well. You mentioned location, we have a great central spot here, easy walk to all downtown attractions and perfect place for tour pickups and drop offs, right at the front door. We can assist with all car rental arrangements and tours. Again Thank you so much for the great review. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    330
    91
    21
    11
See reviews for
157
392
171
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a great hotel, wonderful staff, very clean, good food, and very quiet, even though it's in the middle of town. Being in the middle of town has great sightseeing advantages. The owner has a wealth of information on the area, and will see to any needs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi Marianne, Thank you very much for the most outstanding review! Our pleasure to have you and family stay and enjoy all of the facilities we offer, especially Happy Hours with Carlos by the pool. Lots of families stay and really enjoy the nice hot jacuzzi, pool and water slide! Everyone is trained 24/7 in assisting with purchasing day tours , car rentals and just any general info required. Again Thank You Safe Travels Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the place for just a night but loved it. The stay was at a reasonable rate for the quality of the room that one gets. Location is superb; one can just walk for 10 minutes and go to Teatro Nacional, the bustling mercado central and a whole bunch of restaurants.. The owner Thomas was a really nice man who went out of his way to provide assistance and the person on the front desk Ricardo is an outstanding gentleman.. In short, a much recommended place for stay in San Jose... Mind you, parking is $10 extra and might be a bit tricky to get through so try calling them in advance if you end up in a rental car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kunaldenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hola Kunaldenver, Great review - Thank You very much. I will make sure Ricardo sees your words of praise. As you stated we have reasonable rates for quality and service rendered. A combination I think most travelers are looking for now-days. There are lots of day tours listed on our web site that we can help with as well. We recommend that clients take a taxi from the airport and let us help them with a rental car that will be delivered here the next morning and off they go after a nice breakfast. Why have the stress and pay an extra day for the car when it is not necessary. You may also return it here or at the airport free of charge and make it easy on yourself. Just contact Ricardo or Miguel here in the hotel for assistance. Safe Travels Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great spot! Affordable rooms. Nice and helpful front desk, clean and cute rooms that were comfortable. The hot tub and slide down to the pool was memorable and relaxing/refreshing! Breakfast the next morning was simple but tasty and the courtyard/restaurant/outdoor area was nice to eat in/socialize with others. Short walk to the pedestrian mall where there were lots of restaurants/shops/etc. We only stayed one night but if we ever find ourselves in San Juan, Costa Rica again, we'll come back!Aff

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sillylilybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi San Francisco Sillylilybug, Wonderful , short , concise and excellent review - Thank You ! We are the only San Jose hotel in our category that offers all of these items, such as the pool, jacuzzi, waterslide, Free Hot cooked breakfast and Wi-Fi to mention a few. Happy hours with Carols, sipping a tall cool drink in the Jacuzzi is nice as well! Lots of families and couples use us for their Costa Rica travel base. We can assist with day tours and car rentals as well. Again thank you for the kind words. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Looks un-preposessing from the outside, but behind the gate is a lovely old house converted into a hotel. We stayed for two nights (one at the beginning and one at the end of our trip to Costa Rica) and our room was up-graded on the first night after problems with our online reservation - very helpful staff! The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and there are a range of communal balconies and seating areas where you can curl up with a book on a rainy afternoon. The hotel is an easy walk into the city centre, but I'm not sure how much I'd be happy to walk around the area after dark. We were also able to walk the the Caribe Bus Station. The hotel does have a restaurant - good solid fare but not very exciting. Breakfast was again simple but satisfying.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyBurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi Amy, Comfortable haven in San Jose, that's very nice, I have never had it described that way before - Thank You ! I think most guests would be very happy with what you have written. We have 5 different room types to fit different budgets and configurations. It is a short 4 block walk to central avenue and all attractions. There are lots of clients that take day tours out of the hotel as well. We will gladly assist them in what eve their needs are . Bus and train stations are close, free baggage storage is available and we are just here to make your Costa Rica vacation as nice as possible! Again thank you. Safe Journeys Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed two nights and enjoyed the European-style feel of this hotel. Our room was small, but very comfortable. The pool and hot tub outside looked meticulously cared for, although, we didn't have time to enjoy The location was convenient to getting around the city by foot, although venturing out at night didn't seem very safe for us (two females). A great option is to visit Carlos in the restaurant / bar. He was very friendly and the food was delicious! We had an early departure (4 a.m.) and the staff provided a prompt wake-up call and booked a taxi without any hassle. Thanks!

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size quite a bit. Ask for a room with two beds if you need a little more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hola Christie, Thank You for the great review ! All of my staff is trained 24/7 to assist clients in any reasonable manner possible, we pride our self on good service. We have many single clients stay with us, as well as couples and families. All of the nice sitting areas I have provided help to create a relaxed atmosphere and lots of friendships are started right here at the Santo Tomas. People really enjoy the free Wi-Fi and hot cooked breakfast as well. We have many dental patients that stay also and enjoy all of our services, especially the custom prepared food from our restaurant ( El Oasis ) . Safe Travels Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family visited San Jose en route to other locations in Costa Rica and stayed the at the Hotel Santo Tomas for two nights at the beginning and end of a side trip. The hotel staff were very gracious and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the hotel is in close proximity to several sights around town including the National Theater, the Pre-Columbian Gold Museum and the Children's museum. We felt comfortable walking to each of these locations from the hotel with our 8 year old. While we took a trip to the Caribbean coast, we were able to leave our extra baggage at the hotel and retrieve it when we returned. We would recommend this to any traveler to San Jose.

Room Tip: Definitely follow earlier advice and get a room on the second floor at the back of the hotel. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Jennifer, Wonderful having you and your family stay, we have many clients that do what you did and use us for their home base, while traveling in Costa Rica. We also have fast laundry service, which we charge by the kilo to help keep the cost down. You are correct, we are in a good location for walking to all attractions, shopping and a great spot to take day tours from , which we will gladly arrange. Thank so much for your outstanding review and recommendation ! Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
872 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 76 in San Jose
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
5.7 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 76 in San Jose
2,385 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Property: Hotel Santo Tomas
Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
#11 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 20 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing