We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Santo Tomas
Nearby Hotels
$156
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose(San Jose)
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$89
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
$87
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,033)
Filter reviews
1,033 results
Traveler rating
543
354
99
23
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
543
354
99
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricahot tubbalcony roomrecommend hoteltile floorssmall poolhotel ownerwithin easy walking distancean oasisceiling fanfew blocksold mansioncentral marketheart of san josefelt safehome basehotel is centrally located
Filter
Updating list...
609 - 614 of 1,033 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was my third stay at this lovely hotel June 11-16, 2013. The staff is friendly and they go out of their way to help in any way possible. The restaurant food is great and attractively served. Just because it is not on the menu doesn't mean they can't fix it so just ask them. The room rates are a value and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrNina64151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Hi Dr Nina, Wonderful that you keep coming back, that just says it all! Thank you so much for the great review. Manuel our chef has worked at many different hotels during his 40 plus years of service including the Marriott and Intercontinental! Great value rooms and top service is what we are striving for. Again Nina thanks so much for coming back. Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Based my selection on Hotel Santo Tomas on their "home page", but really, after reading so many positive reviews, I was won over. Spent our first 2 nights and our last 2 nights here. My husband and I were delighted with the over-all presentation of the grand old mansion which merged seamlessly with the modern amenities (swimming pool, jacuzzi, gym, upper level roof covered patio, restaurant) The reception staff were gracious, warm and very helpful in all our requests. The condition of HST is remarkable, from the hotel itself to the beautiful garden enclosure. It is indeed an "oasis" and a sweet retreat from the hustle of the city. We passed along to others while in C.R. our delight and satisfaction with HST and hope that this review will lead you to their doors.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to upgrade from a economy room to one that the window faces the garden enclosure. Its only 7 bucks more. The rooms are bigger and you have the advantage of the view from your room. Considering city night noise, we were fairly insulated from the street sounds.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 102LauraB102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Hi LauraB, What a wonderful review and thank you so much for recruiting new guests during you visit outside of San Jose. I have many clients that do just that, with all of the outdoor seating areas that we have, it makes it really nice to sit and chat over a cold drink at Happy Hour. It really is a neat old building with lots of charter. There are just not any of these left in San Jose any more. You are correct many of our clients upgrade to the deluxe rooms upstairs in the new section. Again Thanks so much. Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two different times at HST and will be back. Rooms are nice, quiet, with lots of character in the building's architecture and interesting art, maps, and photos in the halls and rooms. Staff was super friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zmatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Hola Zmatto, Nice, you really summed up what is important for prospective visitors to Costa Rica. A big Thank You from me. Outstanding you had a great experience here at the HST ! I will be looking for your return. Happy Travels Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is very charming, clean, and spacious. The location seemed safe and close to downtown attractions. The staff was nice, but the "please tip" signs posted everywhere seemed too pushy. It is very noisy at night, but maybe that should be expected staying downtown. It would have been nice to have an air conditioner to drown out the city noise and the noise from other guests. Parking is secure and safe, and the drive to the airport is about 25 minutes.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies overlooking pool.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulieW1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Hi Julie, Thanks so much for your great description of what the hotel offers. Many clients have commented the same. There are two signs that say ( Please Tip for Baggage Service) One is behind the front desk and the other is going up the stairs to the second floor. As far as I know there are no 3 1/2 Star hotels in the US or Europe that carry bags or even offer the service. I found that clients were not being fair at all to my staff about carrying bags. So yes !! some people really need help with a sense of consciousness. I understand that you most likely tipped for good services rendered. The room you stayed in was an Economy room and our lowest priced. In our new section upstairs you mentioned the balcony rooms and the Deluxe Plus. For just a few dollars more a wonderful upgrade. You room at $52.00 included Free Hot Cooked Breakfast, Wi-Fi, pool and Jacuzzi, no other downtown San Jose hotel offers this, most guests find this to be a great value! We have bilingual staff on 24/7 o assist with what ever a client needs at any time. Again Thank You for the kind words Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is located in old San Jose (Historical district). You can't tell from the street, but once inside, it is a pretty place, clean, and the staff is very nice. There is private parking at the hotel (for a small charge per night) and free breakfast. For birders, there are some parrots in the trees behind the hotel, and the park just south of the hotel (1-2 blocks) is full of parrots. Lots of museums in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank econurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Hi Econurse, Wonderful review thank you so much for the kind words. Lots of couples like you ,stay here and enjoy the sights , jacuzzi and a tasty tropical drink at Happy hours with Carlos, the bartender. We are located in the historical district of San Jose and there are many parks with huge lovely trees and lots of interesting sights close by . All one has to do is walk a few blocks , slow down and enjoy this lovely place. The hotel is also a great location for the many days tour leaving San Jose. You can find lots of information on the hotel web site. Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews