We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will never stay anywhere else!”
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I will never stay anywhere else!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is exactly what I had hoped for when booking my first trip to Costa Rica. After reading reviews and viewing pictures I decided to book a more authentic hotel and am so happy I did!! Maurecio one of the hotel employees was so helpful and kind. I appreciated his interest in our activities of each day. The entire staff was amazing. It was nice to share our experiences and get advice. I never felt unsafe in the area despite some of the other reviews. The owner was at breakfast every day I was there and there was plenty of delicious fruit, coffee, eggs, toast, and black beans and rice! The rooms are clean and spacious. The history of the building has been maintained and is beautiful! I will never stay anywhere else in San Jose. All the tours we booked picked us up from Santo Tomas and it is a 5 min walk to Central Ave and most of the parks and museums. Carlos is the night time bartender and server and makes the most perfect drinks – pina colada and coffees were my drinks of choice. Sipping a cocktail by the pool after a day of adventure. This hotel is perfect! Thank you Hotel Santo Tomas - I will be back soon.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a balcony room! It was one of the best upgrades I have made in my travels (all have a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hola Brooke ! WOW Is all I can say about your great review and kind words. Your title along with all of the details you mentioned are just what we are always striving for. Your are correct the upstairs balcony view rooms along with the other new ones for just a few dollars more are really worth it. Thank You especially for that comment. I also really appreciate the positive feed back about the breakfast. Whats also interesting to me are that clients who book our cheapest rooms at around $58.00 for two including the free breakfast are the ones that make negative comments about the free breakfast- go figure ! Great to know that you enjoyed the fantastic drinks made by Carlos at Happy Hour from 4 to 7 pm and most likely in the Jacuzzi ! Again Thank You Brooke and looking forward to your return. Safe Travels Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    332
    92
    21
    11
See reviews for
158
394
172
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I spent the last few days of my vacation at Santo Tomas. The place was great. Tomas was a big help. Mauricio was terrific great stories about San Jose. The staff was exceptional. I'm going back next year. The people I met in the hotel were very nice. My stomach got a little crazy and the showed me the nearest farmacia. All in all a very positive experience. Very comfortable, very safe, good location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmac1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi Tmac1949 ! Thanks so much for posting your review and I will be sure Mauricio sees your positive comments about his service. It's always great for my staff to be mentioned.
Wonderful to know that we finished off your Costa Rica vacation on high note. Your comments about comfortable and very safe is really important. With respect to the location , we are only four blocks from central avenue and you don't have to climb any hills, a real plus for our senior clients and or anyone that has medical problems walking ! Safe Return to Costa Rica next year and again Thank You - Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto ontario/samara costa rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

we always stay at Hotel Santo Tomas when passing through san jose: the hotel is in a good central location and the premises are safe, clean and well equipped. the staff is always friendly and very accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smashley12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hola Smashley12- from Toronto/Samara, Hey you've got the best of two wonderful places in the world. I genuinely appreciate you being a repeat customer and nothing speaks higher than a recommendation by a single female in reference to the hotel being , Safe, Clean, well equipped along with friendly and accommodating staff. That is exactly what we are supposed to be doing. I'll be thanking you in person in the breakfast area upon your next visit. Please tell me it is you as I can't tell from your Trip Advisor ID. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The property itself, looks to have been at one point a private residence, the rooms are quite large with very high ceilings with large comfortable beds. The room fixtures were in good repair, however the tiled floor was showing its age. The Wifi signal in the room was good, although somewhat unstable near the pool area. As we arrived late in the evening and had no place to go, were won over by the extremely nice and courteous staff who did whatever they could to make our stay a pleasant one, and in fact were the determining factor in choosing this hotel. I especially commend the young Costarrican receptionist with the spiky hair for being efficient and anxious to please. The amenities are par for the category and type of hotel and the location was right in the middle of everything within minutes of Parque Morazán and the pedestrian only streets. The decor is of a different era, which is fine although I found the breakfast nothing special and the pool rather small. I did not use the spa, but could see that it was located above the pool. The gym was decent, definitely a bonus. We visited about 4 hotels before deciding on Santo Tomas and felt that it provided good value. We did not have any problems with outside noise leaking in and had a restful experience. Most hotels of this size i.e. small do not have parking. Santo Tomas does have parking for an extra fee which is fair considering the very narrow streets and general hubbub. All in all, we are gratified that the ownership and staff hold customer service very highly and would not have any qualms about staying again in the future. We would also like to thank the owner for his attentiveness and for taking the time to personally accompany us to the right freeway exit. I would like to stress that all things remaining the same, it is the details that end up making the difference. The staff of the other hotels we looked at would do well to follow the example of Santo Tomas. A sincere welcome and can do attitude can often do more than a big pool!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chachalaca1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hola Chachalaca in San Marcos, WOW that's a very comprehensive review, with many outstanding comments , Thank You ! I like and really enjoy , being a host and it's my pleasure to assist our clients in having a positive Costa Rica travel experience. Again Thank You , Hope to see you again on your return to Costa Rica Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed here on my first night in San Jose. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful from management & front desk to cleaning staff. Thomas upgraded my room. It was huge, very clean and comfortable. After travelling very basic for a few weeks, this was very welcome and the hot fast shower wonderful. I do prefer a room with a window to the outside and mine was internal, but that would be only negative comment. Garden area is pleasant and a nice surprise in a rather dirty city. Location is good; an easy walk only a few blocks from the city centre and with a nice park around the corner. Im staying here again on my last night in Costa Rica after travelling the country.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Christine_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
HI Christine, Great to know that you are coming back to the Santo Tomas after your travels. Many clients use us just for that , we do have free baggage storage and turn around laundry service, wash and fold in about 4 hours. We charge a very reasonable price per kilo/ 2.2 lbs and we are happy to help. Lots of clients also start their trips off with a couple of day tours out of the hotel, it's a nice way to adjust to the change of country and culture.
Again Thank You so much for the fine review. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a great hotel: full of amenities such as a pool and hottub, delightfully clean rooms, and quiet sitting areas. But Hotel Santo Tomas's greatest strength is its personnel. We felt truly at home because Anthony, Mauricio, everyone manning the front desk, all of the housekeeping staff, and even Tomas himself, answered our questions, offered suggestions and made us feel that they had our best interests at heart. We adored Carlos, the bartender, who is totally charming in the best Tico tradition, and we ate two lovely dinners in Restaurante el Oasis. Don't miss the cerviche!

Room Tip: We loved the breeze from the balcony!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Ellen, Wonderful , great review you posted for us. It is very short , concise and covers many important items that travelers are looking for in a hotel. Thank you very much for the kind words about my staff especially , I will make sure for them to see what you have written. And you are correct about the ceviche, Manuel our chef makes it fresh when you order it! Again Thank You so much Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place has everything you need to arrive and leave San Jose well...a good breakfast, helpful staff, big rooms, clean areas, a pool and cuzzi (you will be on display as it is in the center of the place), dinner on site and it is located in a good area. The owner is friendly and aims to greet everyone and share the special pieces of the hotel that may be overlooked at first...this includes art work and general cool ceiling molding. Our room was a bit dark and breakfast ended earlier than expected (my foul), there was a lack of 1/2 and 1/2 for coffee (my personal sassy need they only had a powder mix) and I did have to pay for parking our rental car (would have been nice to have this included in our stay)....but the fresh fruit, great beds, price and feeling of safety and care outweighed any of these factors....a solid safe choice as you book

Room Tip: I liked the rooms with balconies but they only had one big bed which didn't work for me as I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesmarie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hola Julesmarie, That's a new phrase describing the hotel ( a solid safe choice) I like it , tells perspective clients what to expect. Wonderful to know that you appreciated the Free Hot Cooked Breakfast, sorry I can't just give away more stuff, but with rooms at around $52.00 US per night for two persons and after all expenses, well there's not much left . I am sure it is still much better than paying $20.00 bucks at the big hotels: they give nothing away! Again Thank You Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,440 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 77 in San Jose
883 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,412 reviews
2.0 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Property: Hotel Santo Tomas
Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
#11 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 20 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing