We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Santo Tomas
Nearby Hotels
$129
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose(San Jose)
$160
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$104
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
$84
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,033)
Filter reviews
1,033 results
Traveler rating
543
354
99
23
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
543
354
99
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricahot tubbalcony roomrecommend hoteltile floorssmall poolhotel ownerwithin easy walking distancean oasisceiling fanfew blocksold mansioncentral marketheart of san josefelt safehome basehotel is centrally located
Filter
Updating list...
643 - 648 of 1,033 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed here on my first night in San Jose. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful from management & front desk to cleaning staff. Thomas upgraded my room. It was huge, very clean and comfortable. After travelling very basic for a few weeks, this was very welcome and the hot fast shower wonderful. I do prefer a room with a window to the outside and mine was internal, but that would be only negative comment. Garden area is pleasant and a nice surprise in a rather dirty city. Location is good; an easy walk only a few blocks from the city centre and with a nice park around the corner. Im staying here again on my last night in Costa Rica after travelling the country.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
Thank Christine_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

HI Christine, Great to know that you are coming back to the Santo Tomas after your travels. Many clients use us just for that , we do have free baggage storage and turn around laundry service, wash and fold in about 4 hours. We charge a very reasonable price per kilo/ 2.2 lbs and we are happy to help. Lots of clients also start their trips off with a couple of day tours out of the hotel, it's a nice way to adjust to the change of country and culture.
Again Thank You so much for the fine review. Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a great hotel: full of amenities such as a pool and hottub, delightfully clean rooms, and quiet sitting areas. But Hotel Santo Tomas's greatest strength is its personnel. We felt truly at home because Anthony, Mauricio, everyone manning the front desk, all of the housekeeping staff, and even Tomas himself, answered our questions, offered suggestions and made us feel that they had our best interests at heart. We adored Carlos, the bartender, who is totally charming in the best Tico tradition, and we ate two lovely dinners in Restaurante el Oasis. Don't miss the cerviche!

Room Tip: We loved the breeze from the balcony!
Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hi Ellen, Wonderful , great review you posted for us. It is very short , concise and covers many important items that travelers are looking for in a hotel. Thank you very much for the kind words about my staff especially , I will make sure for them to see what you have written. And you are correct about the ceviche, Manuel our chef makes it fresh when you order it! Again Thank You so much Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place has everything you need to arrive and leave San Jose well...a good breakfast, helpful staff, big rooms, clean areas, a pool and cuzzi (you will be on display as it is in the center of the place), dinner on site and it is located in a good area. The owner is friendly and aims to greet everyone and share the special pieces of the hotel that may be overlooked at first...this includes art work and general cool ceiling molding. Our room was a bit dark and breakfast ended earlier than expected (my foul), there was a lack of 1/2 and 1/2 for coffee (my personal sassy need they only had a powder mix) and I did have to pay for parking our rental car (would have been nice to have this included in our stay)....but the fresh fruit, great beds, price and feeling of safety and care outweighed any of these factors....a solid safe choice as you book

Room Tip: I liked the rooms with balconies but they only had one big bed which didn't work for me as I was traveling with a friend...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesmarie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hola Julesmarie, That's a new phrase describing the hotel ( a solid safe choice) I like it , tells perspective clients what to expect. Wonderful to know that you appreciated the Free Hot Cooked Breakfast, sorry I can't just give away more stuff, but with rooms at around $52.00 US per night for two persons and after all expenses, well there's not much left . I am sure it is still much better than paying $20.00 bucks at the big hotels: they give nothing away! Again Thank You Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

During our last 3 days in Costa Rico we stayed at Hotel Santo Tomas and experienced the most wonderful hospitality of our 5 weeks. The staff, especially Miquel at the front desk, were entirely professional and went out of their way to ensure each and every need was met. The hotel is a charming gem within walking distance of many San Jose attractions. We were provided with complimentary breakfasts, free WiFi, the rooms were ample and comfortable, the atmosphere of the building was truly an oasis that was the the cherry on the top of an extended vacation. We have no reservation in recommending this unique hotel to anyone spending time in San Jose.
The only thing we missed was a small refrigerator in our room - beyond that we can only offer praise.

I forgot to mention Thomas the proud owner and has every right to feel this way. It is evident he is hands on with the operation of this jewel of a hotel and a proud supporter of his service minded staff.

Room Tip: Next time I would select a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunset792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hola Sunset792, Wow I have had a staff meeting and shown them your comments about having the most wonderful hospitality in 5 weeks. They all send you both a big Thank You ! It's so wonderful that my behind the scenes personal get credit. The person that is serving your breakfast at 7:00 is up by 4:30 am so that they may have everything prepared fresh for the 7 am opening. I want to say a public thank you to them, the hotels wonderful staff ! Thank you for such an outstanding review and it's very gratifying to know that we were able to provide you with a memorable Costa Rica experience. Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a night on two occasions when we were travelling. The decor and atmosphere are charming, with lots of wrought iron, traditional dark wood and lounge areas to relax in. Our room both times was on the first floor. There was no lift and we had to carry our bags up and down an outside staircase. We managed it fine but if you had any mobility problems, this might be a problem. Our room was clean and comfortable and the shower worked well. We also ate in the restaurant and found the food reasonably priced and OK - not gourmet but very acceptable. We walked out from the hotel to explore downtown San Jose and thought the location was excellent. The staff were polite and helpful. We were able to store our luggage whilst we went on a trip to Tortuguero, which was convenient. Overall, very good value for money. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quietvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hola Quietvoice, Great to know that you found us “Clean and charming in an excellent location” and Overall, very good value for money and Would definitely stay there again. We do have free baggage storage for our traveling guests and it is a great help to those clients going to the Caribbean side or whom have an extended time and just don't need to carry everything during their travels. You comment of excellent location is correct, especially for those older clients or anyone that has walking or breathing difficulties, as we are located before San Jose goes downhill on avenue 7. Wonderful review and Thank you very much Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews