We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Santo Tomas
Nearby Hotels
$156
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$87
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose(San Jose)
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
$87
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$105
Park Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,033)
Filter reviews
1,033 results
Traveler rating
543
354
99
23
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
543
354
99
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricahot tubbalcony roomrecommend hoteltile floorssmall poolhotel ownerwithin easy walking distancean oasisceiling fanfew blocksold mansioncentral marketheart of san josefelt safehome basehotel is centrally located
Filter
Updating list...
670 - 675 of 1,033 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were using San Jose as a pass through to Manzanillo on the Caribbean coast. We arrived and got to Santos Tomas late in the evening. The person at the desk lead us to a nice quiet room. The room was in a part of the hotel that is one of the older homes, it was nice, clean and happily quiet. Breakfast the next morning was an excellent Gallo Pinto with salsa ingles and toast. The hotel was very nice on the inside, something you would not know from the exterior. The owner stopped by during breakfast and chatted amicably with all those in the dining area. He was a warm, US expat.

For the return trip we were dropped off by our shuttle at 6:30 pm and shown to a room in the new upper floor. Very nice. The view from the balcony was great, overlooking the courtyard and pool. We decided to eat at the Oasis, the in-house restaurant. There was not much for us Vegans to choose from, but Carlos, the only person visibile, came up with a blend of vegetables in the house pomidoro sauce over pasta. It was tasty and fit the bill for us. The staff was excellent and very professional. If I need a hotel in San Jose again, i will certainly see if Santo Tomas is available.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hi Glenn, You are correct we are a great spot for traveling from west to east and vise-versa , many guest stay here just for that . We also offer free baggage storage so that you don't have to lug around all of your stuff. Your descriptions of the two different sections of the hotel are accurate and most appreciated by me. What is really nice for me is that you enjoyed the free breakfast, this represents a real cost and it's nice when clients are appreciative. Hope to see you again in the future and than you for the most pleasing review. Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Not a cookie cutter hotel. Lots of outdoor spaces attractively sited around a landscaped pool area. Our large room overlooking a second floor outdoor seating area had comfortable beds, spacious modern bath, and charm. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was freshly prepared. We enjoyed the convenient location in walking distance to downtown San Jose and major museums. We would definitely return and would recommend the hotel to others. The art, ironwork and ambiance make this place a distinct contrast to chain hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMBReston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hola LMBReston, Hey I like that about not being a cookie cutter hotel. Instead of building all of the property just for rooms , I chose to create all of these patios, covered and open areas and terraces so that clients may have a nice environment . All of the gardens and flowers make a relaxing space to enjoy. The location is as you stated is very convenient for all of the attractions here in San Jose. The part of your review I really like is " The art, ironwork and ambiance make this place a distinct contrast to chain hotels." Wonderful that you enjoyed it so much . Thank you very much Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have stayed in San Jose before. In fact this is our third trip to Costa Rica. I can honestly say that this is the best hotel that we have stayed at in San Jose. The hotel staff was very helpful and our room was clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Len H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hi Len, nice, you just say it all very short , concise and to the point. Great review, look forward to your next visit and remember the best price is found on our hotel web site. Thank You Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Santo Tomas on Feb. 22nd, 2013. It was a great point to walk to the downtown area or relax in their pool and hot tub. Our second floor room was spacious, clean and had a very nice bath and tiled shower. The breakfast was tasty and filling with several options from which to choose. Thomas, the owner was present at breakfast and was very helpful answering questions about the area. They have a tour operations desk in their lobby to help set up day tours and travel. We didn't use their help, but wish we had as our week in other parts of the country progressed.
We really enjoyed our stay. It was like an oasis in the city. We parked our car in their guarded lot next door for $11 a day. Daytime walking around town was good. It is not advisable to walk anywhere in San Jose after the crowds thin out in the evening.
We recommend this hotel. If we return to San Jose we will stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor. Our room looked more modern and had less traffic passing by it that some of the first floor rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timjan1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hi Timjan 1995, Your title “An oasis in the city” is what many clients say. Our tour desk and all front desk staff are well trained to assist clients 24/7 with what ever is required . This has always been my hotel philosophy and I make sure it is carried over to my staff. You are correct the new rooms upstairs are are great bargain. Wonderful to know you will return. Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This place was the best place to be. Extremely friendly people make all the difference. It is safe and secure, the food is good especially the breakfast, and it is not that expensive.

I am a young female traveling alone, and I wanted to feel safe and secure. This hotel was perfect for my budget and the people I met were so wonderful, even though I stayed for only a few days

I will recommend this hotel to anyone staying in San Jose for a long time.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hola Evan, Great having you stay and your are correct, I train my staff to be extra sensitive to the traveling female clients . We know that you want first of all safe, clean and a friendly environment . Please come back to visit . Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews