We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Santo Tomas
Nearby Hotels
$154
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose(San Jose)
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$87
$81
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$84
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
$87
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$106
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,034)
Filter reviews
1,034 results
Traveler rating
543
355
99
23
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
543
355
99
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricahot tubbalcony roomrecommend hoteltile floorssmall poolhotel ownerwithin easy walking distancean oasisceiling fanfew blocksold mansioncentral marketheart of san josefelt safehome basehotel is centrally located
Filter
Updating list...
692 - 697 of 1,034 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed just one night in the hotel, after our long flight from Europe. It was easy to check in and our room contained an enormous television and was very comfortable. In the morning, we met the owner, Thomas, who made us feel welcome and had a nice breakfast (excellent juice). Our room was in the back and quiet. It was a shame we had so little time, as the pool and hot tub looked inviting. Definetly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elfweard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Hola Elfweard, Definitely recommended, that can't get much better! Next time please try to take a few days to enjoy the pool and nice hot jacuzzi along with a balcony view room,many guests use us to take day tours and enjoy the hot tub at night or happy hour by the pool from 4 to 7 with Carlos our bartender. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were very happy of our choice. Nice boutique hotel with a very friendly staff. Close to everything. Very convenient and affordable place to travel to take one-day tours to different directions to explore the country.
Nice breakfast. Spacious rooms. Highly recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikhail f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Shout out to Brooklyn New York from Costa Rica, Yes we are a great location for all of the day tours from San Jose and an easy two blocks from the main highway to the east coast , a no brain er for going to that lovely side of the country. The affordable part and nice breakfast along withe Free WI-Fi help to keep us in the Top rated hotels in San Jose. Thank you very much for the nice review and safe travels. Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

feb. 2013
The first look at the hotel, won’t impress you, neither the breakfast menu, but otherwise a nice hotel. Clean rooms with ceiling-fan, TV and security box. You feel very welcome at the hotel, and they are keen to provide you with the help you need. The price is fair, and it is worth every penny.
A recommendable hotel in San José.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caspar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Hi Caspar, thanks for the review , sorry our Free Hot Cooked breakfast did not impress you. We do serve two fresh juices , coffee, tea, a fruit plate, eggs cooked to your liking, gallo pinto, a local dish of beans and rice along with toast and jam. This is what a typical breakfast is here in Costa Rica and the normal price for this would be around $8.00 US dollars in a restaurant, so it is a nice added value for a room that is only 40 euros for two persons. I will see if I can add pickled fish or some other European breakfast types of food, thanks for the info. I am glad to know that you thought the price was fair and worth every penny and that we are a recommended hotel in San Jose. Safe Travels and again a thank you from me Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed last year as well, great value and location. A little noisy street, so we requested a room closer to the back. Beautiful courtyard, very clean. Only surprise was that the breakfast had no milk!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horsefly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Hi Horsefly from BC, thanks so much for being a return client, its always great to see repeat customers in the breakfast area in the morning! Beautiful courtyard and clean is very important, thanks for those kind words. Glad to know you also enjoyed the free breakfast , it is about an $8.00 US dollar value per guest across the street. What with two fresh made daily juices, Costa Rica coffee, eggs cooked to your choice, fruit plate, toast , jam and gallo pinto, a local breakfast dish with fresh sauces to liven everything up ! Gracias Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

After a week in Costa Rica we genuinely appreciated a comfortable bed & a tv :)
the room was clean, the pool was refreshing, the owner was very hospitable, and the entire staff worked well together to help us enjoy our stay. We also enjoyed our fruit & coffee in the morning. a perfectly good place to spend the night before our flight home. Trip Advisor was wrong about the Puerto Viejo hotels, but thankfully right on here in San Jose.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonafidetruedetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Hey Detroit ! Big flat screen LCD TV's in all of the rooms and cable make you feel right at home. Toss in a a hot shower and comfy bed and you have a wining combination. That flawless overnight is a first for me here ! Great to hear that Trip Advisor was right about us, your recommendation really helps. Nice to hear that my staff worked as a team to make your visit memorable , that is what my training is all about. Hope to see you again in the future . Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews