We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were very happy of our choice. Nice boutique hotel with a very friendly staff. Close to everything. Very convenient and affordable place to travel to take one-day tours to different directions to explore the country.
Nice breakfast. Spacious rooms. Highly recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikhail f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Shout out to Brooklyn New York from Costa Rica, Yes we are a great location for all of the day tours from San Jose and an easy two blocks from the main highway to the east coast , a no brain er for going to that lovely side of the country. The affordable part and nice breakfast along withe Free WI-Fi help to keep us in the Top rated hotels in San Jose. Thank you very much for the nice review and safe travels. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    308
    77
    17
    11
See reviews for
149
358
160
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

feb. 2013
The first look at the hotel, won’t impress you, neither the breakfast menu, but otherwise a nice hotel. Clean rooms with ceiling-fan, TV and security box. You feel very welcome at the hotel, and they are keen to provide you with the help you need. The price is fair, and it is worth every penny.
A recommendable hotel in San José.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caspar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi Caspar, thanks for the review , sorry our Free Hot Cooked breakfast did not impress you. We do serve two fresh juices , coffee, tea, a fruit plate, eggs cooked to your liking, gallo pinto, a local dish of beans and rice along with toast and jam. This is what a typical breakfast is here in Costa Rica and the normal price for this would be around $8.00 US dollars in a restaurant, so it is a nice added value for a room that is only 40 euros for two persons. I will see if I can add pickled fish or some other European breakfast types of food, thanks for the info. I am glad to know that you thought the price was fair and worth every penny and that we are a recommended hotel in San Jose. Safe Travels and again a thank you from me Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, BC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed last year as well, great value and location. A little noisy street, so we requested a room closer to the back. Beautiful courtyard, very clean. Only surprise was that the breakfast had no milk!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horsefly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hi Horsefly from BC, thanks so much for being a return client, its always great to see repeat customers in the breakfast area in the morning! Beautiful courtyard and clean is very important, thanks for those kind words. Glad to know you also enjoyed the free breakfast , it is about an $8.00 US dollar value per guest across the street. What with two fresh made daily juices, Costa Rica coffee, eggs cooked to your choice, fruit plate, toast , jam and gallo pinto, a local breakfast dish with fresh sauces to liven everything up ! Gracias Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

After a week in Costa Rica we genuinely appreciated a comfortable bed & a tv :)
the room was clean, the pool was refreshing, the owner was very hospitable, and the entire staff worked well together to help us enjoy our stay. We also enjoyed our fruit & coffee in the morning. a perfectly good place to spend the night before our flight home. Trip Advisor was wrong about the Puerto Viejo hotels, but thankfully right on here in San Jose.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonafidetruedetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hey Detroit ! Big flat screen LCD TV's in all of the rooms and cable make you feel right at home. Toss in a a hot shower and comfy bed and you have a wining combination. That flawless overnight is a first for me here ! Great to hear that Trip Advisor was right about us, your recommendation really helps. Nice to hear that my staff worked as a team to make your visit memorable , that is what my training is all about. Hope to see you again in the future . Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petropolis, RJ
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I appreciate a lot to had the opportunity to go on Tortugas beach. With the calypso cruise, But when i requested to go the front desk operators were not able to find out a place to myself and my friend Cidinez. I did the conversation but the booking was really efficient.

I wish they could work out better with the hotel. because the staff was excellent !!!

I lost one jade stone on the outside garden and i didn´t found. But my memories will remain.
Thanks a lot Thomas and Team

Room Tip: Room double twin it is reall okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodrigoargon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hi Rodrigo, Thanks so much for the review and rating and yes Tortuga Island tour is great it only runs on Friday, Sat. Sunday , so we always have to plan ahead. I am happy we could get you on it, they had a special group that day and we called the owner and I asked him as a favor to make an exception in your case. I have been booking them for the past 23 years and everyone comes back happy! Hope you return to Costa Rica soon Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Before we chose the Hotel Santo Tomas, we read all the reviews on TripAdvisor, as we now do before traveling anywhere. Once again, our thoughts on this delightful and inexpensive boutique hotel were mirrored by others who have stayed there and been welcomed by the genial host and owner, Thomas. Rarely do you get a personal welcome from a hotel owner. Thomas, who has lived in North Carolina like us, was there every day of our week long stay to see that everything was good and we were comfortable. (Ask him about his varied life!) He and his staff were always ready with suggestions as to where to sightsee or go for more physical activities (ziplining and white-water rafting are big). The hotel staff were all friendly, the room comfortable and cleaned daily, and the free breakfast dining area provided a nice way to meet some of the other guests each morning and swap stories. The WI-FI is excellent, everyone seemed to have an iPad or laptop. It was great to just sit back and check email, play word games, solitaire, or whatever (while resting up from your sightseeing !).

The location is conveniently within walking distance of most of the interesting places in old downtown San Jose. We recommend the city van tour, also. The front desk folks are helpful with arranging that and any other tours or car rental. The stairs to the second floor rooms are steep, though my wife and I and my brother all made numerous ups and downs over the week and considered that our exercise (didn't go into the nice exercise room!) The upstairs rooms are newer and cost just a bit more, worth it for the nice balcony or terrace you have, with comfy chairs/sofas. The large terrace is covered, enjoys cool breezes, and you don't need AC in the rooms because it's always 60-80 degrees day or night! Thank you, Thomas, Carlos, and staff, for an enjoyable week! Highly recommended as a good value, with great service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArchieGoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hola Mr and Mrs Goodwin, It was wonderful having you and friends stay with us here. I really enjoy being there in the breakfast area and meeting clients and hearing their stories , sharing mine and helping in any way possible. Carlos Santana says it the best ( Be nice to Someone) I try to live it everyday !!! It's great you had such a wonderful experience here in Costa Rica and I hope to see everyone again in the not too distant future. A big Thank You from : Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We chose this hotel sight unseen and were very pleased. The welcome received from Miguel-a charming, efficient young man- who checked us in was replicated by other cheerful employees and by the Owner. Our first room was in the historic section of the hotel, after which we chose to move to a balcony room in the new part, overlooking the swimming pool and terrace. The location of the hotel is close to museums, restaurants, and the downtown shopping area. We have previously stayed in several hotels in San Jose, all to our liking, but have booked to return to this one because of its friendliness and its location.
Dr. Joan and Dr. Graeme Mount, Canada

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi Dr. Joan and Dr. Graeme, Well what can I say , thumbs up from two doctors says it all about cleanliness and your other great comments about my staff just tops off your fine review. I genuinely appreciate your kind words about my staff especially Miguel, he is a fine young man providing wonderful service along with the rest of my team. Our balcony rooms located in the new section upstairs, have volcano views and are bright and airy. Free Wi-Fi is everywhere and all guests have to do is log in to the strongest signal from one of four different routers strategically placed through the hotel, all using the same password. Again a heartfelt thank you from Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
3.6 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#9 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#30 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Property: Hotel Santo Tomas
Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
#11 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 10 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing