We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Santo Tomas
Nearby Hotels
$85
$75
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$123
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$75
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Fleur de Lys(San Jose)(Great Value!)
$53
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colours Oasis Resort(San Jose)(Great Value!)
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocoon Hotel(San Jose)(Great Value!)
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$175
$170
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$72
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,021 results
Traveler rating
535
351
98
23
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
535
351
98
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricahot tubbalcony roomtile floorssmall poolhotel ownerwithin easy walking distancean oasisceiling fanfew blocksold mansioncentral marketheart of san josefelt safehome basesecure parkingbreakfast included
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
717 - 722 of 1,021 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a very serviceable hotel in Bario Amon. Clean and a great location.

1. Terrific place to eat.....really good
2. you carry your own bags
3. service at night is "so-so".
4. No heat, No A/C
5. Owner is great
6. Service during the day is good

Room Tip: upstairs with balcony, but be prepared to carry your bags a good distance
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickphoenix11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Hi Nick, Big shout out from Thomas, thanks for your remarks. You are correct we do have a great location for seeing the city or taking day tours and we are only three blocks from the main bus terminal for the entire Caribbean Costa . Yes, we are not the Marriott but for $48.00 US our economy room is a great deal for two including a Free Hot cooked breakfast and Wi-Fi to name just a few free amenities. Nope , no heating and no A/C: it is not required here in San Jose, toss in our 15 foot high ceilings in most rooms along with a beautiful ceiling fan and it's just the right temperature and healthy ! I wish you had been more specific about the service at night , yours is the first negative comment I have had about that , but I will speak to my staff and reinforce our training . Safe Journeys Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Not a bad place for the price. I had a room upstairs with a balcony. It was spacious and clean. The rooms downstairs didn't look very appealing though, since they were smaller and there is really no view to be had. The owner and staff were very friendly and I enjoyed the free breakfast.
However, the location wasn't the greatest and the food and beer was too expensive. Better to go to the bar across the road for that. Overall it was a good experience and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Upstairs with balcony.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Hi HBoom, from Thomas, we have different rooms for different budgets and as most clients write they all appear to be a good value, especially since it includes Free WiFi and a hot cooked breakfast, plus the pool, jacuzzi, full gym and all of the open air patios and covered terraces to enjoy. glad to hear you will return Thank You Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The staff is fine, the american owner is very friendly, the breakfast is pleasant. But unfortunately the rooms (we booked an economy room on internet which we paid close to 60 USD for tax included) are just unacceptable. The tile floor looks dirty, the rug and the curtains definitly were very dirty, there is a window in the bathroom only. It is old and tired. I had not stayed in such a terrible room since my student days in the 80's. I strongly recommend you look for some other place in San Jose,

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jpm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Hi JPM57 from France, Sorry that you did like the room you chose. You paid $48.00 plus tax including a free typical breakfast for the both of you. The room you were in is in the original building and as such was built 102 years ago. Thus it is in part of the building that is a Costa Rican protected historical landmark. The floor is clean it just is used. I have instructed my staff to do a much more complete cleaning and I do apologize . On another note we do have larger and new rooms in my second floor annex upstairs. We understand that not all clients can afford few extra dollars for an upgraded room, so we try to offer a broad range of prices for our clients. Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel is really nice if you need to stay in San Jose! The city itself in my opinion is nothing special, but if you want to take a good shower, repack your suitcase and have a good night sleep before traveling further I would recommend Santo Thomas! Internet is also very fast and available in the rooms, you can store luggage for free and the breakfast is nice and included as well. It's location is perfect, just a small walk to the main shopping street, parcs and musea. Don't look any further, this is the place to sleep in the city!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Hola Debbie D. from Thomas, Thank You for the wonderful review and I am really happy you see, recognize and appreciate what we are offering. We are also a great location for day tours and traveling to the Caribbean side. Free and fast internet is something really important to clients today and with four different routers serving the property there are strong signals everywhere. Free luggage storage and other services are our pleasure to offer and we are happy to assist with any thing our clients may require. again thank you so much for your fine review Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

What a great place--super location--Thomas the owner and his entire staff are just the BEST. I have been going to C.R. for 30 some years and this is beyond a doubt the best hotel in San Jose (dollar for dollar)You will not be dissapointed!!!!!!!!!! Terry - Florida

Room Tip: Get a balcony room that overlooks the pool/spa
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TERRYDeltonaFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Hi Terry from San Jose and Thomas, WOW what can I say thank you, especially from someone that has most likely stayed in almost every hotel in San Jose. dollar for dollar that is what I am striving for , thanks for helping get the secret out !!! Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews