We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would return...”
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We would return...”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We would return if we are ever in San Jose overnight again. Our flight got in late and we were a bit concerned driving through what appeared to be a run down part of town but were met at the door and welcomed to the hotel. As others have said, we discovered the next day that we were within walking distance of everything we wanted to see, the Jade Museum and the Gold Museum. The owner came and introduced himself while we were eating breakfast our first morning. Very welcoming. We stayed a couple of nights. We asked for a car rental recommendation when we booked online and were very happy with C and R Save Car Rental. We enjoyed our stay and recommend Hotel Santo Tomas.

Room Tip: We had an inner courtyard room which was quiet although on the ground floor with a window looking ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skibinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    328
    91
    21
    11
See reviews for
156
392
171
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Friendly, helpful staff and owner. Beautiful garden/pool area, great little gym outside. Perfect for a short stay in San Jose.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Chance31310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Hi Chance, thanks for the short , concise and clear appraisal of the hotel and myself. That's what we serve up to our clients. Please come back and send your friends !! Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My two sons and I stayed here for the last two nights of a great 10 day vacation. What a great happenstance find! We wanted to experience being right in the center of things, chill out in the "big city" and see a museum - which is right around the corner and not to be missed. It's the museum dedicated to Costa Rica's interesting currency history and has fabulous pre-columbian antiquities and artifacts locked behind massive bank vault doors.

Back to the hotel… This hotel is on the top of my personal favorite CR accommodations list now. I have been to CR twice and will return again - and Santo Tomas is where I'll stay when in San Jose.

The room was excellent: large w/ two comfortable beds (perfect for 3 family-related guys), clean, large screen TV, working wi-fi, good shower - and very quiet. The decor was very tasteful, loved the obvious attention to detail throughout the entire hotel - the colors, nice wood and tile. The hotel's outdoor areas include not only a small but nice courtyard pool with hot tub/jacuzzi, but two comfortable terraces (also equipped w/TV's). The adjacent bar/restaurant area is great and drinks are good. Good place to hang out and meet other guests if one is so inclined (my sons and I are this type of traveller). The kitchen is decent with some dishes excellent - try the Ceviche.

San Jose is a wild n' crazy Big City and as such makes for an interesting transition for eco-tourists, whether at the front-end or exit part of a visit. I like it being the latter, a good place that wasn't too far from the airport and quite literally (as described elsewhere in these reviews) a literal "oasis."

One other item to share:I want to generously thank Thomas, the owner for helping this gringo find his way to the main road- no small feat in SJ as many will attest. As I was about to depart the hotel, my GPS FAILED. With sweat rolling down my forehead at 8 AM in the morning from the semi-terror of having to negotiate a tight time-run to the airport, Thomas jumped into the car and personally guided me through the labyrinth of one way and pot-holed streets! He graciously wished me Bon Voyage - a full mile and a half away from his hotel. How's that for personal service and going the extra, literal mile?

Thanks Tom. I'll (we'll) be back- hopefully soon. Keep the Imperial's cold and please make sure your kitchen has plenty of that super Ceviche!

Room Tip: Go for one of the quieter inside rooms if available; a few extra colones is still one of the best ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hollowneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Hi Hollowneck, This is a personal Thank You from Thomas. Thanks so much for your positive comments about the hotel and myself. I remember well the look on your face that morning and the sweat rolling down. Hey what's a guy supposed to do !! These type of incidences are what make my life so enjoyable at the hotel. It was truly my pleasure to get you down the road and in the right direction. I hope potential clients reading this take to heart your comments and realize there are some fine things to do here in and around San Jose. We are more than happy to assist with tour, car rental and travel planning in the hotel. We have been doing it for the past 22 years. Once again thank you so much for you kind words. Warmest Regards: Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This place has got it all. Great beds, quiet rooms, large screen TVs, library with three lounges for reading, one with a view of the city. Swimming pool and spa. You can walk to three days worth of entertainment including a zoo, gold museum, House of Jade (archaeology) and tons of great shopping. You are within a block of the Holiday Inn which charges about 6 times more for poorer rooms. Three great parks close by and 50 cents will take you ten miles any direction on the buses which stop close by---every 5 minutes, if you can believe it. Rating AAAAA+++++

Room Tip: Chose a small cozy room or a large one with views. They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MickeyDesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Hi Micky, This is from Thomas, the owner and I wanted to say personal big thank you for your comments on the hotel. In one small , concise and accurate paragraph you have summed up what , we have attempted to do on an everyday basis for the past 22years. We do have all types of rooms for different budgets from $50.00 US to about $90.00 including lots of extras, many guests comments on our free hot breakfast and WIFI. The location is just as you described it and the new rooms upstairs are worth the few extra bucks. Again thank you Mickey and I hope we may serve you again in the future. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff, the lady in the morning helped with travel plans and the man at the front desk in the afternoon was so great and really went out of his way to help us.
Rooms were clean. Location was perfect for everything.
We liked it so much we came back to stay a second time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle83_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Hi Jane, thank you for your comments and yes San Jose is the capital city and as such a busy place , full of the everyday life of Costa Ricans along with many parks, museums, shopping, day tours and many other activities to enjoy. A real cultural experience can be enjoyed here. And yes we are a great location to enjoy these many attractions. Again thank you from Thomas .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

lovely little hotel. great staff. perfect location. Unfortuneately San Jose is a noisy place and with the windows in the room open, it was a little too noisy. None the less, I highly recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Hi Isabella, This is from Thomas, the owner and I really thank you for your review. Your one short sentence sums it up pretty well ! Please recommend us to your friends and come again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

My family and I loved this lovely hotel. My kids enjoyed the pool. I was very happy it had its own parking facility within the complex of the hotel. It is very clean and has beautiful tiled floors! The owner Mr. Thomas, who's is an American, and the staff made us feel at home. The hotel is a block away from an ATM and two blocks away from a super market. We will definitely go back! Ohhh....the coffee machine is GREAT!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Xochitl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.6 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#12 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
2.0 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#14 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Property: Hotel Santo Tomas
Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
#11 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 20 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing