We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a gem!”
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2012

My friend and I recently stayed at Hotel Santo Tomas and could not have been happier. The location is perfect- a 1 minute walk from the heart of downtown San Jose, so it's not too noisy or congested, but you can still walk out the door to shop or eat or sight-see. I'm a young female and was often by myself during the trip, yet I always felt safe. The complimentary breakfast was perfect and the hotel's bar/restaurant was so enjoyable in the evenings (thanks to Carlos!) we ended up starting off every night with happy hour there. The staff were all wonderful, helpful and eager to share their insight if we had questions, and the owner, Thomas, would go out of his way to be sure that everyone was having an enjoyable, problem-free trip. He is genuinely passionate about his role as owner/manager of the hotel and it was clear that everyone (staff and guests) was happy to be there. I'm not surprised that my friend and I ended up extending our stay there another night... and then another... and we're already anxious to go back!

I highly recommend the Hotel Santo Tomas whether you're traveling for business or leisure, with family, friends, or solo.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kacie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (956)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santo Tomas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

758 - 764 of 957 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2012

The San Tomas hotel has a most convenient location if you want to explore central downtown San Jose. It is very easy walking distance to the Teatro Nacional and Calle Central. But despite being in the heart of the city, the walled courtyard and restaurant, with beautiful small swimming pool, is an oasis of peace and quiet. The building is an architectural gem, the staff are outstandingly pleasant, friendly and helpful. Also there is very secure off-street parking. I stayed for only two nights, I would plan to stay there again next time I'm in the city, and I can highly recommend it for those who appreciate smaller and more distinctive hotels. Also excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iancant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The first two nights of my trip to CR, we spent two nights at Hotel Santo Tomas. It is located in a safe neighborhood of San Jose and only about 3 blocks (5 min) walk from the central shopping area of San Jose. We stayed in the old part of the hotel which is in need for a renovation, but has a charming pre-Panama canal era feeling to it. Upgrade to the new rooms for just a few bucks more.

The hot water in the showers is interesting. Make sure you turn on the hot water just about a quarter-turn clockwise, and then turn on the cold as much as you want and then you'll actually have hot water. As a civil engineer, it baffles me as to why it works that way. But, none-the-less, hot water.

The owner, Tomas, is an amazing guy. He went out of his way to make sure that our rental car was going to arrive on time and he gave us buckets of information as to good routes to drive along and places to see in CR. Clearly, he loves interacting with the guests and it shows.

Take advantage of exchanging your money at the hotel; they offered us an amazing exchange rate. Way better rates than at the airport and even here back in the US.

Overall, a great place to stay. I will definitely be staying there again when I return to CR, next!

Room Tip: Ask for the newly built rooms. They're only a few bucks more, but significantly nicer than the o...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Great location, close to downtown shopping, restarants, attractions, etc. The staff is very friendly and helpful. When we first arrived we had a room at the front which had a lot of street noise, but when we asked at the front desk they moved us to a superior room further back and it was great, large room, comfortable bed, flat screen TV and WiFi in the room! Will stay again!

Room Tip: Very good location close to downtown, shopping resteraunts, attractions, etc. The staff is very fre...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horsefly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

At $55/night, this place was a knock-out! The room was average size, but felt comfortably cozy. Great amenities, inlcuding a smaller pool, full exercise room (better than most resorts I've been too, with a full set of dumbell weights, and even a bench press), and oh yeah, a restaurant that was SPECTACULAR.

You won't regret one part of staying here if you're passing through, or spending a few nights in San Jose.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noplacelike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We had a wonderful stay there after one month travelling to Costa Rica with our 3 kids. Everything is set perfectly for you to enjoy the city and the surroundings, provinding an intimate and peaceful oasis for rest: well equiped gym, pool with a slide for the kids, warm jacuzzi, efficient wifi, flat screen tv with cable, private and safe parking spot, super nice restaurant, 24h service, unbeatable location for downtown exploration (walking distance of numerous sites and museums), near airport (by cab), full service to organize tours, sparkling cleaness, decent price, warm atmosphere, and most of all kindness of the owner and its staffs members. Just go and enjoy, simplys impossible to find a better "bang for the buck" place!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Everything about this hotel was receptive to guests. Very friendly atmosphere with excellent, personal and professional service. My room was clean , quiet and I especially appreciated the raised jacuzzi with a slide into the cool pool. good gym beside pool also. and the front desk staff were very helpful with info about the city. A really great place to arrive in Costa Rica or to wait for a plane to depart. very good location.

Room Tip: i personally like the balcony, sounds of the city
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindsay p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,471 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
899 reviews
2.0 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 77 in San Jose
1,012 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
#11 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $63 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 20 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing