We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in San Jose!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Williams Lake, BC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in San Jose!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Great location, close to downtown shopping, restarants, attractions, etc. The staff is very friendly and helpful. When we first arrived we had a room at the front which had a lot of street noise, but when we asked at the front desk they moved us to a superior room further back and it was great, large room, comfortable bed, flat screen TV and WiFi in the room! Will stay again!

Room Tip: Very good location close to downtown, shopping resteraunts, attractions, etc. The staff is very fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank horsefly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    305
    76
    17
    11
See reviews for
146
349
158
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lockport, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

At $55/night, this place was a knock-out! The room was average size, but felt comfortably cozy. Great amenities, inlcuding a smaller pool, full exercise room (better than most resorts I've been too, with a full set of dumbell weights, and even a bench press), and oh yeah, a restaurant that was SPECTACULAR.

You won't regret one part of staying here if you're passing through, or spending a few nights in San Jose.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noplacelike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levis, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We had a wonderful stay there after one month travelling to Costa Rica with our 3 kids. Everything is set perfectly for you to enjoy the city and the surroundings, provinding an intimate and peaceful oasis for rest: well equiped gym, pool with a slide for the kids, warm jacuzzi, efficient wifi, flat screen tv with cable, private and safe parking spot, super nice restaurant, 24h service, unbeatable location for downtown exploration (walking distance of numerous sites and museums), near airport (by cab), full service to organize tours, sparkling cleaness, decent price, warm atmosphere, and most of all kindness of the owner and its staffs members. Just go and enjoy, simplys impossible to find a better "bang for the buck" place!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Everything about this hotel was receptive to guests. Very friendly atmosphere with excellent, personal and professional service. My room was clean , quiet and I especially appreciated the raised jacuzzi with a slide into the cool pool. good gym beside pool also. and the front desk staff were very helpful with info about the city. A really great place to arrive in Costa Rica or to wait for a plane to depart. very good location.

Room Tip: i personally like the balcony, sounds of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsay p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

I have stayed in some very expensive hotels. In most cases their staff act like snobs and stock holders. I could not afford them anyway. Santo Tomas is in my price range and, in my opinion, one of the friendliest and with all the things I like. Clean, great food, lots of coffee, and a chef and staff with a lot of pride. They have the local knowlege and can arrange any tours. There are banks, pharmacies, and other merchants within walking distance. There are no hookers hanging around but If you are into the wild side there are nightclubs within 6 or 8 blocks. The Hotel Santo Tomas is my second home in Costa Rica and you can find me there on my next visit. EM

Room Tip: Newer rooms on upper floor, some with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnieSalem-OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Situated in an old house, it has some colonial charm.
Our bed sheet were extremely dirty at arrival

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeClyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Bonjouir LeClyde, thanks for your review of the hotel. I have traced your one nights stay in the hotel and have had meetings with the cleaning and maintenance staff to reenforce our procedures and policies. The cleaning staff member has been been reprimanded by writing and this is now in his employee file. He states his innocence , but that is not acceptable. I do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Please rest assured that I will beef up my room inspections. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at Santo Tomas. The staff and the owner Thomas were great to help us with arranging for a rental car to be delivered to the hotel, exchanging money for us and storing our extra luggage while we travelled to Tortuguero. The dinner and breakfast was decent, as was the bar. Had fun sitting in the jacuzzi. The rooms were clean and roomy. The hotel is very close to the museums and the pedestrian only shopping district in the center of town. The onyl negative was that they lost our reservation for our second night and had to give us a less expensive room. I would recommend this hotel as a a great place to stay if you want to be near downtown. Keep in mind, you will hear street noise, traffic, horns, sirens, but it was largely ignorable. Great value for the price.

Room Tip: Stayed in both a balcony room and a regular room. The balcony was better, we had a view of the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SYVTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#9 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel
Aranjuez Hotel
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Property: Hotel Santo Tomas
Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#11 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 10 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing