We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,026)
Filter reviews
1,026 results
Traveler rating
320
350
229
78
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
320
350
229
78
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews el mirador indoor pool corner room costa rica lobby restaurant the executive lounge nice park top floor breakfast buffet gold museum pedestrian mall after dark central location downtown area few blocks felt safe national theatre
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,026 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2019

Incredibly well located to explore San Jose, close to everything. Awesome view from restaurant on top floor and beautiful indoor pool. Very pleased with condition of room for our two night stay. Easy walk minutes to core of city. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank Darryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine May M, Manager at Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019


With the purpose of reaching the maximum satisfaction of our clients, every day we work hard

Thank you very much for letting us know that your accommodation was pleasant and that our service was fulfill your needs and preferences
Regards

Katherine May
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

Very centrally located, with many restaurants and places to see nearby. A short walk from the main bus termini. We had a very welcoming check in, and good recognition of Spite status with regard to room upgrade and other benefits. Room was very clean and modern, with superking bed, good powerful shower, efficient aircon and WiFi, very comfortable bed with good quality linens and well equipped in terms of toiletries etc. The executive lounge had an excellent view, and served very average food and drinks in the evening (the white wine was awful to be honest and the red wine was corked). The happy hour is meant to be 5pm to 7pm, but the guy in the longe on Friday and Tuesday night was so slow, it didn't really start until 17.30pm both days. The breakfast on the top floor was exceptionally good with hot and cold options, and served by fantastic friendly and professional staff. The bar in the lobby was excellent, again with fabulous staff (Alexander) but was very expensive for our traveller budget. Some major issues with happy hour on sat/sun evenings, but I have addressed this separately. Overall a fantastic hotel, which I would highly recommend and would (did) return to.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank AdamBilgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine May M, Manager at Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2019


It is satisfying to know that all your preferences were heed and that our staff specially Mike and Rafael gave response to all your needs , making your lodging a pleasant stay and a wonderful experience

This is the reason why every day we work hard, is so that all our guests can experience the best of the stays in our Hotel, this is our main purpose and for which all our efforts are directed

For us will be special if you choose us as your lodging preference in your next visit to our country , we will be glad to serve you .

Sincerely

Katherine May
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

Decided to celebrate my Birthday in Costa Rica. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Aurola in San Jose.Had a marvelous time there. The room was Great and the staff were very helpful and friendly.I recommend this Hotel to all my family and friends.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank kelvinh858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine May M, Manager at Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Every positive experience that our guests share ,fills us with joy and satisfaction, as we see that all our work and effort has paid off and our guests are pleased
We appreciate the comment and rating about our Hotel and our service
It would be a real pleasure that in the future when you visit Costa Rica again , that you would take us as part of lodging options

Thank you
Katherine May
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

The location of the hotel is perfectly situated. Everything is in walking distance. We had the feeling that it wasn't worth 5 stars. When we arrived they couldn't found our reservation and when we returned at the end of our trip they showed us to the wrong room (it was the room next door). Maybe it has to do with the staff at the reception ?! Breakfast was okay but is served somewhere in a dark corner. Staff in general was very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank guido-krystyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine May M, Manager at Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are truly sorry for if for the inconvenience you had with our service
All your observations are taking in consideration to implement all the correspondent corrective actions
We hope that we will be part of you lodging choice during your next visit to Costa Rica it will be a pleasure to host you again

Sincerely

Katherine May
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019

We stayed in the Executive Rooms, on the upper levels, and would recommend this to all. If you do, you will be invited to the evening Social hour on the 15th floor, and also the Executive Breakfast on the 17th floor. This breakfast is exceptional.

Room tip: Floor 15 is best.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HomerDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine May M, Manager at Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2019

For us to receive your comment filled us with joy , because we know that all our work has had a positive result and your stay has been pleasant and that our staff has exceeded your expectations of service
We want to thank you for sending us your comment and we hope that soon we will once again have the honor of having you as one of our guests


Thank you

Katherine May
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews