We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Nearby Hotels
$104
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adventure Inn(San Jose)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$93
$88
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
$87
$73
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveler rating
273
315
208
69
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
315
208
69
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel miradorindoor poolcorner roomcosta ricabreakfast buffetgold museumafter darkvery nice hotellast nightwalk aroundfew blocksfelt safepollofloorbellmanminibartours
Filter
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 909 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

No question this is a quality hotel. Great location too. But way over priced for CR. Check for AARP or senior citizens or military deals on line, or just show up and start negotiating. They are never ever sold out.

Room Tip: The higher up the better, south side for a view, north side gets afternoon sun and not as good a view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. Our room prices are very reasonable, so we are surprised you found us expensive. We really try to provide excellent value for our guests.

We hope you will come see us again soon!

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

After staying in a below average hotel in San Jose I was very happy to move into the Holiday Inn. The staff were very helpful, the hotel is really nice with a good pool and a great breakfast buffet. The rooms were comfortable except really cold. I was surprised how cold San Jose gets and without heating, it was cold!

I don't recommend staying in San Jose longer than a day or two. There is absolutely nothing to do in this city and the downtown core at night isn't very safe. You will see a lot of prostitutes in the area and apparently from what I was told by locals, people get held up at gun point. So don't flash your phone or money. If it's a stop over that's fine but I wouldn't stay too long in the city.

Room Tip: Higher floor with view of mountains.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahnya110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope you enjoyed all your tours and experiences while staying in San Jose.

Please come see us again soon!

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were pleased with the Holiday Inn. The breakfast was wonderful and the service was great at the hotel. The Holiday Inn downtown is close to many attractions and also some of the tours we took were great from this downtown location.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor and that was high enough so that we did not hear the noise on the main floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19,431,945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

so i was in costa rica and could not get a hotel with the rest of the birthday group and this <holiday inn was suggested. so i booked it.

it turned out to be well located in san jose. i was able to look around. the area faces a park and at nights is full of life. but by the same token, you wonder why there are so many of the security forces around.

the hotel itself was nice. clean. but nothing too incredible. the staff was friendly. the language was a problem. many of the staff did not speak English. my apologies to all, i just do not speak Spanish. the amenities were nice. there was a gym. a pool area. a conventon floor. the restaurant at the first floor was very average. and the restaurant on the 17th floor was also very average.

the room was nice. it was clean. and the staff attended it well.

all in all, nothing incredible. it did the job. for that reason i would rate it average. would i recommend it, sure. if you had to stay downtown and your choices were limited, this is a safe place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shark4rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you found our hotel a good value for the price and we hope you enjoyed your time in San Jose.

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Loved the staff who were quick to respond to requests, friendly and helpful. A small park is across the street and it is easy walking distance to local restaurants and a large, touristy, but fun market. Nice indoor pool area and a sweet little breakfast buffet that is included in the room price. We're going back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary1383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will visit us again soon!

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews