We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, property and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Ranked #25 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Saint Charles, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, property and staff”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you need to stay in San Jose, this property is a great location, quiet, yet centrally located. Professional and courteous staff, the rooms are clean, the breakfast buffet is very good, and the overall atmosphere is great. The pool is indoors and well-kept. The bar is small, but never too crowded and overlooks the square. Banquet hall and restaurant on the top floor are very nice as well, with great views.

Room Tip: Request a corner room on an upper floor, windows on both sides overlooking a great view of the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cml689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed our hotel during your stay in San Jose. We agree with you that our corner rooms give a great bonus of two views, although all our rooms offer fantastic views of the city and the central valley.

Please come visit us again soon!

Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    278
    185
    61
    40
See reviews for
99
248
93
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

as soon as we arrived at the Holiday Inn, we felt taken care of. The staff were very friendly and always willing to help. Whether it be by recommending places to visit, or ensuring that you're prepared for a 3AM trip to the airport (Not just a wake up call, but providing someone at your door to help take luggage for you).
Carlos was at the front desk for most of our stay and he was very informative about the area. Very nice and always had a smile. He even told us where to go to see a piece of the Berlin Wall!

The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. Perfect for a good night's rest after a full day flying. The rooms were nice and cool. Bathrooms were clean and well maintained.

the breakfasts were extremely good. I loved that they provided a lot of authentic Costa Rican meals. They were fantastic! Make sure to eat at the restaurant at least once. Prices are fair and the portion size is awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindsayD820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. Our staff loves to take care of our guests and we have been working very hard on the restaurant and are thrilled you enjoyed your meals.

We hope you come to see us again soon!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed here in December 2011 for 3 weeks. It is by far the best place to stay in San Jose for business. I was in a corner suite on an upper floor, and the furniture was in great condition - the room was welcoming and nice to come back to after a long day out. The room had 2 large TVs and 2 bathrooms, plus a nice dressing room. I was having terrible trouble with the internet, to the point that I had to go in the lobby to get a decent connection. The staff noticed (I didn't have to complain) and they said, "A businessperson staying with us for 3 weeks should not have to come to the lobby for internet." They ended up putting a router directly in my room and it worked perfectly. During that time I did look around at other hotels, and I felt that for the money, this was by far the best choice. The staff were fantastic - really pleasant and helpful. We had a minor earthquake when I was there and since I was on a high floor, I felt the building sway. It freaked me out, but the manager explained that the building was built to earthquake standards - it was built on rollers so that it would sway instead of crack during an earthquake. And indeed, they had earthquake safe zones on every floor.

The location is also great for tourists. You can walk to a lot of the attractions in downtown San Jose. Yes, it's not particularly safe outside at night, but I don't think anywhere in San Jose is particularly safe outside at night. In addition, there's an American-style grocery store about 2 blocks away and I loved going there to get all sorts of Costan Rican foods for a lot less than the hotel restaurant. In fact, my only real complaint about the hotel is the room service. I'm allergic to nuts, and I can't tell you how many times they gave me nutella ice cream instead of chocolate ice cream. They got my order wrong more than right, from breakfast to dinner. But they were good humored about having to fix my order all the time.

Overall I would definitely recommend the Holiday Inn for the great rooms, the location, and the fantastic staff. The value for money is outstanding and you're just not going to find a better deal anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everglades_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We really enjoyed having you as our guest and we are glad we were able to provide you with what you needed for your stay to be comfortable, and productive.

Thank you for your great review, and we really are sorry about the nuts.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairburn, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hoilday Inn was good. The hotel is in a great location right by Main ST. The staff was great, they got me into my room in minutes. The room was clean and just great. The taxi from the airport is $27 to the hotel. The taxi from the hotel to the airport was $30.

The only con about the holiday is that it did not have a ATM in it or close by.

Room Tip: Get a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roncee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and our great location. We hope you will come back to San Jose soon.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel on many occasions and recently stayed again in a corner room on the 7th floor. Very nice room, excellent view. I also was upgraded to the Executive lounge, which has a small, free breakfast with fruit, cereal, pastries, juice, coffee, etc as well as drinks and snacks in the evening.

I was also able to use the small conference room on the 15th floor to work and conduct some interviews.

Check in was fast and very friendly.

Rooms are large and the beds comfortable.

Room Tip: get a corner room or one as high up in the building as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BruceinFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your very nice review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our conference facilities worked for your interviews. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My BF and I stayed her for a few nights recently. We were on the executive floor, had a beautiful Corner room with an AMAZING view. The room was clean, nice bathroom and shower, and the bed great. The pool area was pretty, relaxing, and both times we used it, we were the only ones there. The only downsides were that the jacuzzi was NOT warm enough, it was the same temp as the pool. However playing ping pong was miserable after a few minutes due to the fact that the room was probably at least 85 degrees. Fine for the jacuzzi and pool, not good for ping pong.

The downsides: The executive center was a JOKE. The food at breakfast was not good at all. Milk was sitting out, lukewarm, yogurt too. Bread was not fresh. In the evening, it was supposed to be light snacks from 5-7. If you got there much after 6pm you were out of luck.

My BF's daughter came to visit us the first day we were there, she is a student in San Jose. We met in the lobby and then we decided to go upstairs to show her the awesome view in the room, but were stopped and were told we would have to pay $85 dollars to have a guest in the room. We were like, we just want to go up for 5 or 10 minutes.... nope, no can do! So his daughter explained that they thought she was a hooker, that right across the street is the Del Rey, where dozens and dozens of working girls ply their trade each night and lots of guys bring girls back to their hotel rooms and so I guess the hotel is trying to get their cut.

Having said that, a few days later as we were sitting in the lobby waiting to speak to the front desk agent about another matter we see a girl come in who was dressed in such a way that anyone in their right mind could see that she was a hooker, she walked over to the bellman, handed him something and then he put her on the elevator and accessed the executive floor with his key and sent her on up. Now I am not sure what exactly transpired in this transaction but my guess is that she was smart enough to bypass the front desk fee and apply it elsewhere. Whatever.....

I would probably not recommend this hotel actually.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammynnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We reviewed your comments carefully and are glad you found the hotel was clean and relaxing. We are sorry the Jacuzzi was not warm enough for you and that the pool deck was not cool enough for you.

Although prostitution is legal in Costa Rica between consenting adults, we discourage guests from inviting prostitutes to their rooms and use the fee to turn them away "nicely", without insulting them. It is not the city, or the hotel, but certain guests that come to San Jose for this type of activity. Regardless, no one at any time insinuated your friends daughter was participating in this activity and if she felt that way, we are very sorry indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Once again I stayed at this hotel, this time to celebrate my birthday. Since I arrive they make me feel at home. The Bellboys are great. Carolina and Carlos do a great job at the Front Desk and they always welcome me. The room at the Executive level was nice and clean and as I always forget my toothpaste they always send me one when I request it. I think the executive level needs to have more variety of snacks. I love the breakfast buffet here but I think the variety has decrease. As always I recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: upper rooms have a great view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josevalerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We enjoy it when you return to stay with us and are happy we could be a part of your birthday! We appreciate your business and your recommendations for our executive lounge and breakfast buffet. We are trying out new items in our breakfast to offer something different each day for our guests.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,440 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
945 reviews
2.1 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,331 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Property: Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#17 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing getaway in the heart of Central America at the Holiday Inn ® Hotel San Jose Downtown – Aurola, conveniently nestled in the center of lively San Jose, with panoramic views of the beautiful Central Valley. Conveniently located within walking distance of a variety of local attractions, guests will enjoy superior modern amenities and facilities such as free high speed WIFI access, an on-site business center, large meeting rooms, swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, pub bar, and two restaurants. Discover a hotel where technology and hospitality come together in perfect harmony, where you can stay connected with modern Internet wireless access, and disconnect with a relaxed Costa Rica ambiance and modern luxuries. Whether visiting for a leisure getaway or a business connection, this San Jose hotel offers a peaceful, productive atmosphere where you can get the most out of your San Jose experience.Conveniently located within walking distance of all the best downtown attractions as well as downtown businesses. You will enjoy people watching in Parque Morazan, located just outside our front door. This park features a number of sculptures and monuments which decorate the expanse of urban green, including a beautiful domed structure, known as Templo de Música, or the Temple of Music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing