We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Nearby Hotels
$129
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$87
$81
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
$84
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Park Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose(San Jose)
$190
$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (916)
Filter reviews
916 results
Traveler rating
273
319
209
71
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
319
209
71
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel miradorindoor poolcosta ricabreakfast buffetgold museumvery nice hotellast nightwalk aroundfelt safepollofloorbellmankeyparquetoursteatropedestrian
Filter
Updating list...
401 - 406 of 916 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have been to Aurola Hotel several times during this year and I think is the best option in Downtown San Jose. I have been in this hotel for business and vacations and I love it. The staff is always very friendly and attentive. Rooms are fresh and clean and I always take time to enjoy the indoor pool. The breakfast is always very good with a variety of choices

Room Tip: upper corner rooms are great!!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josevalerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Wow! Thank you so much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor! We are very happy that our staff takes good care of you when you stay with us! Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

On october 15 I stayed with my wife at this hotel ,at reception everything was ok nevrtheless our first surprise was that breafast was nos included and sincerely we always booked hotel and is actually very common that breakast is included even buffet. When we got to the room was clean but some humidity was on air then I tried to open some windows to get fresh air but they were completly locked. Then I decided to get some coffee before dinner using the machine and coffee at the room that mentioend costarrican coffee and to my surprise was old and but quality.
The we got dinner and was good but again i ordered coffee and waitter told me was a well know costrrican brand "Brit" but again was like water. AT breakfast we ordered eggs,,juice, toasts and fruit were charged $15.00 per person what we consider very high
Finally when you try to book this hotel in some places mentioned 5 starts and other 3.5 starts bu for me it is just 3 starts

Room Tip: it si import to consider that breakfast is not included then you need to add $30 per day for a couple
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barroyo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

To accommodate our guests, we offer both a room only and a breakfast plan on our website and through our reservation system. I am not sure who your reservation was booked with, but your confirmation should have been more informative and we are truly sorry.

Our in-room coffee is Britt and should have brewed a moderate pot in your room. We recommend to our guests that If you prefer a stronger brew, ask our housekeeping staff for an additional coffee pack.

As a high rise hotel, for safety reasons, we are required by law to ensure the windows do not open. The air conditioning unit in the room will alleviate issues with humidity after running a short time.

We also share your frustration on so-called "star ratings". Each website has their own way of determining the rating of the hotels they sell, and we can not control them. Our advise is to always look at guest review ratings as they accurately show what you can expect at a given hotel or resort.

We hope you enjoyed your stay, and we would love to have another opportunity to host you in the future.

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here overnight as part of our tour package to Costa Rica. It is one of the highest buildings located in the busy central part of San Jose, right next to Parque Morazan which is quite busy during the daytime with a live concert going on when we arrived ~ 4p.m. on a Sat. in August. The check-in was quite efficient with our luggage delivered to our rooms within 1/2 hr after we arrived. Very convenient with 2 computers available to check on our departing flights and we were able to print out our boarding passes. The rooms are decent size and our room offered a view of Parque Morazan. Actually it is located at quite a busy intersection where there is a constant flow of traffic- public buses and cars so crossing the streets are a bit challenging but not a great problem. It is only about a 3 block walk up to the downtown area of San Jose.
Our dinner up on the 17th floor at the El Mirador Restaurant was good- we had a choice of sea bass, prime rib, or free range chicken as the main dish. I would recommend staying here if you wanted to walk around the downtown San Jose without having to take any public transportation as everything including the National Theater, Gran Hotel, and Parque Central are just about a 10-15 min walk down. Lots of people for sure, but it's not a problem walking around. Need to be somewhat careful of the uneven cement crosswalks as they are not all that level. It is best to walk slowly than run. Anyhow with so many people around, it is difficult to run in the area.
Also, despite having an early departing flight out the next morning, the Holiday Inn had a breakfast available prior to our 5a.m. departure to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces Parque Morazan for a view of the city and the skyline at night.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenpammy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed both your stay and San Jose. We are in a great location for the local attractions in the city. We are also pleased you enjoyed your view from your room and dinner in El Mirador and we hope you loved the view from the restaurant!

Please come visit us again soon. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Great location, if you're looking to explore downtown San Jose. All the usual amenities of a Holiday Inn, so that was nice, although the bed was rock-hard. And when we arrived (9/14/12), the hot tub was in disrepair, filled with cold, dirty water and broken tile. In addition, our bathtub stopper didn't work, and the maid told us "they're all like that - the tubs aren't for taking a bath!". Despite that, we complained to the front desk, and to their credit, they upgraded us to a suite that had a working tub stopper, although the water wasn't hot until we complained yet again. In summary - in the states, the kind of service we got would not be acceptable, but in Costa Rica, I'd say it wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that the hot tub was out of service during your stay. We were re-tiling the tub and it is now in perfect working order.

We also thank you for notifying the front desk that you were unhappy with your room which provided us an opportunity to fix the problem by changing your room.

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I choosed this hotel due to the location and amenities they offer to every guest, is the only hotel in San Jose with an indoor heated pool with a nice pool bar, in- room dinning services was fast and very professional, presentation of the meals was very fancy!, they have a nice city view restaurant at the 17th floor, a good choice for a romantic dinner. Front desk registration was fast and clear, at the check in the front desk agent was very kind full, professional, fast and he explained to us all the facilities of the hotel and amenities, I would like to congratulate Ms. Nathalia Sanchez, she made my stay unforgettable and amazing! You are !The Best Of The Best! I requested a romantic decoration as a surprise for my Partner due to our anniversary, she upgrade us to a nice city view suite and the romantic decoration was Amazing! Ms. Sanchez you when far from my expectation...thank you so much. Staff was very gay friendly. I suggest 100% this hotel.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Santiago C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel! We are so pleased you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us and we are happy that we were able to help you make your stay even more special with some special romantic touches. Mirador Restaurant certainly does offer a romantic ambiance with incredible views!

Please visit us again on your next trip to San Jose. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews