We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“If it hadn't been for the WiFi...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
572 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“If it hadn't been for the WiFi...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

..the stay had been perfect. Good breakfast - nice buffet with a very efficient eggstation. Nice upgrade to executive florr, with a corner room on the 15th floor with breathtaking views over San Jose. Very serviceminded staff, always happily smiling - especially at the Mirador restaurant on the 17th floor. But then its the WiFi - impossible to hold Skypeconferences (which one does when travelling in business) as the Wifi came and went - on and off. This was not only the case in my room but also in the executive lounge and in the breakfast restaurant on groundfloor.
So with a more stable WiFisignal I would have rated the hotel higher, but this time during my 3 nights stay I had to swear each time I tried to connect to the WiFi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your view from your room and our fabulous Mirador restaurant. Our staff enjoys our guests and we will share your comments with them. We understand your disappointment with the WIFI signal during your stay. We are upgrading the bandwidth in the hotel as signal strength can be a problem when there are a lot of people using the WIFI.

We hope you will try us again the next time you are in San Jose!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    229
    147
    44
    30
See reviews for
77
197
76
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

When we checked in, we requested a room on a higher floor and they refused our request. They also tried to sell us a breakfast the next morning that we thought was already included in our price. They have a very nice pool, which we used. However, we were disappointed that the whirlpool was out of service. We also enjoyed the ping ping table in the pool area.
We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was mediocre. The room was very nice. However, it smelled a bit musty. The hotel location was good. It was a short walking distance to the main avenue.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are continually training our front desk staff in English so that they can be able to better understand and assist our guests at check in with their special requests. We are sorry we failed to provide you with the upgraded room you wanted and wish we could have another opportunity to host you! Our hot tub was being renovated during your stay and is again available for our guests to enjoy.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel staff was friendly and always seemed upbeat. I enjoyed my stay immensely, thanks to the crew working there . WiFi worked in the room without issue. WiFi is now very important to me, as a listed amenity.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Pura Vida! Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel and our complimentary WIFI internet access! Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I either missed something or my floor was not part of the hotel as I read other reviews about this property. We stayed on the 14th floor and the moment we walked off the elevator we knew the place was trashed. The hallway carpet was musty, smelly and just plain filthy. The room was no different. Dirty carpet and old linens in need of repair, bath towels so old that could only have been used for rags, bathroom mold growing on the tub and the shower curtain and so on. The room door would not close properly and the hallway noise filtered inside all night. Forget about the front desk staff, they were too busy talking about their own adventures. In the morning, we had breakfast and left in a hurry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pascalphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We are surprised by your review. We are fastidious about cleanliness in our hotel. Our general manager and executive housekeeper went up to the 14th floor and looked at each room and could not find a room in the shape you described. Your description makes us wonder if perhaps you stayed elsewhere. Our towels and hallways don't even come close to your description. We are very sorry you were so disappointed in your stay and hope you enjoyed your trip to Costa Rica. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed at this and had a great time. The hotel was very clean, the rooms very comfortable with a spectacular view. The treatment of employees was excellent. I recommend it to anyone visiting San Jose, Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emanuel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves on offering the amenities that keep busy business people comfortable and are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay. Please visit us again soon!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was our first stop on our honeymoon and the service is impeccable (front desk Carlos..Thank You). The location is central with beautiful views. For the location the price is reasonable. This is our first time in San Jose and I dont think we couldn't have of picked a better hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iqbal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Congratulations! Costa Rica is a fabulous place to celebrate your honeymoon, and we are so happy you chose our hotel for your stopover in San Jose. Thank you for your great review. We hope you come back on your anniversary to see us!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

After 8 nights traipsing around Costa Rica this hotel was a breath of fresh air. The beds were very comfortable and the sheets were nice and soft. The breakfast buffet that was included was very good. The buffet had a large selection, only the pickiest of eaters would walk away hungry. The wait staff could not have been more attentive. The front desk staff was very helpful and courteous. The only downfall was needing to pair for computer time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emeraldisle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to San Jose and our hotel and especially your breakfast! We hope you will come see us again soon!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 960 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#9 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Property: Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#17 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing getaway in the heart of Central America at the Holiday Inn ® Hotel San Jose Downtown – Aurola, conveniently nestled in the center of lively San Jose, with panoramic views of the beautiful Central Valley. Conveniently located within walking distance of a variety of local attractions, guests will enjoy superior modern amenities and facilities such as free high speed WIFI access, an on-site business center, large meeting rooms, swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, pub bar, and two restaurants. Discover a hotel where technology and hospitality come together in perfect harmony, where you can stay connected with modern Internet wireless access, and disconnect with a relaxed Costa Rica ambiance and modern luxuries. Whether visiting for a leisure getaway or a business connection, this San Jose hotel offers a peaceful, productive atmosphere where you can get the most out of your San Jose experience.Conveniently located within walking distance of all the best downtown attractions as well as downtown businesses. You will enjoy people watching in Parque Morazan, located just outside our front door. This park features a number of sculptures and monuments which decorate the expanse of urban green, including a beautiful domed structure, known as Templo de Música, or the Temple of Music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing