We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect if you want to be in the heart of San Jose”
Review of Hemingway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hemingway Inn
Ranked #33 of 66 San Jose B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Hemingway Inn is a charming B&B located just a stone throw away from downtown San Jose. Personally what I liked about the Hemingway is its homely feel, friendly staff and the rustic charm of the 17 guest rooms each designed differently and equipped with private bath, phone, Wi-Fi and security safe. I was lucky to have a peak at all of them.
I must admit that the Inn is not a 5 star but you will be comfortable and the staff are always willing to help. Room price starts at $35 and can run up to $85. Room price includes a nice Costa Rican breakfast which you wont want to miss.
If you want a real feel of San Jose then this is a good place to spend the night.
You will find new and interesting people stopping in or might just run into an author or artist as they seems to go by from time to time.
I didn't like that there was not sufficient parking space so you might need to find parking around the corner if you will be driving. The good thing is that you will be walking distance to restaurants, parks, museums, night life, shopping, etc.
The Hemingway is recommended for average families, couples, groups, or single adventurer.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are more quiet. Rooms get cool at night although they are not air conditioned.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eloim-Ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Hemingway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 120 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been staying at the Hemingway Inn in San Jose annually since 2003. It is behind the INS building and the Jade Museum and an easy walk to the Plaza de Cultura, other museums and the Theatro Nacional. (I always suggest a cab at night in any big city.) The prices are about 1/2 of the big hotel rate. The rooms are clean, the hotel is charming and the staff is bilingual. Breakfast is included. There is free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Smelly, dirty rooms and used, sandy sheets, staff very nice, I would not even consider staying here again, as a former backpack traveler this was the worst. If I were in San Jose more than one night I would have moved across the street.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank 1wanderer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I loved the old house turned bb. The staff was extremely nice and helpful! Felt very safe here and I will be back! The rooms include a tv and alarm clock. The hot water was amazing and great water pressure. Was nice to have breakfast included. Again the staff was beyond helpful and polite!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris10mia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Pros: The hotel has Character and allows me to bring over guest/date without any extra cost.
Cons: My cleaning lady seem to have a bad attitude when I asked for something to be taken care of, However the rest of the staff were friendly. My room Is so basic, no drowers of any kind and poor furniture arrangment incl tv. Floor seemed like it had'nt been mopped in awhile. I was there 2 nights and room service was only recieving new towels….I only mention it because of my overall expierence. On my first night, I woke up in the morning with alot of mosquito bites on my neck and upper back. I dont think it was the bed since I Looked closely, but was fine next night in the other bed in room. Breakfast I did not care for…..If you dont drink coffee in the morning your screwed. No juice available w/o purchase.

Room Tip: No a/c but fans keep room ok.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mario j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a place where anyone can be comfortable. Calvin , the Proprietor, has brought a number of activities such as wine tastings which will not be found at nearby hotels, and has interests outside the norm such as gold prospecting tours as well as reliable references for any Medical/Dental needs.The staff is very organized (good job as always Pilar) ,The Taxi is always on time. You will meet interesting people in the lobby or the small bar, (if you are interesting also) and it is close to all the museums and cultural stuff during the day and after dark as well. And Herman the Chef is always doing it right, not always fancy but always good homecooked food.
I like it. I think you will too.
.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredh136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

The inn has character. The location is perfect for any traveler. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The entire staff are courteous and warm. The room includes an excellent breakfast each morning. I didn't want to leave and started planning my next trip before I reached the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marquimark2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#40 of 77 in San Jose
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vesuvio Hotel
Vesuvio Hotel
#47 of 77 in San Jose
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Don Carlos
Hotel Don Carlos
#15 of 77 in San Jose
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pension de la Cuesta B&B
Pension de la Cuesta B&B
#35 of 66 in San Jose
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Costa Rica Guesthouse
Costa Rica Guesthouse
#2 of 66 in San Jose
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingway Inn

Address: Avenida 9, Calle 9 | Barrio Amon, San Jose 10000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range: $46 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hemingway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingway Inn is an authentic Spanish mansion in Barrio Amón. Hemingway Inn is a famously photographed building in San José, Costa Rica. Though the city has grown around it, it was originally built as a large hacienda for the family of a wealthy coffee plantation owner in the 1920´s. Though none of the seventeen guest rooms are the same, they all have singles, queen or king beds, WiFi/Wireless Internet, cable television with over 60 channels in English and Spanish, telephone with free calls within Costa Rica (and ability to make international calls with a credit card or charged to your bill).Hemingway Inn is in an excellent location, in the historic quarter of Barrio Amon San José, within easy walking distance of all the museums, great restaurants, the National Theater,Parks, souvenir shopping, banking, the central market and the infamous night life circuit.It will be a pleasure to host you at the Hemingway Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hemingway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingway Hotel San Jose
Hemingway Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing