We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very central” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gran Hotel Costa Rica
Ranked #38 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very central”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Tripadvisor locates this hotel several miles away from the city centre. In fact it could not be more central. It is opposite the Opera house.
The public areas of the hotel reflect the "Gran" in its name. The reception area is panelled with dark wood, and contains furniture from the visit of JFK in 1963. The breakfast room is like a formal ballroom. Unfortunately the buffet does not match up to its surroundings. The rooms are in need of updating and are quite tired. We stayed twice here in a "superior" room. The rooms had views out towards the Opera House, but I suspect the standard rooms would have views towards the interior of the building. Our first room was quite small. The second was larger. Both had refrigerator and air conditioning. Lighting was quite dim.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kevhigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your much appreciated comments. We are indeed in the renovation process of the rooms and hope to finish by the end of this year. We hope to have you back here in your home away from home at the Grand Hotel Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    294
    273
    131
    77
See reviews for
148
348
84
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have stayed at the Gran Hotel San Jose many times now, and they are consistently the best in customer service. The Hotel is beautiful, located next to the National Theater in central San Jose, and has great food as well. The restaurant staff and menu are great, and you can enjoy beautiful piano music while you dine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your much appreciated comments. Always nice to have guests enjoying a historical property in the city center in front of the National Theater and enjoying hospitality combined with history and culture. We hope to have you back soon at your home away from home in Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Spouse has friends in SJ and chose this hotel for us from recommendations. I booked online and was able to secure a great rate - I thought. Almost 100 year old hotel NOT KEPT UP. "Deluxe " room had one lamp, no couch as promised, broken bed (bed board's not connected to frame), windows that would not lock (lock broken and flapped in breeze), extremely dim - one - light in bathroom, phone not working for four days! Second day they had bed pulled out and were working behind it to try to fix said phone. Next day told it was fixed but - NOT! Finally told them to leave it alone!!! Two electric plugs available - one had their clock plugged in and the other had a PORTABLE (ROLL ABOUT) air conditioner plugged in to it. BTW the A/C was one who's water drain had to be emptied at least twice a day including at 2 am!

Bad hotel? YES. My spouse should have had a hint when they did not have room to show him when he check with them a month earlier.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your most important comments which are much appreciated. As we started a complete overhaul of the hotel just recently I would like you to invite you back to our old historical property and enjoy our upgraded master rooms. I hope to welcome you back to our hotel and enjoy a relaxing and beautiful stay with us at the Gran Hotel Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Madrid
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

A charming hotel in the best possible location in San José just across another gem which is the National theatre. Takes you to another time. I love these kind of hotels, so well preserved, and they are not so easy to find anymore.

Room Tip: As it is such a good value book the best rooms because the standard ones are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marenlared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, Director General at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments which are much appreciated. We hope to have you back here at your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was recommended to stay here under a special "Medical Traveler" program. I had doctor's appointments in the central área and this hotel was perfectly located within a short cab ride to the clinics. It's right across from one of the most interesting theatres I've seen. You can take an evening stroll down pedestrian walkways and enjoy the downtown área. Great Deal!

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comment which is truly apreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here twice on both sides of the hotel. It's soo loud. I've been awake since 3.30am with the crossing chirping in the back ground and some one hitting metal on metal. Last time it was general noise from the street and people shouting. With no double glazing and windows + frames having been here since 1950 (guessing) its like your sleeping in the street!
I don't think the rooms in CR are a priority to be fair the doors rarely fit the frames, the tv gets one channel if you're lucky and you don't mind distortion and there's no tea and coffee.
On the plus side the rooms now have AC and the breakfast is the best breakfast we've had in the four hotels we've stayed in whilst in CR (although this wasn't hard to achieve).
They put us the wrong room to start with but changed it with very few quibbles in a matter of minutes.
Behind the hotel is the main streets where you can get everything so it is a good location. But I would never stay here again because of the loud, loud noise.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLT78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments which are very much apreciated. Please ask next time for our double glazed window rooms on the north side towards Avenida Central where the noise is much less. We are actually upgrading all rooms to double glazed standard for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The rooms are very ordinary, but the price is very fair.
Coffee, overlooking the City's Central Square is great for people watching and real coffee!
Food is fairly priced but like most in Costa Rica, although lean, hot, and decent is not of
especial interest.
Location is the key, here. Although San Jose is not a stunning Capital City, you do have access
to the market - incredible fruits - the National Theatre and the Gold Museum.
Would only stay here 1-2 nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandor T, General Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and hope to have you back soon at our beautiful property in the Center of San Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#45 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#21 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#15 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Property: Gran Hotel Costa Rica
Address: Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#7 Casino Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Costa Rica 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the absence of a major first-class hotel in the country, the Constitutional Congress of the Republic of Costa Rica enacted the law number 34 on November 22, 1928, which was actually a contract subscribed on October 3, 1928, by and between the first owner of the hotel, Dr. Luis Paulino Jimenez Ortiz, and Cleto Gonzalez Viquez, President of the Republic. It granted a series of fiscal benefits to the contractor, in exchange for the construction of the hotel. There was also a provision according to which the Government was granted for twenty years the right to have at their disposal for free two apartments at the hotel for lodging foreign diplomatic representatives of extraordinary nature. Grand Hotel Costa Rica is today operated by the Elite Hotels and Resorts Costa Rica hotel chain. It is the only hotel in Costa Rica that was declared a historical and architectural monument by the government of Costa Rica. Located in the heart of the San Jose between national monuments, squares, museums and pedestrian streets, the Gran Hotel Costa Rica is just a few steps away from the cultural landmarks and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel San Jose
Gran Hotel Costa Rica San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing