We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“My vacations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gran Hotel Costa Rica
Ranked #38 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Nice, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My vacations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I've stayed in your hotel last moth and the best it has is the location, perfect view of the city while we had our breakfast that was served on the fith floor,k great by the way, also the room was cleaned, one think i liked about this hotel was the staff, specially i remember a maid called Milena, the guy Carlos from the front desk and the bellman with a nice name, Yaru, they were so kind, i recomend this hotel everytime you visit the city... janslandgreen@yahoo.com

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jans l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello thank you for writing a review about our hotel. Receive a warm greeting on behalf of the entire team of the Gran Hotel Costa Rica. For us, it was a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you very much to highlight the personalized service that we offer at the hotel, it is very important and motivating for all our Staff to read comments as valuable as yours. I take this opportunity to invite you stay again at our hotel, when you return to visit Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    292
    273
    132
    77
See reviews for
147
347
84
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miramichi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was on an EF tour of Costa Rica last summer and we stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and it was all we needed. Room was big and newer than where we had been staying all week. Food was good but we went to the McDonalds across the square a lot. It was clean and interesting having been used by JFK when he visited Costa Rica in the 50s.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwhit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, which has been very helpful for us and for the other people who visit this website. We always try to maintain the best rooms. Thank you again and take this opportunity to invite you stay with us again when you want to visit Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

A European style hotel which means small rooms and thin walls means loud neighbors. Although we were on the 3rd floor we could still hear the piano in the lobby. The lobby and patio dinning area is beautiful and elegant but the remainder of the hotel shows a lot if wear. Our party had reserved rooms with two beds and instead received 1 bed and a cot. Nice place to say you stayed here (once) but I will seek another hotel next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H20runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. It has the particularity that all rooms are different. On the 4 and 5 floor we have more silent and very spacious rooms for your convenience, where your stay will be much more pleasant. I will make sure that the next time we do not repeat the same mistake with respect to the allocation of rooms and the types of beds that are required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Perhaps it was a bad day for this woman , but i received an incredibly nasty email reply when asking where we should park, as we would be checking in just in time to run to dinner and a show . The reply stated that there was NO parking. When I inquired if this could really be possible , and that we would have to find another hotel , this is what she sent me:
IF THE GUEST BRING THE CAR THE BELL BOY FOUND A PARKINGFOR YOU THEY CHARGE $15 A DAY AND IF YOU MAKE THE RESERVATION DIRECTLY I CAN CANCEL WITHOW PROBLEM BUT IF WAS THROUGHT TRAVEL AGENT YOU MUST CONTAC THEM

Although it was sent from the reservations manager email account, I find it hard to believe a first class hotel would permit this type of " Customer Service" . Will not stay again when we attend the National Theatre.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank puravida1Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and at the same time I apologize on behalf of the hotel by the situation that had to go with the person who you wrote the biographer that answer through e-mail. At the same time I know we have already taken the necessary measures in this case, with the person who wrote this email so that it becomes not to repeat a similar situation. As we had already will know previously, via e-mail that made him reach you our sales manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
116 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Warning: If you must have air conditioning, this is not your stop. However, San Jose's temperature is usually mild, as opposed to the weather on the coast, so check to see what averages are predicted for the period of your stay.

We visited in mid-February, 2013, and the fahrenheit temps never got past the low 70s in the daytime and the mid 50s at night during our stay. It was also the dry season. We had spent the previous two nights in over-the-top comfort at the Intercontinental Hotel in the suburbs, so we had something to compare with. We had been on a Panama Canal small ship cruise and were extending our stay for two nights to see more of the city itself, its museums, and to sample some of the local food. Our stay was very pleasant. Yes, the hotel is old and some of the rooms are small, but the staff is good, attentive and pleasant. The room has a good TV with only a few English-language channels. They even have a concierge, of sorts, in the lobby area. The restaurant is good, not great. It's very pleasant to sit in the breezeway with a drink and watch the passersby, and the hotel is PERFECTLY located to walk and see the city. The main plaza is right next to the hotel, and the Costa Rican National Museum (excellent) is just 5 blocks or so away. The marvelous old opera house is just across the street from the hotel and the gold museum is around the corner. The Jade Museum is about 5 blocks in another direction, uphill, but not too uphill. There are many small restaurants around. My wife, 67, and I, 70, enjoyed the stop. We were ready to go on after two nights and part of three days, but we were VERY glad we'd taken the time to see the town.

Room Tip: Rooms on the outside walls would be better than ours. We were on an airshaft. We just chose by pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel, which is very valuable for us. Regarding the air conditioning I must tell you that our hotel was declared historical heritage - architecture and due to this reason we cannot make deep remodeling in the infrastructure of the hotel.
Next time you decide to visit us please send me an email to mercadeoyventas@grandhotelcostarica.com to me, Alexander M., and I will make sure to give you a room with air conditioning to make your stay and your wife as pleasant as posible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Gran Hotel on 3 separate nights on our recent trip. Each night we were a different budget priced room but each time the room was very clean and comfortable. The price included a breakfast buffet which was very good. Location wise you couldn't ask for more, close to museums and restaurants and right across from the Teatro Nacionale we could walk wherever we wanted to and feel safe. Definitely a good place to stay.

Room Tip: We had 3 different rooms on 3 different sides of the hotel, all were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westcoasthiker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for writing your review about our hotel. The next time you want to stay again in our hotel, you can contact us to: mercadeoyventas@grandhotelcostarica.com with great pleasure I will help you personally with the theme of the rates so you can choose the one that suits you in your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel has seen three U.S. presidents, Pele, Tyrone Power etc. It was built in a grand style of the 1930's and is located smack bang in the centre of the city, within a very short walking distance from the main attractions of the city, Teatro National, Mercado Central, post office and the Gold Museum. Also it has the pedestrian shopping streets just around the corner.
The breakfast buffet, included in my rate, was the best during my whole three week trip in Panama and Costa Rica.
So far, so good.
I guess the main issue is that the hotel, being so old, had small rooms. Of course I could have booked a larger room but then the price became an issue. I had booked a "standard room". Guess you do get what you pay for. It is also pretty big so the staff remained somewhat remote compared to smaller places. The biggest problem was the non-existence of a/c. It did have one of those propellers (ceiling fan in the official lingo) in the ceiling which helped a bit. But overall the nights were pretty uncomfortable.
As a whole I would say that it was fine for maximum three nights, not for longer stays. (One can of course ask if there is any need to stay in San Jose for any longer period?) The location and breakfast sure made for some of the downsides but all in all I just might look for a smaller alternative the next time I stay in the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jukka1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for share your review. There are two important things that is good to know for the next time you want to visit us; all our rooms have the particularity that are different even in the same category as it is the case of the Standard room where you stayed. Moreover, the hotel possesses portable air conditioners in selected rooms. Next time you want to visit the city of San Jose feel free to contact me at this email address: mercadeoyventas@grandhotelcostarica.com and gladly I'll get you a more spacious room with air conditioning in Standard category.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 961 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#9 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#47 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#21 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Property: Gran Hotel Costa Rica
Address: Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#7 Casino Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Costa Rica 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the absence of a major first-class hotel in the country, the Constitutional Congress of the Republic of Costa Rica enacted the law number 34 on November 22, 1928, which was actually a contract subscribed on October 3, 1928, by and between the first owner of the hotel, Dr. Luis Paulino Jimenez Ortiz, and Cleto Gonzalez Viquez, President of the Republic. It granted a series of fiscal benefits to the contractor, in exchange for the construction of the hotel. There was also a provision according to which the Government was granted for twenty years the right to have at their disposal for free two apartments at the hotel for lodging foreign diplomatic representatives of extraordinary nature. Grand Hotel Costa Rica is today operated by the Elite Hotels and Resorts Costa Rica hotel chain. It is the only hotel in Costa Rica that was declared a historical and architectural monument by the government of Costa Rica. Located in the heart of the San Jose between national monuments, squares, museums and pedestrian streets, the Gran Hotel Costa Rica is just a few steps away from the cultural landmarks and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel San Jose
Gran Hotel Costa Rica San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing