We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Faded glory” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gran Hotel Costa Rica
Ranked #38 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Faded glory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

JFK and others may have stayed here but this hotel has seen much better days. Once the grandest hotel in Costa Rica, its time has certainly passed. Room was very basic and stuffy. Bath taps struggled to produce water either hot or cold, showers were pretty much drips. Breakfast wasn't great, but the dining room on the top floor had terrific views of the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a view - the inner courtyard rooms are grim.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 5six73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    292
    273
    132
    77
See reviews for
147
347
84
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

JFK stayed here? So what happend to this place? The staff have no interest in addressing your concerns. They talk in circles and then smile at you, waiting for you to go away. Slot machines in the basement?!?! The restaurant is not linked to the hotel so no room charge etc. Weird, weird hotel. I suspect this hotel has serious backers but they need to focus less on what has been and more on what is. This hotel cannot compete with the established chains - despite it's amazing location and history. Which is a real shame.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMJtunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Young couple, late 20's, recently engaged. We stayed at the Gran Hotel for 2 days 1 night.

Superior rooms was relaxing, well ventilated. No A/C but ceiling fan. Very clean. Excelleny service. Excellent location. Very nice view of central city.

I recommend it for familys, couples and singles of all ages.

4 Star

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Openyourminds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gingelom, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a nice hotel but our room was not great. There was no air-conditioning and we couldn't close the window properly. Also we didn't have any hot water.

This hotel is OK to stay in for 1 or 2 days but not more.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwigLivingstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

You don't really go out of your hotel in the middle of the night to have some beers in the centre of San José...actually also not during the day unless you have to so you might ask yourself what you are doing there...the hotel, staff and breakfast is all good but the surroundings not, it just doesn't feel safe. Don't go out to San José Pueblo this is just too dangerous, you will not find a taxi back to your hotel!

Room Tip: The higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

After reading some reviews on trip advisor we were quite worried about booking here. However we were delighted by the hotel and its old world charm. The staff could not have been more helpful and were so proud of their hotel and its history. We were shown the presidential suite which was interesting and worth seeing. The room was clean and cool with the fan. The only slight annoyance was noisey guests and that is difficult to manage anywhwere! The food in the hotel was excellent and the restaurant on the ground floor really good value. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Figh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The overwhelming natural beauty of Costa Rica is not really matched by the attraction of San José which is rather banal as a city. However, some landmarks like the Gran Hotel, the National Opera or the covered market place make a visit to the city worth while when in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cantell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica V, Gerente at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Cantell.

Greetings from Gran Hotel Costa Rica.

Thank you so much for you positive feed back about our hotel. We are more than happy that your experience in the hotel was the best. I hope in the near future you will be our guest again, and enjoy, the unique experience of the Grand Hotel Costa Rica… The only hotel declared Historical and Architectural Patrimony in Costa Rica.

Cordially;
Monica Vargas
Marketing and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#9 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 1,137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#46 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#21 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Property: Gran Hotel Costa Rica
Address: Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#7 Casino Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Costa Rica 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the absence of a major first-class hotel in the country, the Constitutional Congress of the Republic of Costa Rica enacted the law number 34 on November 22, 1928, which was actually a contract subscribed on October 3, 1928, by and between the first owner of the hotel, Dr. Luis Paulino Jimenez Ortiz, and Cleto Gonzalez Viquez, President of the Republic. It granted a series of fiscal benefits to the contractor, in exchange for the construction of the hotel. There was also a provision according to which the Government was granted for twenty years the right to have at their disposal for free two apartments at the hotel for lodging foreign diplomatic representatives of extraordinary nature. Grand Hotel Costa Rica is today operated by the Elite Hotels and Resorts Costa Rica hotel chain. It is the only hotel in Costa Rica that was declared a historical and architectural monument by the government of Costa Rica. Located in the heart of the San Jose between national monuments, squares, museums and pedestrian streets, the Gran Hotel Costa Rica is just a few steps away from the cultural landmarks and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel San Jose
Gran Hotel Costa Rica San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing