We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (547)
Filter reviews
547 results
Traveler rating
160
245
97
28
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
245
97
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national museum costa rica recommend this hotel trains start buffet style close to the city center no elevator charming hotel bars and restaurants walking distance light sleeper breakfast was included hot water common areas staying in san jose horn mercado
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 547 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2017 via mobile

Check-in procedures too long, not sympathetic and above all too bureaucratic.
Rooms have no privacy if you open the curtains. Thin walls means that you hear all what happens close by. All.
Railway noises is quite disturbing. But when some guests were using the jacuzzi above me, I was forced to inform the receptionist of the noise and reception had to contact the guests on the second floor and have them finish the jacuzzi dream. Such weird hotel. No apologies.
Breakfast buffet is fine. Not wow.
The female receptionist chases after you and disturbs guests while they are self servicing at the buffet. She needs a signature. Another guest from Canada was shocked too! What’s for? Check. Who cares about check? Just count who is eating or make a guess. But please don’t annoy people who are waking up. Red tape woman! In addition to that, the guests’ list she hands you for the signature has got all the names of the guests. Is there a privacy rule in Costa Rica? Tips’ box at the restaurant for breakfast is pathetic. It looks like a donation box in a church. Pillow cases are of a textile which is uncomfortable.
Staff is cold and not smiling.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
Thank zerillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consuhotel, Director of Sales at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear Guest

We are very shock of a comment such unusual like yours, that is a possibility you are scoring another hotel. Very few of the standard more budget rooms, might have one of the windows see other room.
For the rest, we had taken everything into revision and consideration to make any necessary improvement and please accept our apologies; our philosophy and service try to be flexible and always considered. Focus on the guest best possible rest and experience.

Thank you for this comment; it makes us improve day by day. On behalf of all the Hotel staff and myself, we apologize for these annoyance, we have taken action on them and will be shared with our management group to be able to make decisions with the procedures that we precisely created with the aim of guaranteeing security and tranquility during your stay.

Again we apologize for the inconvenience that occurred and we assure you that we are working diligent to ensure that something similar does not appear in future stays.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2017 via mobile

Fluffy towels, crisp sheets and hot water, the basics were all good. The staff were helpful, friendly and seemed to have the answer for everything I asked. The breakfast served was as good as I've had anywhere, good coffee also.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Travellingfool2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consuhotel, Director of Sales at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time on writing this comment. We are pleased to know that details that you mention so basic have been provided in the best way, making you have a good stay

As you mentioned we valued fluffy new towels and the best possible linen quality, along with a varied buffet breakfast, as key aspects for a comfortable stay, is very motivational you value this little important details.

We hope we can serve you again and that you can enjoy other the rest of our services that are very well appreciated by travelers like the complimentary high speed wifi, free press and night coffee station at the lobby, live music, gastro-bar and restaurant, garden-terrace among others when you vacation in Costa Rica visit San Jose again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017

First this is a different set up, there are no room numbers, there are NAMES. This may be awkward if you wish to find a guest. However, it is unique in that sense and provide you with more privacy. Outstanding service, the personnel are there to provide just a service, they go beyond expectations. It is clean, light, with all the necessary services that you as a traveler look in a hotel, centralice with easy access to major touristic places in downtown San Jose.
Bottom line the personnel, they were always courteous and happy to help you whenever I need them, you feel like you are with your best friends and family and "that" is priceless.

Room Tip: I found all of the habitations well located, I was on the third floor with a small balcony, with lots of air and natural light.
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lougusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consuhotel, Director of Sales at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this beautiful comment, it definitely touch our hearths. Making you feel among friends and arriving to the house of a warm part of your family is exactly the main goal that motivates a truly service oriented hotel like us.

We strive to create a comfortable and friendly environment for our guests. It is a pleasure to read that you felt at home and that the service was excellent, that is our goal.

On behalf of all the staff of the hotel we appreciate your comments and we hope to have you again with us in this your home, Hotel Fleur de Lys

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017

I spent alltogether 7 nights in standard rooms without real window and was told this is "standard" for this type of room!? Another main disadvantage is the railway passing directly the hotel with noisy signal - with brake only from 10pm to 4am! Also the staff at reception is not very friendly.
I can not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: don't book a standard room without window !
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rainer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consuhotel, Director of Sales at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for this comment. It is a shame you did not contact me before and we could have given you a better room with an outside window, as you know our hotel is an Victorian house, so all our rooms are different, some of them have inside windows with a view to a patio and other have outside view windows. Also about you were experiencing uncomforted due the train that works during week days, to be able to change into another room and provide you earplugs.

The train crosses the center of the city, in order to minimize the noise; we have earplugs which you can inquire at our front desk.

On behalf of all hotel staff we regret apologies for any inconvenience and we guarantee that we will work to continue improving our service, and that you gives another opportunity in the future. We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017

This little hotel is a gem! Absolutely darling, clean, and with a very warm, friendly staff. Nicely decorated to make you feel like an invited guest into a grand Victorian home.

The location to museums, city squares, the mercado de artesanías and some really good restaurants (although we LOVED the hotel restaurant) makes this place perfect!

Breakfast was good and basic. What we loved the most was the little restaurant in the front of the hotel, as it was the perfect place to meet both hotel guests and locals alike and enjoy a wonderful meal!

Yes, it has creaky wood floors (added to the character!!) and a train goes by fairly often, neither of which bothered us at all. We read about the train, so were prepared (turns out it was not nearly as loud as we had read!).

I rated it as "quiet", because for us, it really was. The hotel was at 100% occupancy and yet the only creaking floor we heard was when we ourselves walked on creaky boards. We have been in bigger, more expensive hotels that were much, much louder without any trains going by. So we felt it was quiet!

My only advice is to make sure you bring the address and phone number of hotel with you. San Jose does not have "normal" addresses, and not all taxi drivers know of this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Dear Guest:

Thank you for this beautiful comment about our hotel. Despite of being in a big city, our hotel is very quiet and the train is not that loud, this is a comment we get from many other guests and yourself. We really appreciate this kind of comments because it helps other possible guests to know that they can have a pleasant night sleep with us and not be disturbed by the train, also enjoy the charm and services Hotel Fleur de Lys has to offer. We really hope to see you again on your next trip to San Jose.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews