We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect in-town base to explore San Jose”
Review of Hotel Fleur de Lys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Ranked #24 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The perfect in-town base to explore San Jose”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Fleur de Lys on 2 separate occasions for 1 night each on July 23 & 26, 2014. The hotel staff were friendly & efficient on both occasions as I was checking out early both days. For the more complex arrangements I couldn't explain in Spanish, they all spoke English very well. You're offered a welcome drink at check-in in the hotel bar which is perfect to unwind and get yourself sorted for the day or evening ahead. I think security is generally a concern in San Jose and there is a gate out front that you have to ring the buzzer to get in. The reception desk is staffed all night so not a concern if you're out late. The building itself inside is quite beautiful and has a lot of character which differentiates staying here to one of the chain hotels - hardwood floors, old glass, lots of antiques & collectibles. The room on my first night wasn't so nice as it only had internal windows & was quite dark. The room on my next night was much nicer - first floor, brighter & more spacious. All rooms have names instead of numbers so it's a little confusing! There's no elevator so if walking stairs is a problem for you, be sure to ask (when you book) for a ground or 1st floor room. All the rooms are equipped with all the basics you need & despite San Jose traffic going til 2am at night, I slept very well. Both rooms had a ceiling fan - which you don't need anyway in July as it's pretty cool that time of the year. Breakfast was delicious & plentiful with the usual continental style buffet of cereal, toast, juices, fresh fruit, baked goods & eggs. The WiFi was just fine. Grayline buses also do a pick-up from Fleur de Lys if you're travelling on to another destination like La Fortuna which is super convenient. Fleur de Lys were also kind enough to store our rucksacks for 3 days while we took a trip to Tortuguero National Park (also probably because we were staying there on our return). It's a very short stroll to the centre of San Jose town. We only wandered around the main shopping street / National Theatre / Central Market & stopped off to have a few drinks so I couldn't say how close it is to all the Museums. All in all, I was very happy with the stay, thought it good value for money and would likely stay there again if I'm in San Jose. I also stayed in the Best Western & Hampton Inn in San Jose and to be honest, if you're in San Jose for more than 24 hours, Fleur de Lys is a nicer option being close to the centre of town, a good choice of restaurants & presumably the museums & other sights - so you've a lot more options in terms of dining & passing the time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inez0972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    218
    85
    21
    11
See reviews for
42
241
59
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a true jewel in the heart of San Jose. The staff are welcoming and friendly. The moment you enter this wonderful place you know that you have made the right choice. Everything is impeccably clean and beautifully decorated. There has been a lot of hard work put into keeping this place in prime condition.
Our room had a king size bed with exceptional linen, pillows and mattress. The bathroom was spotless with very adequate towels, soap, toilet paper etc. We had all the best in comfort..
We had a wonderful restful night, considering it is in the center of the city. Very little noise from the street.
Furthermore, what a marvelous breakfast. Everything anyone could desire and delicious.
Thank You for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tolomuco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We got to fleur de lys and loved the decor. The bathroom was nice and there was a ceiling fan for ventilation in the room. Soap was provided. We got a welcome drink at the bar which was beautifully crafted by Luis.  Breakfast was included which was delicious and plentiful. The place is decorated really nicely with local art and there are many plants. There is a little library of books for guests to use. The bed was not comfortable as per the norm in Costa Rica. There is wi-fi. The front desk gave us a map to the bus station but the station had changed names so we never found the right one. There is a train nearby that could keep a person awake as the rooms are not noise proof at all, but we were okay. Bring earplugs if you think you will need them. There is a phone and hot water kettle in the room too. The location is near the National Museum and the Mercado Artesenal, so great location! Price was $58. We would stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DinoandDelilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

What a great choice in San Jose! This hotel is very retro-cool, a restored mansion right in central San Jose. My room was up on the third floor and was spacious enough. The decor is a little dated, but the WiFi, TV and shower are the best that I have had in Costa Rica. Breakfast is included in the room price and offers the usual buffet of fresh fruit, eggs, cereal and toast. I found all the staff very friendly and helpful. The location is great, right across from the National Museum and just around the corner from a couple of nice restaurants. The hotel also has a bar and restaurant. Buses also depart to lots of handy destinations just a block away. An added bonus is the laundry service; a lot of hotels charge you per item for laundry, but here you can pay to get a load done. Laundromats are hard to find in San Jose, so I found that a good option. The only thing to be aware of is that the hotel is right next to the railway line, and the trains start blasting their horns from 5:30am!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that gets as little train noise as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Good value, especially if you are just needing a place to stay for the night. The staff is helpful they even made our breakfast early at 2am and packed it up for us to take to the airport. The hotel looks a little haunted - just a heads up, but it is aesthetically pleasing with an overall charming vibe. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilenaMarkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed three nights in June 2014 and really enjoyed this place. Felt well taken care of by the friendly staff whom arranged pick up from the airport, gave us useful advise on trips and gave us a better room than the one we had actually paid for.
Nice bar and restaurant.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Asa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

On a quick visit to Switzerland we needed a place to stay one night in the Neuchatel area and this was really the only hotel available for a family. A quaint, oldish hotel, fairly easy to find in the main street with secure parking in a side street which is a little difficult to arrange. This means a bit of a walk with luggage but unexpectedly there was a fast elevator after check in.
Room quite large with four beds (two pushed together to pretend they are a double). Rooms very clean and beds comfortable. Breakfast was an adequate continental buffet in what doubles as an adequate Italian Restaurant at lunch and dinner time. Reception staff had very good english but difficult to talk to breakfast staff although they kept disappearing. Had dinner in the restaurant which was ok Italian but very expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.5 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#36 of 76 in San Jose
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#30 of 76 in San Jose
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#42 of 76 in San Jose
110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 76 in San Jose
987 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#16 of 76 in San Jose
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fleur de Lys

Property: Hotel Fleur de Lys
Address: Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#16 Family Hotel in San Jose
#18 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fleur de Lys 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fleur de Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur De Lys Hotel
Fleur De Lys San Jose
Hotel Fleur De Lys Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing