We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“surprised... in a good way!”
Review of Hotel Fleur de Lys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Esterillos, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“surprised... in a good way!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I needed a place to stay in San Jose, Costa Rica that was clean, safe, inexpensive, and also close to the heart of the city so we could walk to many things or take short cab rides. Fleur de Lys met all those qualifications, and then exceeded our expectations! The only draw back is the the occasional horn from the train. But other than that we highly recommend this hotel for a downtown San Jose stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    218
    84
    21
    11
See reviews for
41
242
59
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed at the Fleur De Lys 3 nights and then another 3 on my way out of Costa Rica. I loved this place. The rooms are all different, not hugely spacious, but enough, with closets and hangers, hot water all the time. The place is decorated Victorian style. Breakfast is included, huge buffet, traditional Costa Rican food and western, very very good. All of the staff were super friendly and helpful and many spoke decent english. The hotel is in a great location, 1 block from 2 museums, Natural history and one other, can't remember the name, but I walked from one to the next, 3 in total. It's also super close, about 6 blocks from the main shopping road, where you can find piles of shops, cafes, restaurants and a very old Theatre which offers shows and is a museum too. I would totally stay here again, they have a tour spot downstairs in the Lobby where you can organize full day or longer tours and there is a great little bar where you can enjoy a beverage or bite to eat at the end of the day. Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice beautiful hotel with very friendly staff! Very clean, nice rooms but a noisy train passing the hotel early in the morning. The food in the restaurant is good too!
For that affordable price the best option for a stay in San Jose!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

lovely welcome, friendly and helpful crew, very clean, a bit noisy.. sometime y think the train drive directly through your room ;-).. but in whole a good place to stay..y have the possibility to store some stuff at the hotel and pick it up later.. the restaurant is good and the price are average.. shops are in walking distance

Room Tip: we stayed once in a standard room and once in a master suite... book it via booking.com it is cheape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vroenggii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consuhotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for staying at our Hotel and writing a comment about this experience. We are very pleased to see that you like our Hotel even that we have this really folklorique old train passing by. I guess it has to be part of the Towns busy life!

Hope to welcome you again in our house.

Kind regards

Jordan, Director and his staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here with friends in the end of March 2013. I have to say that we really enjoyed it - the room was clean and comfortable. I also liked the fact that they provided free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In general, it offers a very good value for money and I felt safe which I think is very important in San Jose. I would definitely recommend the hotel. Perfect place to start your Costa Rica Tour!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice. Once before a tour, and then again on return. First time we stayed on the 3rd floor and had a balcony, which made the room very pleasant. Second time we stayed in a room on the 2nd floor with no windows, which made the room less enjoyable. Nevertheless, the rooms were spotless. The bathrooms were clean, with hot water. The restaurant served excellent food, which was well priced. The staff were friendly. But the train that travels alongside the back of the hotel is noisy. It isnt a problem from about 11pm to 6am, but every blast from that hooter when it does pass by will make you jump.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GarethKZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for two days at the Fleur de Lys while being in San Jose. We were warmly welcomed and felt on holidays from the first moment on. The entire staff, from receptionists to waiters and housekeeping was very friendly and courteous! It didn't matter if it was about ordering a taxi or getting general information about the city, the hotel's receptionists were always there to help us. Breakfast was excellent, fresh fruit, the typical "Gallo Pinto" and Costa Rican Coffee were exactly what we needed before starting our day. The room was nice and the bathroom spacious. An excellent hotel if you want to stay in San Jose for a few days and be close to the city center.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lili s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#28 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#17 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#36 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fleur de Lys

Property: Hotel Fleur de Lys
Address: Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#16 Family Hotel in San Jose
#18 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fleur de Lys 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Fleur de Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur De Lys Hotel
Fleur De Lys San Jose
Hotel Fleur De Lys Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing