We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay in San Jose!”
Review of Hotel Fleur de Lys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good place to stay in San Jose!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice beautiful hotel with very friendly staff! Very clean, nice rooms but a noisy train passing the hotel early in the morning. The food in the restaurant is good too!
For that affordable price the best option for a stay in San Jose!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    219
    85
    23
    11
See reviews for
43
244
59
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

lovely welcome, friendly and helpful crew, very clean, a bit noisy.. sometime y think the train drive directly through your room ;-).. but in whole a good place to stay..y have the possibility to store some stuff at the hotel and pick it up later.. the restaurant is good and the price are average.. shops are in walking distance

Room Tip: we stayed once in a standard room and once in a master suite... book it via booking.com it is cheape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vroenggii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consuhotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for staying at our Hotel and writing a comment about this experience. We are very pleased to see that you like our Hotel even that we have this really folklorique old train passing by. I guess it has to be part of the Towns busy life!

Hope to welcome you again in our house.

Kind regards

Jordan, Director and his staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here with friends in the end of March 2013. I have to say that we really enjoyed it - the room was clean and comfortable. I also liked the fact that they provided free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In general, it offers a very good value for money and I felt safe which I think is very important in San Jose. I would definitely recommend the hotel. Perfect place to start your Costa Rica Tour!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice. Once before a tour, and then again on return. First time we stayed on the 3rd floor and had a balcony, which made the room very pleasant. Second time we stayed in a room on the 2nd floor with no windows, which made the room less enjoyable. Nevertheless, the rooms were spotless. The bathrooms were clean, with hot water. The restaurant served excellent food, which was well priced. The staff were friendly. But the train that travels alongside the back of the hotel is noisy. It isnt a problem from about 11pm to 6am, but every blast from that hooter when it does pass by will make you jump.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GarethKZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for two days at the Fleur de Lys while being in San Jose. We were warmly welcomed and felt on holidays from the first moment on. The entire staff, from receptionists to waiters and housekeeping was very friendly and courteous! It didn't matter if it was about ordering a taxi or getting general information about the city, the hotel's receptionists were always there to help us. Breakfast was excellent, fresh fruit, the typical "Gallo Pinto" and Costa Rican Coffee were exactly what we needed before starting our day. The room was nice and the bathroom spacious. An excellent hotel if you want to stay in San Jose for a few days and be close to the city center.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lili s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

With my honey, we stayed here for 1 night at the start of our trip round Costa Rica.
We found this hotel not up to standard it was dirty and the bathrooms smelled of...Ouf ouf.
The beds weren't comfortable, and my main complaint is that some rooms had no outside window.
The food at breakfast time was dreadfull and if you did not get there early no food was left and what was left was cold. The food in the evening was better but very expensive.
We payed a lot of money for this hotel and expected better...

Room Tip: ?? I don't know
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadenyusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJose,CostaRica
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I'm a longterm guest at the Hotel Fleur de Lys, having been here since mid-January 2013. Really, it's a great place to stay! Total quality service, with excellent employees, a beautifully remodeled mansion, great food in the restaurant and located in central SanJose, for easy transportation. The owner, has done a great job in restoring the wooden finishes, inside the hotel. The manager, Jordan, will do anything he can to make your time here more comfortable.
I love the buffet breakfest and watching futbol in the small bar(closes at 10 PM).
It's rated 3 stars, but really, it's atleast 4 stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenV859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.5 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#37 of 77 in San Jose
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#28 of 77 in San Jose
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 77 in San Jose
994 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#41 of 77 in San Jose
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fleur de Lys

Property: Hotel Fleur de Lys
Address: Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#16 Family Hotel in San Jose
#18 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fleur de Lys 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fleur de Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur De Lys Hotel
Fleur De Lys San Jose
Hotel Fleur De Lys Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing