We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

After reading some of the negative reviews on this hotel I was a little skeptical about our stay. To my surprise and relief I found none of the problems reported by others. I think this establishment has made a real effort to overcome any prior deficiencies. For example, one reviewer sited a slow internet connection. Quite to the contrary I found it to be blazing fast. I have a connection speed tester on my iPad and I like to check the speeds at various places I stay. This hotel registered the fastest connection I've found to date. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful without seeming fake. The room was clean, the bathroom was very nice with plenty of hot water (which is not the norm in Costa Rica). Plenty of free parking (rare in San Jose) with a 24 hour guard. The included breakfast was good although an improvement in options would help. Our overall experience was excellent. We will be staying again when in San Jose.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank slickmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear slickmini, thank you for writing such a wonderful review.

We really do thrive in our guests' satisfaction and there is nothing more important for us than to show them that they can leave their total comfort in our hands because we always keep our promises, and as a hotel, we promise our guests that they are going to get all the rest, comfort and best services ever.

Our personnel is always going out of their way to make our guests feel more than welcome and to let them know that they can count on them for anything they might need to make their stay be more comfortable and staisfying.

Thank you for staying with us, we will look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    297
    128
    55
    28
See reviews for
139
202
59
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Having experienced a few Best Western stays before I thought I knew what to expect and my expectations weren't very high but the one in Irazu outdid itself! The lobby was much nicer than previously experienced with a more upscale hotel vibe, unfortunately the rooms don't quite match this modernism but the service was excellent and the with the free shuttle to the airport, breakfast included plus free drinks at a certain time in the casino it really was an incredible deal.

Highly recommended if needing to stay in San Jose.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bebop14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear bebop14, thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay with us.

It is always very rewarding to be able to happily surprise our guests and we are more than delighted to learn that we were able to do it and that you found our hotel above your expectations. We always thrive on our guests; comfort and satisfaction, providing them with great accommodations and very convenient services that can only make their stay be all of what they deserve and much more, that way, our guests can be sure that we always keep our promises by guaranteeing an excellent hotel experience, one that they will never forget and will always come back for some more.

Thank you very much for choosing us, we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here two nights, separately, on a recent trip. We had a flight arriving from DFW in the evening so we wanted to stay in SJ before heading out to an eco-lodge the next day. On the return home, we had an 8:30am flight, so we wanted to stay here again to be close to the airport for the early morning.

This is not an incredibly fancy hotel or anything, but it's priced right and the amenities are what you'd expected for any Best Western. Pool looked very nice but we didn't use it. The attached restaurant/bar was nice, but the food was very mediocre. We got free vouchers for Denny's breakfast but didn't use them since our flight was so early.

The Casino next door had a free-drink happy hour which was a nice bonus. We're not gamblers but the waitress got us about 4 free drinks each in the hour. Just get there on time because it filled up fast.

Also, the Airport shuttle was a great touch. Very convenient. Never had to wait more than about 15 minutes at the airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear David H, thank you so much for posting your review.

It makes us very happy to learn how much you liked our hotel, how you found our location so convenient and how comfortable you found your room. We are a hotel whose main concern is to make all of our guests know that they can count on us to make them feel totally satisfied, have all the rest they need and comply with all their requests to make their stay as comfortable and hassle free as possible.

We are very glad that you found the services we provide so convenient and our staff so friendly and attentive. We are sorry that you were not able to use our pool eventhough you found it and its surrounding gardens so nice, hopefully next time you stay with us you will have a chance to use it.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, the entire staff will look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Very pleasant stay, nothing at all to complain ! Nice people and ligitamite, always ready to serve and go out of their way to guarantee for you to have a pleasant stay. Simply an very good experience in a decient, safe and friendly enviorment. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Shonton, we really appreciate your wonderful comments.

There is nothing we like more than when we read reviews like yours in which guests write that everythng in our hotel was up to their liking and expectations and much more because we really do thrive on their complete and total comfort and satisfaction. We want them to experience a very pleasant and restful stay in which they can be sure that our staff will go beyond their way to comply with all their needs and requests so they can feel very well taken care of and as if they were right at home.

It was a pleasure being of your service, we hope to see you back with us real soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2014

If you are visiting Costa Rica for the first time this is good place to start. (this was our 5th Costa Rica trip and first time beginning at the BW Irazu). The Free shuttle from the airport is very convenient, provided you arrive not too late in the evening (check with hotel for last shuttle). The hotel room is standard USA Best Western style room, comfortable with no surprises. The the pool and jacuzzi area grounds are well kept and it's nice to have the room balcony overlooking the open area. We used the jacuzzi and enjoyed it. The hotel desk staff are polite and helpful and we could change some money right there so you don't have to run around looking for a bank to get your trip started. The free breakfast at the Denny's next door is convenient and adequate to start your day. Taxis are waiting to take you where you need to go. The only problem we had was trying to use the guest desktop computers with a Spanish style keyboard (no @ key) and the internet connection was very slow making it very hard to use. And the Subway sandwich shop across the street gave us sandwiches with stale bread which we were disappointed with, which brings up the point that there are not a lot of dining options, (not the hotel's fault), just the Denny's, the Subway, a buffet place across the street, a Hotel Bar/Restaurant and the Casino bar food service, but there is a market around the corner to get snacks and drinks and whatever you might need to bring to your room. All in all a good value and a good place to comfortably start a visit to Costa Rica. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Capt_Doubloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Capt_Doubloon. thank you for sharing such a thorough review. It is always nice to know when our guests are satisfied about our hotel, its services, its location and the attention received.

We are a hotel that thrives in our guests happiness and comfort, that is why we are constantly looking for ways to improve the services and accommodations we offer so we can guarantee that our guests are always going to feel that they got what they expected and much more. Besides the Denny´s next door there is also another new restaurant that specializes in Spanish and mediterranean food, we hope that you can check it out the next time you visit, and remember that our personnel can recommend several restaurants depending on what you want at the time and we will gladly call you a taxi that can take you there immediatelely.

We are sorry about our desktop computers being only in spanish, but you could have asked one of our front desk staff to show you were the @ key was and they would more than gladly would have comply. We want our guests to know that they can count on us for whatever they need because besides from providing them with all the comfort and well being we are able to give them we want their stay to be free of any hassles that can stress you and make this a not so perfect experience.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, we hope to see you back with us very soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

a very good professional and nice experience. the place is central , especial the whole stuff is very friendly and professional.this hotel has everything you need.
also the convinienc having wendiy next dor and a casino is the icing on the creme

Room Tip: book early...jajaaj
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FRITZLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear FRITZLAND, thank you for writing such a great review,

We are delighted to know that you not only found our hotel very professional, with a very convenient location, a very helpful and friendly staff and with all that you needed to make your stay a very pleasant and successful hotel experience. We are totally committed to our guests comfort and satisfaction so we do everything we can, to comply with all they request and need during their stay, that way, they will always trust us when their well being is concerned.

It was a pleasure being of your service, we will look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We needed a hotel close to the airport and my husband's cousin recommended this place. After driving around on the crazy roads of San Jose, we welcomed the peacefulness of our room which overlooked the pool. We wished we had stayed longer so that we could have enjoyed the inviting pool as well as the awesome workout room. We did get a chance to sample the fare at the restaurant in the hotel and were very impressed with the seafood soup as well as the guacamole. Pass up the souvenir shop in the hotel and walk across the street to find much better priced merchandise as well as a friendly face. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Betsy N, thank you so much for taking the time to write and share your comments.

We are thrilled to learn how much comfort and peacefulness our hotel gave you during your stay, specially since your room overlooked our beautiful pool and the incredible garden surrouding the hotel. We have always been a hotel who takes our guests' comfort and satisfaction very seriously and its personnel do everything within their reach to make them feel more than welcome, surrounded by warmth and attentiveness, with their satisfaction and well being completely guaranteed..

It would be a delight to see you back again soon, thank you so much for choosing us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
0.9 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
876 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#13 of 76 in San Jose
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
3.3 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 76 in San Jose
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino

Property: Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas | Edificio sur, La Uruca, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica (Formerly Best Western Plus Irazu Hotel & Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#5 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#7 Green Hotel in San Jose
#17 Family Hotel in San Jose
#23 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing