We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little too far from the main core of San Jose, but everything was fine.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The only drawback is that it is a little far out in comparison to the downtown core of San Jose. Otherwise all was very good, including the breakfast and hotel service. Also was pleased that Grey Line had a rep. in the hotel and we could book tours etc. in person.

Room Tip: We stayed there on two occasions on our trip and found a room facing the back of the building as wel...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 19,431,945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear 19431945, we really appreciate the time you took to write your review.

We are very pleased to see how much you liked staying in our hotel, specially the services we offer for your conveniency and the personalize attention that our staly with their comfort and well being. Eventhough we are not at the core of San Jose, we are about ten minutes away from it (by car or taxi) and less than ten minutes away from the airport so it is a very nice compromise because you are very near San Jose and the main highways in Costa Rica and are also able to avoid any hassles regarding how long it might take you to get to the airport, that way you can always have an extra minute of rest before departing on your trip home.

We always provide the highest quality of accommodations and services so that our guests will always be able to trust us completely , that way, they are always going to be sure that we keep all the promises we make rearding their comfort, satisfaction and well being.

Thank you very much for choosing us, it was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 728 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

It's a decent hotel. The front desk staff was very good. The bar staff were not as good. I picked this hotel mostly because of the free airport shuttle service. If you're a veteran traveler or have some Spanish skills you could probably find a better value and just get a taxi from the airport. The worst thing about the place, as many have noted, is it's location in a light industrial neighborhood with nothing of interest within walking distance. It was clean and had a very nice swimming pool.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surfdajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Surfdajane, thank you for sharing your review.

It makes us very happy to know how comfortable and clean you found our hotel and how pleased you were with our front desk staff. Our entire personnel always tries to make our guests feel more than welcome, providing them with everything they might need and sharing with them all the advises and tips to ensure them a great and very safe vacation. It is ingrained in our mind that our reason of being is to provide for each and every one of our guests all the satisfaction and comfort possible to make their stay an unforgettable experience that is why we like to apologize for our bar staff, you can rest asure that we will promptly resolve this issue so it never happens again.

Eventhough our hotel is located in what you felt was an industrial neighborhood, its location is very convenient because it is less than 10 minutes away from the airport and it is also very close to most of San Jose´s top attractions (if you rent a car or take a taxi), and it is close to all the main highways.

Once again we are very sorry about the shortcomings in the attention you received at the bar, we guarantee that htis will never happen again.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, thank you for choosing us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This was our third time to stay at the Irazu and it was a perfect start to our Costa Rican vacation. First of all,it was my husband';s birthday and we were so surprised and delighted to find in our room a lovely flower arrangement,a birthday card and some delicious fresh pineapple organized by front desk manages Wendy Flores. I guess our son had contacted the hotel about his father's special day and Ms. Flores was also kind enough to send him a picture of the arrangement. We really appreciated it,especially the pineapple which was delicious after a long flight. ! Our room was pleasant and comfortable with such a pretty view onto the swimming pool,huge trees and landscaped garden area.
We find the Irazu very convenient with its close proximity to a grocery store,the Denny's restaurant with breakfast there included, and one of our favourite restaurants which is just steps away. It is Casa de mi Abuela .( Grandmother's House ) run by a man formerly from New Brunswick. We have started our trip each time with a delicious dinner there,probably the best meals we have had while in Costa Rica. The free drinks at Happy Hour in the Casino are also a positive aspect of the Irazu and while there we met a friendly group of fellow Canadians who have been coming to the Irazu for years.. We had no problem getting WIFI in our room and we found the beds very comfortable. We also stayed in the Irazu on our last night before flying out. The Alamo car rental is in the hotel and we were able to take the free hotel shuttle from the airport and then pick up our rental car at Alamo the next morning . It was easy to drop the car off at the end of our trip and catch the shuttle back to the airport. Our experience at the Irazu has always been a very positive one and we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We have always had a room facing the pool and gardens and it is lovely. We could easily get from our...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 154976Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear 154976Happy, thank you for such a wonderful and thorough review.

It makes us very proud to see that we are your hotel of choice everytime you visit the country and that is also very rewarding because it shows that we are indeed doing everything we are supposed to do which is to provide our guests with everything they need to make their stay everything they expected and much more. Our staff works very hard to provide for our guests all the convenient services they need for a pleasant and hassle free stay, and they do it with all their warmth and friendliness because for the entire staff, this is more than a job, it is a pleasure because we want them to feel not only comfortable but also more than welcome, we want them to feel as if they are right at home surrounded by people who will gladly comply with their every need.

We are very happy that you liked our little "surprise" for your husband´s birthday, we are very glad that you liked it so much and it was our pleasure to do it and best of all, that we were able to send a picture of everything to your son so eventhough he was not here with you, he was able to see what was awaiting for you both when you arrived.

Thank you so much for making us your number one hotel when you visit the country, the entire staff will look forward to your next visit.

It was a pleasure being of your service.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I stay there for 1 night about every 2 months. The staff are friendly enough and the rooms are decent, but the wifi is terrible and they need to heat the swimming pool as it's a beautiful pool, but way too cold.

Room Tip: The Holiday Inn Xpress now heats their swimming pool, but about 10% more expensive.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank D9997DWMike_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear D9997DWMike_B, thank you for sharing your comments.

We are thrilled to learn that you are a frequent visitor of the hotel and it makes us extremely proud because it shows us how much you appreciate our accommodations and everything we do to make you feel right at home. Our staff is always wanting to comply with everything our guests need to make their stay with us a delightful experience and for us this is much more than a job, it is a real pleasure.

We are going to take into account your comments about the wi-fi and are going to share it with our Brand Standards Team so they can target the problem as quickly as possible.

It is a pleasure having you here with us so often, we will look forward to your next stay.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Service is good, without any sales pressure. Next to the hotel is a Denny's restaurant, were we ate the breakfasts that are included in the room price. Food is good, and the coffee very good.
The hotel offers 24 hours/day free Internet terminals and also free WIFI.
We were pleasantly surprised about the decent exchange rate given for the Canadian Dollar, the US-Dollar, and the Euro; right at the hotel front desk.
Local buses to the city centre are easy to catch if you walk the underpass of the highway. On your way back, exit at the bus stop right in front of the hotel.
We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Martinder,thank you for posting your comments, we really appreciate you taking the time to write your review.
We are very pleased that we were able to fulfill all of your expectations regarding our services and accommodations. We are very proud of our level of service and quality of product, so it makes us very happy whenever our guests recognize and appreciate them because they are the reason of the work we do.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you next time you visit Costa Rica.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This place is more than you could amagin, it was total breath taking and first class all the way.
The rooms were very comfortable,clean,roomy and very pleasant. The view was to say the least
unbelievable . Would definitely recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank craig f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Front Office Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear craig f, thank you for writing such a great review. Making all our guests feel comfortable in a very beautiful and cozy environment is what we are always striving for.

We want that everytime our guests think about their stay with us, they can remember a beautiful infrastructure with wonderful landscaping, the most convenient services and the friendliest and most helpful staff and that will immediately make them have a big smile across their faces. Also, by providing them a super comfortable and cozy room we are able to guarantee the most restful stay ever.

It was a pleasure being of your service, we will look forward to your next stay.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I have stayed at this Best Western several times and have always found the staff to be friendly and the rooms clean and comfortable. I returned in January 2014, having just arrived overland on a long bus trip. I checked in, and being very hungry, I ate at the Denny's restaurant which is conveniently attached to the hotel and food can be billed to the room.. But the food was misrepresented to me,,,badly prepared.....and way overpriced. I will never eat there again (I never have been a fan of Denny's but assumed that, since this one was affiliated with the Best Western, it would be quality. I was wrong) I would recommend the hotel but stay away from the Denny's. One can eat better and less expensive food in the hotel casino. Best Western should terminate there affiliation with Denny's if they desire to maintain a good reputation

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CentralAmericaRover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear CentralAmericaRover2, thank you for your review.

We are very please to know that you are a frequent guest here with us due to the great quality of accommodations and services we offer and the helpfulness and nice disposition of our entire staff. We really do everything in our power to make our guests´ stay be everything they were expecting and much more, we really want their complete trust regarding their comfort and well being.
We are very sorry to hear about what happened to you with the food. We are very glad to inform you that now we have another restaurant option in the premises, we hope that you get to try it the next time you visit us.

Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,396 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
2.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
0.9 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
900 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino

Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas | Edificio sur, La Uruca, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica (Formerly Best Western Plus Irazu Hotel & Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#3 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#7 Green Hotel in San Jose
#17 Family Hotel in San Jose
#24 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $79 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing