We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smelly and Noisy” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino
Ranked #19 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smelly and Noisy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Don't usually complain, but we have to here.
Location of hotel in a horrible. Not near anywhere I would want to walk, very difficult to find, not clearly marked, needed to go around traffic circle 3 times, during rush hour.

First room we were given smelled of cigarettes.

2nd room had a swarm of young adults next door running up and down the hallway. Tried to call the front desk, no clear directory on the phone. Dialed 0 noone answered.
Asked the kids to be quiet, they started up again.

Had to go downstairs, was told that there was a group in a swim match and nothing they could do, no floor where there weren't children. Would have been nice if they had dedicated an area without kids for the other people, I reserved in February.

Shower had little pressure. Didn't bother to complain, as I was tired of complaining.

The breakfast included is in the next door Denny's Denny's breakfast was supposed to be ready by 4AM, went in at 4:30AM before taking shuttle to airport, coffee wasn't ready. Can imagine breakfast wouldn't have been either.

Shuttle did come on time and got us to airport at the time we wanted.

Better to have stayed at the Holiday Inn right at the airport. Chose this because of the good reviews. Don't understand them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandcastlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear user,

First at all, we want to thank you for taking a few minutes to leave a review.

We apologize if your stay with us was not pleasant, we always try our best to give our guests a good experience, so we are sorry if we did not attend your expectations.

Your comment is very important for us, and we are going to focus in the aspects we can improve, to make sure it will not happen again.

We hope that you give us a chance, coming back here to live the experience we want to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    290
    119
    50
    27
See reviews for
136
193
56
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corning, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel 2 nights. The first night we were in Costa Rica and the last night we were in Costa Rica. We were surprised to how fancy the hotel is without the 'fancy' price. Very nice hot tub and pool. Recommend eating at the Casino beneath the hotel instead of the Denny's attached for supper...much more reasonably priced! The hotel room was very nice and all staff were friendly. A nice place to stay for your night in San Jose.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmallTownIowa47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear user,

We are glad to read your comment, and know that you enjoyed our hotel. It is always our pleasure to serve you as you deserve. We are going to be looking forward your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Aside from the power going out it was an excellent hotel. We took avantage of the free happy hour in the casino as well. Very nice pool area as well. Great reception on the tvs which at most hotels around CR was a rarity. Free shuttle and free international calls but I think they have to be landlines. I tried a couple cell numbers and it didn't work.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jondoe383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear guest,

We really appreciate the time you took to leave us a comment, its very important for us, to continue improving every day.

About the power, we experienced some issues the last days, it is not usual here, and it is something that happens in the whole city, not only in our hotel, but fortunately we have our own power source that starts working immediately.

We are glad to know that you liked our facilities and services, and that you took advantage of all our extra benefits. We are looking forward your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a school trip with a group of students- sooo clean and beautiful. The pool area is great, the infinity hot tub is a wonderful spot (especially in the rain) and the whole property is very high class. The only drawback is the distance from the downtown San Jose pedestrian shopping/dining area- you would definitely have to take a cab. You cannot judge this place on the standard of Best Westerns' in the USA. I would say this would be more like an American Marriott.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your comment!

We are more than happy, knowing that you enjoyed your time with us, and our facilities. Our location is very convinient, close to the airport, and only 8 minutes away from downtown, but free of the noise of city.

It is going to be our pleasure to receive you back here, and we hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

It wasn't my choice to stay in this hotel; it was Taca airlines who placed me here after canceling my connecting flight to Lima, Peru. I really thought I was going to be sent to a mediocre hotel, but I was wrong. Beautiful hotel located 15 minutes from downtown San Jose; the staff was very polite and helpful. The room was nice and clean, but what stood out the most was the pool and garden area which was very refreshing. The hotel several amenities such as a casino, spa, on site rental car and tours as well as a Dennys restaurant next door; the hotel also offers happy our from 5 to 8 pm. I could not have asked for a better place to stay; I will definitely consider staying here next time I visit San Jose.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cesar8378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear guest,

What a good news to hear that despite you were not meant to stay here, you had such a good time!

We are glad to know that we are going to be your choice for next time, we are going to be waiting for you, to provide you with the best service and attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Beautiful hotel and exactly the place we were looking to stay the night before we had to catch our plane home. Clean rooms, adequate amenities. The things that stood out for me was the free breakfast at Denny's in the am, the happy hour with completely free drinks in the casino from 5-6, and the free shuttle to the airport whenever you need. Wifi everywhere which was nice as well as an internet room where we printed out our boarding passes for the following day. We also took advantage of the infinity jacuzzi which was relaxing with a lovely view of the pool and rest of the resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear guest,

We love to hear all what you have to say! Our biggest pleasure is to know that people who come here have much more than a simple room, a great time. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We arrived around noon and were able to relax at the lovely pool and take a Grey Line city tour that afternoon as an intro to San Jose, as we were only there one night. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is friendly. It is outside of the center but there are plenty of taxis out front.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patty1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello!

It is a pleasure for us to know that our hotel was to your liking and that you got to enjoy our beautiful facilities. Been located 8 minutes away from Downtown turns into a great thing when it comes to relax and rest without the noice of city.

Our staff is very friendly and always willing to help, we are gonna be looking forward your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#15 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
3.3 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino

Property: BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino
Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas | Edificio sur, La Uruca, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#4 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#7 Green Hotel in San Jose
#17 Family Hotel in San Jose
#23 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western
BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing