We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“More like motel 6” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More like motel 6”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I guess I'm used to more best westerns in the states. They are usually a great value, with hot breakfasts, a fireplace or something else totally worth it. This one is just okay, nothing super awesome but at least I was able to print my boarding passes in the internet room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deje1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear user:

First at all, we want to thank you for taking a few minutes to leave us a comment, This is very important for us, and it is what let us improve each day to offer you new and better amenities, facilities and service.

We hope to have the chance to receive you back here, and we promise you will get much more than a simple stay, a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    273
    107
    48
    21
See reviews for
126
183
47
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VANCOUVER
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights as we were traveling around San Jose. Good large pool, good gym (free weights and cardio machines), laundry machines, tennis courts, secure parking, super market around the corner, a couple of restaurants in the same area, subway restaurant across street, dennys restaurant attached to the hotel as the included breakfast in the hotel (recommend the tipico). I would recommend the farthest wing from the lobby facing the pool. As the other wing's rooms facing the parking lot does not have windows that open but rooms are nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWHATSOUTTHERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear user:

Thank you for your comment!

It is great to know that our strategic location was convenient for you, as well as our facilities. We are going to to be looking forward your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I just spent two days at the BW Irazu, and it was a very pleasant experience. My room was on the third floor, overlooking the pool and gardens. I could open my balcony doors and slept without airconditioner, listening to the birds and the winds. The bed was comfortable, pillows snuggly. It was too cold to use the pool or jacuzzi, but they are lovely and would be great on a warm day.
I especially want to commend the staff. Everyone was helpful, polite, and pleasant. I was able to arrange for special needs like a cell phone charger adaptor and late check-out without difficulty. I especially like the people who work at the Britt gift shop, who chatted me with warmth and grace while I waited for endless buses.
Although Denny's is the usual American glop, there is a Mega Super Grocery store next door, and a building with a seafood restaurant, a Tico place, and a very nice Chinese restaurant. Although located in an industrial area, it was nice to be able to walk to conveniences.

My first stop at this hotel, in 2008, was decidedly not fun. Our room was near the Casino and music pounded through the floors all night. Meals at Denny's were the usual American fat feasts. Based on 2008, I would have given the hotel 2 stars and never gone back, but this time it was great.
My advice - ask for a room away from the Casino, overlooking the gardens.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool and gardens have nice balconies, and are quiet and serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermione_Cathexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear user:

Thank you so much for your comment!

We are glad to know that you decided to come back here, and it is even better to know that this time you had a good experience. Our staff is very friendly and helpfull, and it is always a pleasure for us to give you the best attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We checked in late due to some flight delays and was accommodated promptly at check-in which was after 11:00 PM (November 2012). The shuttle pick up from the airport took about 20 minutes after the initial call to the hotel. The trip from the airport to the hotel was less than 20 minutes as there was virtually no traffic to speak off.

The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. However, my wife didn't want to be on the 3rd floor. I told her that I would take care of it in the morning. I had breakfast (free at Denny's) at 7:30 and was surprised to meet up with the public relations manager (Ivannia). She wanted to know how our stay was so far. I told her that my wife would prefer to be at the lobby to be closer to the pool and other activities like the gym, massage and spa. She took care of this even before I went back upstairs to tell my wife that we would be moving rooms. We were placed on the lobby level as I requested and across the pool...you could walk out to the pool from the room and can see the gym, spa and jacuzzi. Ivannia provided us with exceptional service.

A few unexpected perks: Calls to the US was included for free & Ivannia took care of some special requests:) for my wife.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lobby level allow you to walk right out to the pool....we ended up staying on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear user:

Thank you very much for your comment!

I am really glad to know that we could help you, our biggest satisfaction is to know that we make guests feel happy, and it will always be our pleasure to have you back here and make of your stay a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Panama, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed overnight here because it was close to Immigration. They didn't appear to have my reservation but when I produced the printed confirmation, the clerk went in a back room and after about 5 minutes came back with the reservation. He was apologetic and was very nice. Our room was dated and cramped with two double beds. One was against the curtains which covered the sliding glass door. The bathroom wasn't the cleanest I've even been in....but certainly not the dirtiest either. The hallways smelled moldy but I didn't see any mold.

Overall, it was an average hotel. It was convenient to Immigration and did include a continental breakfast at Denny's (not a full breakfast...but if you wanted a full breakfast, they would apply a discount). Casino was a nice extra.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TxParrothead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear user:

First, we want to thank you for taking some time and leave us a comment.

We always try to make people have a good time while staying here. We hope to have you back here some time in the future, and we will do everything possible for you to have a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthill, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was our first stop in CR. They made our first day hassel free. Shuttle picked us up- free wifi and clean rooms. We originally asked for a king bed but was given 2 queens on the newer side. Bed for us was a little on the firm side. They also had a free breakfast at Dennys- which was nice. Also what was convient was the alamo rental was right there so that made things that much easier. Staff was friendly. Would recommond for the 1st night in Cr its not really close to much though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kymwtrski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear user:

Thank you for your comment!

It is good to know that you shared your first night in Costa Rica with us, and it is even better to know that you had a good time.

We are going to be more than happy to receive you back here in your next visit to our country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent our the last nite of our vacation at the Best Western Irazu. Not only was the hotel excellent, we recieved some unexpected perks like free happyhour and buffet in the Casino, free breakfast at Denny's, which is attached to the hotel. We also recieved free international calling to the US and free wifi in our room. In addition we were provided a free shuttle ride to the airport. We stayed on the 4th floor, the decor was somewhat dated, but the accomodations were comfortable and clean. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and accomodating.

We loved the Casino, especially since I won almost $900 on their slot machines!! We will definately plan on staying at this hotel anytime we are planning on being in San Jose.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room with a king size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear user:

Thank you for your comment!

We are glad to know that you could take advantage of all our benefits, our main purpose is to exceed your expectations, so you can receive more than a room from us, and it's great that you noticed it.

We are going to be looking forward your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
3.3 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#14 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino

Property: BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino
Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas | Edificio sur, La Uruca, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#3 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#7 Green Hotel in San Jose
#17 Family Hotel in San Jose
#23 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western
BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing