We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Best Western Irazu is located very close to San Jose and yet in a more tranquil area. We stayed here for 4 nights. Our plane arrived around 6:00 pm so we took advantage of the free airport shuttle and rented our car the following morning, which saved us about $80 in car rental.
The hotel has some nice key features, a pool located in a beautiful garden, a very nice jacuzzi, free international phone calls and the best of all, a coin laundry. My kids enjoyed the pool, I was able to make some phone calls to friends and family in Europe for free but the coin laundry saved the trip, as I was able to get fresh clean clothes for the 4 of us for the rest of the trip.
We stayed with our 2 kids in one room and I have to say that the rooms are rather small, that is probably my only complain. They have an ATM in the lobby which is quite handy and the breakfast is at the next door Denny's which is not a buffet breakfast, gives you 5 options, if you choose the "Typical" you will get a mini lunch, more than filling.
If you rent a car and go towards the Poas Volcano, ask for directions on how to get off the highway when you come back because it can be rather tricky, you need to pass two exits and then get off and back in the highway.
The free WiFi not always works well but they have a nice business center with free computer usage and free coffee. The hotel is a good value for the money, clean and friendly.

Room Tip: rooms facing the pool area are the best. They have a nice balcony, suitable for meditation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gladys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear user,

Than you very much for your comment!

We are glad to know that you and your family liked our hotel, and took advantage of our facilities.

We are going to be more than happy to receive you back during your next visit, and try to give a great experiencie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 792 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

I had a standard room with 1 King bed and a balcony over-looking the pool. The room was very clean and comfortable, and had a flat screen TV.

My room rate included breakfast, and a voucher was given to me for breakfast at Denny's Restaurant which is connected to the hotel. The hotel has a nice bar with a couple of large flat screen TV's, and a casino, which I did not enter so cannot comment.

The hotel has a large pool, a well stocked fitness area as well as multiple tennis courts. The staff were polite and professional.

The location of the hotel was excellent - a short taxi ride to the El Pueblo entertainment complex, and far enough from the congestion of downtown.

I would recommend this hotel to singles, business, family or group travelers, and I will return to this hotel whenever I return to San Jose.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DoctorRoccoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear user:

Thank you very much for your comment!

It is great to know that you enjoyed all we have to offer. Our biggest satisfaction is to know that our guests receive a great service, and it will be our pleasure to receive you back here anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

A great value....very clean...very friendly...great central location...free shuttle to and from airport...free breakfast...nice pool/hot tub...free happy hour at the hotel bar every night...helpful staff...Our son made a big mistake when we arrived at San Jose airport: he left his Ipad there. Jesus and William at the front desk helped us communicate with the security and police at the airport and we actually got the IPad back! Due to their diligence and hard work, they made our stay in CR a lot better. We will never forget Jesus and William...great guys! They certainly went above and beyond for us. We will certainly stay at Best Western Irazu the next time we are in SJ. Also, there is a taxi driver (red taxi) Enrique who works from the hotel lobby...great guy, bilingual, native, knowledgeable, we hired him for tours and he was amazing with areas, history, government, back roads, short cuts..saved us a lot of time...we would have never found some of the places w/o Enrique the taxi driver...Thank you, Jesus, William and Enrique...Pura Vida, Barbara

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barbara o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear user:

Thank you very much for your comment!

We know about your incident, and we are really pleased that our staff was able to help you and made your stay even better.

We will be happily waiting for you next time, with the best facilities, amenities, and of course, the best people!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have only good things to say about this place. Every year for 10 years, I have made this hotel a must stay. The facility and staff caters to the overall comfort and security of the guest. The most notable of the amenities includes a convenient location, a world class pool with sun deck surrounded by lush plant growth and trees, free international calls, a wide selection of rooms, wifi, free breakfasts, free drinks for an hour every day, a well equipped gym and a spa, a staff so friendly it feels like home, a casino, a grocery store and several restaurants a few steps away.
I could not ask for more in a reasonably priced hotel and I hope to be a return guest for many years to come.

Room Tip: Best views are pool side. If with a small group, there are many adjoining with access between. A num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EasyEdChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear user:

Thank you very much for your comment!

We also hope you to become a return guest for many years to come, and it will always be our pleasure to serve you the way you deserve. We are waiting for you since now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed overnight here before making my way to Mal Pais. The shuttle from the airport was convenient and clean. The check-in process took a bit of time (maybe new employees?) but once I got the keys to the room everything went smoothly. The room was not big; however, it was hardly small either. The pool view was nice - the pool itself was pretty cold. Free happy hour is certainly nice, and a nice way to meet some new people and hear about Costa Rican adventures. I'd definitely recommend this hotel - it's especially convenient for people either traveling on to another place or returning to San Jose to catch a flight.

Room Tip: Go for the pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGonigall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear user:

Thank you very much for your comment!

We are glad to hear that you liked our hotel, and we will be for sure waiting for you during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We recommend all of our clients that need to stay overnight in San Jose, to stay at Best Western Irazu. It is such a comfortable hotel, and all the employees are nice and polite and very very helpful! Free happy hour, and free airport shuttle are such great amenities to offer their guests. makes your arrival or departure to/from San Jose so simple and easy. You can also rent a car right in their lobby if you wish to drive anywhere else in the country. The pool area is great and they have a great hot tub! Great Place!!

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms close to the Hot tub, less of a walk back to your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear user:

Thank you very much for your comment!

We are always going to do our best to give our guests and unforgettable experience with the best service, facilities and amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I booked my stay at this Best Western Hotel on Expedia.com and I was really happy with my choice. The most important and nicest element was the free transfer from the airport to the hotel. The rooms were clean and worth the price. It is a good hotel for using as a crush over upon arrival in San José. The gentleman and lady at the reception were kind and helpfull. Breakfast was included but was quite poor. Close-by there is a mall called Terra Mall which is beautiful and perfect for shopping or dinner. Result: Alot for a cheap price!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear user:

Than you very much for your comment!

It is great to know that you had a good time and that it was worth your money. It will be our pleasure to have you here when you come back to Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
998 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
0.4 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
966 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino

Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas | Edificio sur, La Uruca, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica (Formerly Best Western Plus Irazu Hotel & Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#4 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#7 Green Hotel in San Jose
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose
#24 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $78 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service San Jose, Costa Rica hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions including the Costa Rican Art Museum, the Braulio Carrillo National Park and the Poas Volcano. Whether traveling on business or just taking a trip for fun, the Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino offers all of the amenities and conveniences to ensure a worry free and enjoyable stay. This full-service San Jose, Costa Rica hotel provides comfortable accommodations, superb customer service and a centralized location, all for a great value. The hotel is ideally situated just a few minutes from the heart of downtown San Jose and a short distance from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. Each of the 194 well-appointed guest rooms features cable satellite television, unlimited international IP calls (small fee applies) and free wireless internet access. Enjoy a complimentary full breakfast each morning and find a great selection for lunch and dinner at Denny's® Restaurant located on the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing