We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Ranked #20 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Better than I expected!”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed one night my last night in CR, after getting mad at my downtown hotel and moving out here. Desk personnel were very friendly and easy to communicate with. Rooms are pretty typical Best Western rooms, but very clean and comfortable. Check your patio window as mine was unlocked on arrival and easy to move from room to room on the balcony. No losses for me though as I make a habit to check windows when I arrive. Pool area was spectacular, big and very clean pool (with very cold water!!) and surrounding area was very clean with lots of grass and plants. Free happy hour was a surprise and bar staff was friendly and efficient. Free international calls was a shock and I actually used it to call home for the first time in two weeks (didn't see that anywhere else and really appreciated it). Don't know if casino is part of hotel or just connected but was typical in size except more card tables than I had seen in some. One reviewer mentioned hookers, but I was there on a Saturday night and saw no hookers anywhere. Free shuttle to airport and quick ride. Will definitely stay here again headed into or out of country.

Room Tip: Poolside offers a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingTexan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivannia Z, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear user:

Thank you very much for your comments. We are delighted to have met your expectations and we will be happy to receive you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    301
    129
    55
    29
See reviews for
142
204
59
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed 1 night upon arrival, and the last night before departure. Free phone calls anywhere in the world! Free Wi-fi and computer/Internet! Free Shuttle service! Free Happy Hour between 5-6 p.m.!! What's NOT to like? Oh, okay, their pillows ARE rock hard...and my first night's sleep in front of the A/C on that made my neck arthritis kick in for the week. Knowing better our last night, I pulled my jacket out of my suitcase and made that my pillow. Would we stay here again? Absolutely!! "Enrique" provided our taxi service whenever we needed it, and even stayed with us shopping for souvenirs downtown because he knew we needed help with the language. Please tip these people who are more than willing to help you! It made our experience so much more fun! On our way back to the hotel, he made a 'short-cut' through a nasty-looking area (red light district where prostitution is legal), so it gave us a glimpse of the San Jose locals too. They drive like C R A Z Y everywhere in the country, ignoring Stop signs and no 'lanes' to stay in. Thus, the Free happy hour was spent sitting on their front veranda watching the scenery and blazing traffic whiz by! Lobby also offers "Departure Tax" service so you can avoid an extra line at the airport (tad more expensive, but worth it!). Well-stocked gift shop with the same things you'll find throughout your journey, for those last-minute have-to-haves!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 47Kulta47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I booked this hotel thinking it was adjacent to the Denny's across from the airport. There is actually more than one Denny's in San Jose and this hotel is 20 min from the airport without traffic.(We arrived after midnight). The shuttle stopped at 1130 pm so we paid a cab $40 to take our group of 7 to the hotel. We were only on the property 8 hours but it worked out well because we got breakfast at Denny's included. Denny's is very expensive in CR so this is a big benefit of the hotel. The hotel also has good access to the new toll road to Jaco.

I had booked the hotel for our final night as well but cancelled when I realized the distance from the airport. If you're leaving on an early flight, you'll want to stay across the street from the airport at the Holiday Inn Express or Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar/casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rambler1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Il.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

The hotel is clean, but the room had that sewer smell in the bathroom. One of the reasons I picked this hotel was for the free shuttle, thinking it would also have a city drop off service--which it does not. Only the airport, which was convenient, but it's quite a ways from downtown requiring a taxi ride $8-$10 US each way.The breakfast is free, but don't eat lunch or dinner at this overpriced Denny's. There's a nice dinner place directly across the street. The hotel also offered free international calling and a one hour free happy hour for guests. The staff were really helpful, and delightful. You can rent a car from Alamo right there or book Grayline tours. The pool area was lovely, although we didn't use it. Expect late flight arrivals to be noisy for a short period in the hallways.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

The rooms were great. clean and comfortable. a few eating places around to get you on your way. free airport transfers.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibenik, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Basic amenities, clean, and comfortable beds. WIFI works ok. Location is fairly good if you don't have much desire for downtown crowds. There are a few nearby restaurants and a grocery store for your meal and snacking needs.

One issue I had was that there isn't a central air system (though they do have an in-room ac/heater), so upon check-in the room's air was extremely stale and dank, like an old ash-tray. Another room I was offered was slightly better but still bad, but thankfully it returned to a normal smell after an hour with the balcony door open.

Breakfast was complimentary, but terrible. You are given a very limited set of choices at the attached Denny's restaurant (pick #3 if you find yourself there as it's the least disgusting). I can't imagine why some reviewers think having this restaurant attached is a great thing. It's overpriced to the extreme, and poor quality, not even worth going there for free breakfast.

The free airport shuttle is a nice feature.

Overall I would recommend this hotel, but they could improve by including a kettle rather than just a coffee maker, and by airing out the rooms prior to check-in.

Room Tip: 4th floor has a better view, and the room's initial staleness appears to be much less than the 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inquisitor_am_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Yes, there is a Denny's there. And a casino. But the Denny's has Gallo Pinto for breakfast if you wish. The location works near the airport. Calls to the US are free. Internet as well. Nice pool and area around it. Bland rooms, but nice and clean. Good fitness center.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiowaVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
889 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
2.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino

Property: Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas | Edificio sur, La Uruca, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica (Formerly Best Western Plus Irazu Hotel & Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#4 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#7 Green Hotel in San Jose
#17 Family Hotel in San Jose
#24 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing