We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, not good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
Ranked #19 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not bad, not good”
Reviewed November 5, 2006

Not bad, not that good.

Rooms are ok, breakfast is good.

Fitness Center is actualy very good.

Lots of construction right now, quite noisey.

  • Liked — breakfast and fitness center
  • Disliked — construction ---- noisey.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank orangecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    233
    100
    22
    10
See reviews for
44
110
38
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2006

Stayed at the Tryp Corobici for one night. It's in a good location between the airport and the city, right off the highway. Our room was clean and modern, with a huge marble bathroom. After a long day of traveling - our flight was delayed 4 hours - we were starving when we arrived around midnight. The room service food was good, reasonably priced and delivered quickly. Breakfast the next morning in the coffee shop was also very good. Staff were all pleasant to deal with. And thanks to the previous reviewer who recommended the computer on the 6th floor for internet! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay there again if I were in San Jose.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mack6433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2006

We just stayed the one night. A typrical North American Hotel, with all the good points. Clean, well appointed, a little past its prime.
The staff were pleasant and helpful. The parking lot is well lit, is supervised, and is free.

The room was adequate, a little dark, the washroom was against the outside wall which limits the size of the window. The bathroom/ shower were fine. There is a pool, and the restaurent seemed very good.
The breakfast, included in the price of $85 (plus tax) was first rate by any standards. All the usual stuff for the muesli crowd, (fruit cereal, yoghurt) but eggs, bacon, sausage etc for real men.
We liked it, but will look for somewhere less expensive next time.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank condor13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2006

Well when I reached the Corobici I really thought that it was rather nice. The rooms were up to my standards and the service was really good as well. Unfortunatley, when i went down to the bar they were charging $5 a beer and around $7 dollars a mixed drink. I found this to be ridiculous since beer is only $1.50 and mixed drinks are only $3 around the city and surrounding areas. Also, the Japanese restaurant was expensive and well everytime I ate there (which was only twice) my stomach hated me for it. Casino is absolutely horrible! Its small and reminds me of an underground sweatshop. Honestly they don't even have a bathroom anywhere near; you have to walk all the way back near the front desk for the closest bathroom. Breakfast was alright at best. They always run out of OJ since the rest of there juice taste horrible and very THICK. Also, if you feel the need to go to the supermarket, that is right across the street, you have to risk your life by running across 8 lanes of traffic with cars and buses driving around 50-60 mph. They really need to build a cross walk to escort people safely over the bridge. I would say if your looking for something just for a night or two Tryp Corobici is the place. If you looking for a place for an extended stay go somewhere else like the Marriot.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2006

Hotel looks like it needs work from the outside, but the rooms are actually quite good. Coffee maker in room. Asked for and was provided with an alarm clock, iron & ironing board, and an extra luggage rack. Extra packets of coffee had to ordered the night before, as you couldn't get them brought to your room in the morning before 7am. (If you're staying more than one night, extra packets of coffee must be asked for...). Good supermarket just across the street, as well as a major bus stop for going into the center of San Jose. Pool is fine and the restaurant serves a pretty good steak (lomito). Internet in the business center is quite expensive, but if you happen to wander to the 6th floor, a lone computer there (in a little lounge across from the elevator) tends to have free Internet ;-)

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Free-to-wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 2, 2006

My husband and I spent our last night in Costa Rica at the Tryp Corobici. The morning after we arrived in the USA I noticed a series of bites in line on my body. Diagnosis--bedbug bites! Check your mattress, rug, and bed clothing!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2005

I spoke with Trip over the phone and they spoke about the great pool they had on site. Upon arriving, they told me that pool was under construction - there was no water in it at all. The rooms were ok for the price, and the majority of the staff was friendly, but one staff member was very rude. I went to buy something in the gift shop, and she had me wait about 10 minutes while she spoke on the phone to one of her friends. I just wanted to buy and mail a postcard. When I asked if she could mail it (you can pay one dollar and the gift shop will mail it for you) she said ok and come to find out, it never arrived! I guess I shouldn't have been surprised after how she was acting.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Austin_TexasJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.6 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,433 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
6.0 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
Address: Autopista Gral Canas | Costado Norte del Parque Metropolitano, La Sabana, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica (Formerly Tryp Corobici)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#13 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Crowne Plaza Corobicí Conference Center- is the ideal place to enjoy your visit to San Jose. Is located just 5 minutes away from the financial district and 15 minutes away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. Is perfect for your business travels or to spend your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Corobici
Crowne Plaza San Jose
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing