We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great hotel, near the city and the airport.
We loved the rooms! Huge size, we had two queen beds, seating area, and LOTS of luggage, but the room is so big that we managed just fine.
We enjoyed the fast internet in the room and the air condition as well.
The breakfast room is nice with option to seat in garden and enjoy the weather.
The staff of the hotel were very helpful and nice and made our stay memorable.
Great hotel when you visit San Jose!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qw4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest :

Thank you very much for your kindness in spending the time to share with us your comments , it is so greatful to know that you have a great stay.
Our goal is to become the hotel that our guests love , creating new experiences each day , this is your home at any time you want to come and spend with us.

Sincerely yours,

Pamela Vega
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 556 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel offers great service and have great facilities. Food is awesome and the gym is amazing!
The staff is super friendly and willing to help at any time. Not once have I crossed one employee without him or her greeting me.
Rooms are big and comfortable and connectivity was always good and available.
They recognized me as an IHG Rewards member.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrimat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Guest :

On behalf of all the Staff of our hotel we want to express our sincere Thanks !!!! for your kind attention, and time to share with us your experience at our hotel.

The Crowne Plaza Hotels Philosophy is based on the goal of the Hotel that our guests love. We are focus each day to make our preformance and excellent one.

Once again thank you , we will be looking forward for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel before it became the Crowne and was not impressed so when I was booked here again I wasn't too happy. On arrival amazing transformation to hotel services and staff being an IHG rewards member the club lounge was great and girls that ran it absolutely fantastic. Still the best gym anywhere in Latin America will keep coming back now thank you Crowne Plaza

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind attention and the time to share with us your comments , at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, we are always looking forward to make our guests have a memorable stay at our hotel. This is our promise of service besides an excellent service. Means our perfect combination to keep Costa Rica in our guests minds.

On behalf of all the Crowne Plaza Hotel Staff, we do hope to be able to host you in a near future in Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The Crown Plaza in San Jose is nice but some of the rooms seem slightly dated. Due to the large 2 level lobby area that echos rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor can be fairly noisy. Ironically the most dated rooms seem to be on the club level, the room I stayed in briefly on this level the door lock was difficult to work and the safe in the room did not work. Both of which were caused by low batteries and any decent hotel has a maintenance schedule that prevents this,, unfortunately the Crown Plaza seems to be a little bit behind on their maintenance schedule for this.

The elevator has large protruding metal buttons to select the floors, which seem slightly awkward. I only managed to get the buttons to work 50% of the time for the upper floors which require you to use your room key and then select the floor.

Unusually for San Jose which has very strict smoking laws this hotel has smoking rooms on the 10th floor. They are actually the most spacious and up to date rooms I stayed in at the hotel. So if you are a smoker this is the hotel to stay at in San Jose as all of the other hotels make you stand outside a long distance for the hotel.

The breakfast buffet is not wonderful as it has entirely Central American foods, which adds to your travel experience. However as a good many of the hotel guests are from the United States and other countries I found that a little bit of variety would have been welcomed. There is nothing wrong with the buffet, just that sometimes you feel like something more familiar.

Pizza served at the bar is wonderful and there are tables next to the pool outside that served by the bar, though not many. On certain nights they have a singer playing the keyboard in the bar area who was not fabulous and because of the large 2 level lobby the sound really carries and I am sure the people on the 1st and 2nd floor were treated to a full concert.

The staff are all bi-lingual and very helpful, actually they are the most helpful I have come across in San Jose.

Despite its minor draw backs I plan to stay in this hotel next time I am in San Jose as it is my favorite of the several I have stayed in their.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kglowery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kindness in spending the time to let us know your comments regarding to your recent visit to our hotel.

First instance, on behalf of all the Crowne Plaza Staff I will like to apologize for the inconvenience that you have mentioned , we , the staff members we are focus on the guest service attention that is the force that moves us to feel passion for our work.

If there is a way that we could be able to contact you in order to have the complete information , regarding to the room number and be able to apologize also in a personal way.

Please find as follows my information,

Pamela Vega
Marketing Coordinator
pamela.vega@corobicicp.co.cr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was our first time in Costa Rica and not knowing what to expect we decided to stay in San Jose and take day trips from there. We usually have good luck with IHG brands so chose the Crowne Plaza Corobici. We couldn't have been happier. The rooms are quite nice and very clean, the common areas are also very, very nice, however, the best part of this hotel is the over the top customer service. All of the staff we encountered were just wonderful. First of all there is a shuttle to and from the airport which makes running that gauntlet very easy. You can also pay your departure tax at the hotel thus avoiding that terrible line at the airport. The restaurant staff at El Tucan were just the best - wonderful breakfast and the best hamburgers. Out last night there we had a knock on the door and a wonderful cheese plate compliments of the assistant manager was delivered. We highly recommend this hotel and would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind attention and the time to share with us your comments , at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, we are always looking forward to make our guests have a memorable stay at our hotel. This is our promise of service besides an excellent service. Means our perfect combination to keep Costa Rica in our guests minds.

On behalf of all the Crowne Plaza Hotel Staff, we do hope to be able to host you in a near future in Costa Rica.

Sincerely Yours

Pamela Vega
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed there five nights in late February-early March 2014. The rate was excellent. A real bargain. Everything went extremely well. There were only a couple of minor oversights in cleaning the room, but nothing to write about. The staff is great.

Truly one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. I can't pinpoint why but I have had enough so-so beds to know that this one was outstanding.

The location is ok. It is on a busy highway, and it's not walking distance to the heart of the city, but only about $6 cab ride to get there.

The most amazing thing is the airport shuttle service: $12 per room for one way to the airport. Yes, I know the airport is pretty close, but at $12 per room (not per person, per room), there is no better bargain to be found.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deltatraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Guest :

On behalf of all the Staff of the Hotel Crowne Plaza Corobicí , we will like to thank you very much for the time that you have spent in sharing with us your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely Yours,

Pamela Vega
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Do your research and why you need to stay in San Jose. I guess most people need to stay in San Jose in transit and this is the hotel to stay in. My last Crowne Plaza was two weeks previously in Manchester and the Manchester staff have so much they could learn. Rooms great, food fine and a good stay

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdavies757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Guest: On behalf of all the Hotel Staff we want to express our gratitude for sharing with us your experience in our hotel. Our commitment each and every day is to become the Hotel that our guests love. ... Thank you once again, and we will be looking forward for your future visit. Sincerely Yours, Pamela Vega, Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
0.6 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,575 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
998 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
0.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici

Address: Autopista Gral Canas | Costado Norte del Parque Metropolitano, La Sabana, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica (Formerly Tryp Corobici)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#13 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $101 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Crowne Plaza Corobicí Conference Center- is the ideal place to enjoy your visit to San Jose. Is located just 5 minutes away from the financial district and 15 minutes away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. Is perfect for your business travels or to spend your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Corobici
Crowne Plaza San Jose
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing