We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Confortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
Ranked #20 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Confortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel has all the confort that you need while away from home.. The beds are confortable, clean.. The room are very clean and roomy.. Restaurant prices are cheaper than any other city restaurant. Front office staff is very pleasant and helpful.. I liked the architectural design of this hotel.. I would repeat. Lots of conference rooms which are very confortable and equipped.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOSEFINA051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest :
.

On behalf of all the Hotel Crowne Plaza Corobicí Hotel we appreciate very much the time spent and your kind feed back .

It will be a pleasure to host you again in a near future .

Sincerely Yours:



Ana Lucía Zúñiga
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    224
    93
    21
    10
See reviews for
43
106
38
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, dc
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Sure, I dont choose hotels for its nice teak wood foundation, but this one is a block of ciment with windows carved in the bunker. But the cold feeling quickly fades when you arrive at the first pool, where you can also have a drink or dinner, right by the water surrounded by soft jazzy tunes.
The room is clean, neat and well presented, but has no life. Great amenities for Costa Rica.
The best part of the hotel must be the huge two-level gym that offers classes and a lap pool with lessons. Nice large jacuzzi.
Being downtown in the north part of La Sabana park and right across the street from the supermarket makes it an ideal location. Its spacious seating area scattered through the hotel is also perfect for large groups.
Personally, I like small cozy and personalized low-key service type hotels, hence the average review.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DupontTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest :

On behalf of the Staff of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobicí , we do appreciate your time and sharing with us your comments.
It is always very helpful to find out what is our guest appreciation to make the adjustments and changes if needed so for a better and confortable visit.

Your description is very clear and understood , it will be our pleasure to host you in a near future

Sincerely Yours


Ana Lucía Zúñiga
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, TX
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Crown Plaza has many of the comforts one desires when traveling. Comfortable bed, nice bathroom, spacious room. The breakfast and dinner at the restaurant is incredible. Compared to the local restaurants this is the best for the money. I have stayed here several times over the past decade and have never been disappointed with the accomodations, food and/or staff.

Room Tip: Do not forget to use your IHG rewards card, to rack up points.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest .

Thank you very much for your kind attention in sharing with us your comments. We feel very honored for all points that you have remarked. Our Brand phylosophy is to become the Hotel that our guests love and we are making our best performance each and every day to grow step further each day.

Once again thank you very much. We will be looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely Yours,



Ana Lucía Zúñiga
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night at the start of a tour in Costa Rica, and it was nicer than I expected. The rooms are clean, there are restaurants and services in the lobby, and the gym is fantastic. I definitely recommend it (although if you are in Costa Rica, hopefully you're not spending your time in San Jose!).

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Brad_K_NY_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest :

Thank you very much for your time and for sharing with us your experience at our Hotel. It is so valuable for us to know our guests feelings.
Our goal is to become the Hotel that our Guests Love.

On behalf of the Staff of the Crowne Plaza Hotel a huge thanks ,, we are looking forward to your next visit at our hotel.

Sincerely Yours:


Ana Lucía Zúñiga
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed here as I started and ended a tour of Costa Rica. The hotel is in good shape, clean and has very friendly staff. The rooms are large and the bathrooms are a good size. The breakfast that is provided has a good selection of fresh fruit, various pastries, cereal, and an omelet station. I personally liked the rice and beans it made (a staple in Costa Rica). There is a grocery store across the street and is in walking distance to a large park. We did not walk to the downtown core as we took a bus, but I would estimate it is a 30 minute walk. If you are going to be taking a taxi, be sure to check that they have a meter. Friends of ours went in a taxi in front of the hotel and paid $11 US into town (it didn't have a meter) and on the way back, paid only $4.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdigian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest ;

Thank you very nuch for your time in sharing with us your comments, on behalf of the Crowne Plaza Staff we will like to express our sincere gratitude.

We want to built each day an excelent preformance and create long term relationships where our guests become the HOTEL THAT OUR GUESTS LOVE.

The Crowne Plaza Family will always have a special place to welcome our guests in a very personalized way, please let us to take care of your next visit to Costa Rica.

Sincerely Yours:


Ana Lucia Zúñiga
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I celebrated my wedding weekend in San Jose just this past weekend. To say the very least the service of the hotel staff was AMAZING and my wife was pleased with the ceremony salon and the reception salon.

However this review is about the hotel security. All of my guest coming from the states stayed at this hotel. I stayed nearby in Hostel Casa Colon. I came to the hotel several times to check if everyone arrived ok, as the hotel offers transportation from the airport at an additional cost.

One member of the security personnel by the name of Aaron or Erin made it his personal mission to stop me every single time! He asked me who I was. Who was staying there and what rooms they stayed in! I was outraged! The front desk was already informed of the presence of my wife and I.

I was confronted again by security staff the following day at the request of this same aaron individual. I had enough and voiced my concern to the front desk. The manager on duty said that a report will be filed,but following this incident myself and my guests continued to get starred down. It is NOT a good feeling being stared at while they communicate in their earpieces.

I suggest management speak with security personnel asap. I, nor my family will be staying here until there is a major change. My wife is a Tica, meaning she and her family are from Costa Rica and they have notified their friends and family not to stay there also.

Room Tip: The Presidential Suite was luxurious with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoustonHeadliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Sir :

Thank you so much for preference in our hotel, and please be so kind in accepting on behalf of our hotel staff and management our sincere apologies. Our main goal is to become the Hotel that our Guests Love, and never is our intention that our guests have any inconvenience. As an internal protocol we do have procedures to protect our own guests privacy by requesting their comprehension when they are having any external guest, please be so kind in accept our apologies

Our Security Manager has been informed and he will take care inmediately of the situation , once again your comments are higlhy appreciated, they will help us to make a better performance each day.

Sincerely Yours:


Ana Lucia Zúñiga
Sales & Marketing Director
Email: ana.zuniga@corobicicp.co.cr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
118 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel provided an enjoyable experience during the stay. Everyone in the hotel was both friendly and efficient and I was especially pleased with the maid service as she cleaned the room and replaced everything that needed to be. The Executive Lounge staff were very professional and ensured that any request was looked after promptly. I also thought the Fuji Japanese Restaurant was terrific and the food very authentic.
All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in San Jose for either business or leisure.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get an Executive Level Room - worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tholland55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Google Translation
Estimados huéspedes :

A nombre de todos los colaboradores del Crowne Plaza Corobicí, deseamos expresarles nuestro más sincero agradecimiento por la preferencia en nuestros servicios así como el tiempo que nos han dedicado para compartir sus experiencias con nosotros.

Nuestra razón de ser , son nuestros clientes deseamos cada día crecer como profesionales que seamos capaces de lograr dejar una huella en cada una de las experiencias de nuestros clientes.

Mil gracias por su recomendación acerca del lobby bar, muy valida su apreciación y de seguro la tomaremos en cuenta para poder revertir el mismo en un complemento para el entretenimiento.

Quedamos a sus gratas ordenes, les esperamos pronto.

Ana Lucía Zuñiga
Directora de Mercadeo y Ventas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.6 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#14 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
6.0 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
Address: Autopista Gral Canas | Costado Norte del Parque Metropolitano, La Sabana, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica (Formerly Tryp Corobici)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#3 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#13 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Crowne Plaza Corobicí Conference Center- is the ideal place to enjoy your visit to San Jose. Is located just 5 minutes away from the financial district and 15 minutes away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. Is perfect for your business travels or to spend your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Corobici
Crowne Plaza San Jose
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing