We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD QUALITY HOTEL FOR AN OVERNIGHT STAY.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
Ranked #22 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay, England
Level Contributor
205 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“GOOD QUALITY HOTEL FOR AN OVERNIGHT STAY.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed here on the first and last nights of a Costa Rica holiday. It is good quality with a decent restaurant. The breakfast buffet had a lot of choice. It has all the facilties you would expect of a good quality city hotel used a lot by business people and for conferences, e.g. minibar, wifi, swimming pool etc.There is also a casino. The outside was under renovation whilst I was there so my photos of the outside don't look so good but the interior was not affected. There's not a lot outside of the hotel but it's very near to the Mueso de Arte and the Parque Metropolitano La Sabana if you fancy a stroll. We walked to a nearby Brasilian steakbar and there's also a Tico restaurant nearby and a McDonalds. I was there on Easter Thursday and Friday and didn't realise that the bar would be closed due to local laws!

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor room on one side (the left as you face the front from outside) and a 5th floor on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank go9ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Sales Cordinator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Good Morning Mr. Go9ers!

Receive our best regards! Thank you for your comment. Is really important for our Hotel receive your opinion. Currently, our hotel is undergoing changes in his structure and image for the benefit of all our customers.

We hope your stay has been rewarding and come back soon to our hotel.

Please contact us for your next visit to San Jose, we will be pending and awaiting your visit.


Sincerilly,

Pamela Vega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    220
    91
    21
    10
See reviews for
41
104
38
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Apen, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very clean and modern! This hotel exceeded my expectations. Great value for the price. Bar and resto were fabulous..we even asked them to prepare something special for us (not on the menu) and they accomodated with pleasure. Very friendly staff! The breakfast was really wonderful, great variety and very good quality!

Room Tip: Get breakfast included in your room charge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank provencegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Coorinadora de Ventas at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. CAESA,

Muchas gracias por tomar su tiempo para compartir su experiencia en nuestro hotel.
Me alegra saber que ya conoce nuestra marca Crowne Plaza y que le haya gustado nuestro restaurante japones Fuji.

Vamos a hacerle llegar su observación a la administración del Casino, para poder brindarles un mejor servicio en esta área.

Esperamos verlo pronto por nuestras instalaciones.

Saludos cordiales,

Lourdes Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
272 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We wantend to stay a couple of nights San José just to check out the capital of Costa Rica. The hotel is situated outside of the downtown area but the taxi will take you there for 4 dollars so that's no problem. The hotel is a bit old but has all the faciliteit you want plus a great and friendly service

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Sales Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Eric S,

Thank you for taking the time of sharing your experience at our hotel.
We are glad you had a good experience with our service; it is very important for us to have a excellent service.
Early this year the hotel will be having some refreshments, so hopefully next time you visit San Jose, you will be enjoying our facilities.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is apparently the hotel that embassies recommend and that your flight crews will use. All in all, it is excellent. Perhaps not stunning, but everything from the service and staff to the beds are top notch. You can't go wrong staying here.

Conveniently located just far enough out of the heart of the city to not be bogged down by traffic, it is also half a block's walking distance from the Sabanas park.

The hotel appeared in excellent condition and decor and lighting within the room was very satisfactory. Bathroom lighting - often severely lacking in hotel rooms - was just fine.

Internet access had a good strong signal and caused me no issues.

The executive lounge floor was very nice and offered a lovely (small) breakfast to guests with floor access as well as complementary beverages and snacks in the evenings which were not only very welcome, but very delicious.

Again, staff were friendly and attentive. Many speak English (and possibly other languages) which will be a comfort to English-speaking travelers.

As a Priority Club member I also received a lovely little plate of cookies in my room upon check-in which was nice. See photo.

Overall, this was just a great stay. I can't remember having a single complaint.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwibeandip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Sales Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Kiwibeandip,

Thank you for taking the time of posting your experience.
We are very glad you had a good stay with us.

Don`t hesitate contacting us for further travels to San Jose, we will be gald welcoming you again.

Sincerily,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and both nights our rooms had malfunctioning bathrooms. The first time our toilet would not work and the second ( different room) the "handicapped" shower would overflow since the drain was messed up. Also, for the cost of the room amenities like free shuttle and breakfast are not included.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Sales Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time for posting your experience.
I am very sorry your did not have a good stay with us, we take very seriously our guest comments for us to improve every day.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre-Pacheco, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed at the CP for 2 nights at the beginning of my trip in CR. Airport transfer easy to arrange and was there waiting for me.
Clean room with a nice big comfortable bed and a spotless bathroom. Breakfast was great and the staff were happy to toast my gluten free bread for me. Lovely omelette and plenty of refills. During the day it was nice to chill around the pool and then take a cab to another part of the city. I used the laundry service which I found very reasonable too. I took lunch at a Chinese across the road from the hotel! I had a lovely juicy steak in the restaurant which was good value and very tasty. Service was good. I looked around the Japanese restaurant too and the casino which was busy. I would stay here again, it gave me peace of mind in a new city. I stayed for one night at the end too and I took a taxi outside back to the airport, fixed price and had no problems. The hotel also arranged the payment of my airport departure tax aswell. Very smooth stay, Thank You CP and your fab team!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JVRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Sales Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience. We are very glad you had a good stay with us.
Hopefully, next time you can try our Japanese Restaurant Fuji!

We are looking forward welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos Hills
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed at Crowne Plaza San Jose Corobici on a business trip.

I asked the concierge about a taxi to take me to work. He took me outside and called for a taxi. The taxi did not have a meter and overcharged me, by the time I noticed we were already half way there. On average, the cost to get from the hotel to the business cost 2200-2500 colones. This taxi driver charged me 4000 colones. I really did not appreciate the hotel knowingly misleading and taking advantage of me. When I talked to them about what happened, the front desk told me it is standard their hotel taxi's charge a flat rate and do not have meters. Wow, really? Is everyone in on it?

Always ask for a taxi with a METER even at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main highway. It get's very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest :

Please accept our sincere apologies, this is not the proper way to take care of our guests, we will also like to have the opportunity to make our guests a memorable stay .

The taxis that the hotel must have a meter , we will take care inmediately of this particular issue, the Hotel Crowne Plaza Corobicí will ever want our guests to feel unconfortable.

On behalf of our hotel staff please accept our sincere apologies and thanks for the time that you took to write your comments.

Sincerely Yours:


Ana Lucía Zúniga
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.6 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#15 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
6.1 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
0.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
Address: Autopista Gral Canas | Costado Norte del Parque Metropolitano, La Sabana, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica (Formerly Tryp Corobici)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#13 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Crowne Plaza Corobicí Conference Center- is the ideal place to enjoy your visit to San Jose. Is located just 5 minutes away from the financial district and 15 minutes away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. Is perfect for your business travels or to spend your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Corobici
Crowne Plaza San Jose
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing