We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD QUALITY HOTEL FOR AN OVERNIGHT STAY.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed here on the first and last nights of a Costa Rica holiday. It is good quality with a decent restaurant. The breakfast buffet had a lot of choice. It has all the facilties you would expect of a good quality city hotel used a lot by business people and for conferences, e.g. minibar, wifi, swimming pool etc.There is also a casino. The outside was under renovation whilst I was there so my photos of the outside don't look so good but the interior was not affected. There's not a lot outside of the hotel but it's very near to the Mueso de Arte and the Parque Metropolitano La Sabana if you fancy a stroll. We walked to a nearby Brasilian steakbar and there's also a Tico restaurant nearby and a McDonalds. I was there on Easter Thursday and Friday and didn't realise that the bar would be closed due to local laws!

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor room on one side (the left as you face the front from outside) and a 5th floor on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank go9ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Sales Cordinator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Good Morning Mr. Go9ers!

Receive our best regards! Thank you for your comment. Is really important for our Hotel receive your opinion. Currently, our hotel is undergoing changes in his structure and image for the benefit of all our customers.

We hope your stay has been rewarding and come back soon to our hotel.

Please contact us for your next visit to San Jose, we will be pending and awaiting your visit.


Sincerilly,

Pamela Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 556 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very clean and modern! This hotel exceeded my expectations. Great value for the price. Bar and resto were fabulous..we even asked them to prepare something special for us (not on the menu) and they accomodated with pleasure. Very friendly staff! The breakfast was really wonderful, great variety and very good quality!

Room Tip: Get breakfast included in your room charge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank provencegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Coorinadora de Ventas at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Sr. CAESA,

Muchas gracias por tomar su tiempo para compartir su experiencia en nuestro hotel.
Me alegra saber que ya conoce nuestra marca Crowne Plaza y que le haya gustado nuestro restaurante japones Fuji.

Vamos a hacerle llegar su observación a la administración del Casino, para poder brindarles un mejor servicio en esta área.

Esperamos verlo pronto por nuestras instalaciones.

Saludos cordiales,

Lourdes Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We wantend to stay a couple of nights San José just to check out the capital of Costa Rica. The hotel is situated outside of the downtown area but the taxi will take you there for 4 dollars so that's no problem. The hotel is a bit old but has all the faciliteit you want plus a great and friendly service

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Sales Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Mr. Eric S,

Thank you for taking the time of sharing your experience at our hotel.
We are glad you had a good experience with our service; it is very important for us to have a excellent service.
Early this year the hotel will be having some refreshments, so hopefully next time you visit San Jose, you will be enjoying our facilities.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is apparently the hotel that embassies recommend and that your flight crews will use. All in all, it is excellent. Perhaps not stunning, but everything from the service and staff to the beds are top notch. You can't go wrong staying here.

Conveniently located just far enough out of the heart of the city to not be bogged down by traffic, it is also half a block's walking distance from the Sabanas park.

The hotel appeared in excellent condition and decor and lighting within the room was very satisfactory. Bathroom lighting - often severely lacking in hotel rooms - was just fine.

Internet access had a good strong signal and caused me no issues.

The executive lounge floor was very nice and offered a lovely (small) breakfast to guests with floor access as well as complementary beverages and snacks in the evenings which were not only very welcome, but very delicious.

Again, staff were friendly and attentive. Many speak English (and possibly other languages) which will be a comfort to English-speaking travelers.

As a Priority Club member I also received a lovely little plate of cookies in my room upon check-in which was nice. See photo.

Overall, this was just a great stay. I can't remember having a single complaint.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwibeandip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Sales Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Kiwibeandip,

Thank you for taking the time of posting your experience.
We are very glad you had a good stay with us.

Don`t hesitate contacting us for further travels to San Jose, we will be gald welcoming you again.

Sincerily,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and both nights our rooms had malfunctioning bathrooms. The first time our toilet would not work and the second ( different room) the "handicapped" shower would overflow since the drain was messed up. Also, for the cost of the room amenities like free shuttle and breakfast are not included.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Sales Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time for posting your experience.
I am very sorry your did not have a good stay with us, we take very seriously our guest comments for us to improve every day.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed at the CP for 2 nights at the beginning of my trip in CR. Airport transfer easy to arrange and was there waiting for me.
Clean room with a nice big comfortable bed and a spotless bathroom. Breakfast was great and the staff were happy to toast my gluten free bread for me. Lovely omelette and plenty of refills. During the day it was nice to chill around the pool and then take a cab to another part of the city. I used the laundry service which I found very reasonable too. I took lunch at a Chinese across the road from the hotel! I had a lovely juicy steak in the restaurant which was good value and very tasty. Service was good. I looked around the Japanese restaurant too and the casino which was busy. I would stay here again, it gave me peace of mind in a new city. I stayed for one night at the end too and I took a taxi outside back to the airport, fixed price and had no problems. The hotel also arranged the payment of my airport departure tax aswell. Very smooth stay, Thank You CP and your fab team!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Sales Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear customer,
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience. We are very glad you had a good stay with us.
Hopefully, next time you can try our Japanese Restaurant Fuji!

We are looking forward welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed at Crowne Plaza San Jose Corobici on a business trip.

I asked the concierge about a taxi to take me to work. He took me outside and called for a taxi. The taxi did not have a meter and overcharged me, by the time I noticed we were already half way there. On average, the cost to get from the hotel to the business cost 2200-2500 colones. This taxi driver charged me 4000 colones. I really did not appreciate the hotel knowingly misleading and taking advantage of me. When I talked to them about what happened, the front desk told me it is standard their hotel taxi's charge a flat rate and do not have meters. Wow, really? Is everyone in on it?

Always ask for a taxi with a METER even at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main highway. It get's very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandaceL894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corobici, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Guest :

Please accept our sincere apologies, this is not the proper way to take care of our guests, we will also like to have the opportunity to make our guests a memorable stay .

The taxis that the hotel must have a meter , we will take care inmediately of this particular issue, the Hotel Crowne Plaza Corobicí will ever want our guests to feel unconfortable.

On behalf of our hotel staff please accept our sincere apologies and thanks for the time that you took to write your comments.

Sincerely Yours:


Ana Lucía Zúniga
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
0.6 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,575 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
998 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
0.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici

Address: Autopista Gral Canas | Costado Norte del Parque Metropolitano, La Sabana, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica (Formerly Tryp Corobici)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#3 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#13 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $101 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Crowne Plaza Corobicí Conference Center- is the ideal place to enjoy your visit to San Jose. Is located just 5 minutes away from the financial district and 15 minutes away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. Is perfect for your business travels or to spend your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Corobici
Crowne Plaza San Jose
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing